More Washi Ideas!

May 19, 2014 at 12:30 pm 20 comments

 
photo-122Good morning!

Flying in with one last washi idea. This is a simple one. Washi has a lovely property in that it coils easily & you can gently secure little sections of it to create these streamers.

The rabbit is using the ‘Hunny Bunny’ set & I’ve created the sentiment using Milo’s ABC’s & Critters In The Snow (a partial sentiment from that one) from Lawn Fawn.

I simply drew out a hat shape, cut the brim away after colouring & slit the inside rim and slotted the bunny into it. I trimmed away his feet (ouch) and mounted it onto the card using 3D foam pads.

By stamping and white heat embossing the sentiment, this helped lift it and I used more Cosmo Cricket adhesive glitter paper.

I’ve stamped the stars (from my stamp set) using Stazon Gold, trimmed them out & added them to the card. Just trim off tiny slithers of washi, coil them & press down onto the card. This is my last entry for Gallery Idol too! You can relax now..no more washi for a little while (in theory!!)

Hope this gives you some other ideas for how to use washi tape- it really is a fab crafting staple. I got some gorgeous rolls in a pack of 4 from Sainsburys (of all places!)- do look out for it. Paperchase are selling lots too. I use them for securing down dies in my Xpress & for securing masks when spraying or adding embossing paste.

Hope you’ve enjoyed the past 3 ideas. I’m off this afternoon to do a demonstration for a craft club, so will have to dash. Will tell you all about it in the next post

See you when I’ve crammed my car with the crazy amount of stuff you need to take when doing a demo! xx

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

More Washi & Catered Crop! 3D Cards & Light at the End of the Tunnel!

20 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lindsay A.  |  May 19, 2014 at 12:58 pm

    Genius, Keren, just genius! I love this cute card!

    Like

    Reply
    • 2. kerenbaker  |  May 19, 2014 at 10:46 pm

      Thanks so much Lindsay- I loved your flower card too- gorgeous colours & perfect stamping!

      Like

      Reply
  • 3. tsurutadesigns  |  May 19, 2014 at 1:28 pm

    Oh so CUTE

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Holly Saveur  |  May 19, 2014 at 1:36 pm

    so very sweet ..love it!

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. beaumama  |  May 19, 2014 at 3:54 pm

    Good grief, you have mad crafting skills. Simply brilliant. That hat looks like a store-bought embellishment…so clever. The washi trick is one I’ll definitely try. Darling card.

    Like

    Reply
    • 7. kerenbaker  |  May 19, 2014 at 10:43 pm

      Thanks for the lovely comment- it turned out better than I imagined!

      Like

      Reply
  • 8. Bev  |  May 19, 2014 at 8:04 pm

    Can I just say, “You’re IN!!!” This is killer cool. Love this. : )

    Like

    Reply
    • 9. kerenbaker  |  May 19, 2014 at 8:07 pm

      Aww thanks. I’m not holding my breath-!!

      Like

      Reply
  • 10. Sarah Gray  |  May 19, 2014 at 8:36 pm

    Love this, Keren! Such a great idea – thanks for sharing such creative ideas for using washi….I seem to just use it for keeping dies in place 🙂 I am sure you will get through to GI!

    Like

    Reply
    • 11. kerenbaker  |  May 19, 2014 at 10:44 pm

      Thanks so much Sarah. I’ve really loved stretching my brain with washi. I’m sure you’ll have lots of fun with it too!

      Like

      Reply
  • 12. tartyburlap  |  May 19, 2014 at 9:31 pm

    Holy macaroni Keren!! (I like this so much,it is making me spurt out Batman style quips) this is GENIUS! I love love LOVE it!
    (Sorry,thank you,sorry etc )
    Lou xx

    Like

    Reply
    • 13. kerenbaker  |  May 19, 2014 at 10:42 pm

      Ha ha. It took me a few mins to realise it was you. I was thinking ‘why is this person saying sorry, thankyou, sorry’? So strange and then I realised it was YOU! I’m so dense. Batman is cool- quips by him are welcome!!

      Like

      Reply
      • 14. tartyburlap  |  May 20, 2014 at 4:59 pm

        Haha! Tis ME! ;-D cunningly disguised as someone else lol xx

        Like

      • 15. kerenbaker  |  May 20, 2014 at 4:59 pm

        Disguise is a wonderful thing!!!

        Like

  • 16. isisimaginings  |  May 20, 2014 at 6:37 am

    That is such a lovely card. The little bunny is adorable & I love the washi tape curls. Hope you had fun at your demo day.

    Like

    Reply
  • 17. Ros Crawford  |  May 22, 2014 at 4:11 pm

    Super cute!! Love the idea of using the tape for streamers!!

    Like

    Reply
  • 18. Jenny M  |  May 23, 2014 at 9:07 am

    This is such a cool way to use washi tape Keren, love it x

    Like

    Reply
  • 19. Anni  |  May 23, 2014 at 2:14 pm

    This is so cool and cute! Love this card!
    Anni

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,500 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


