More Washi & Catered Crop!

May 16, 2014 at 11:36 am 12 comments

20140516-111631.jpg
If you’re still not sure about putting your hat ( or card!) into the ring for Gallery Idol 2014-here’s another project to spur you on.
Don’t undertake a project like this if you want a chilled out session!!
Yes, you can’t punch washi out normally- not unless you’re die-cutting and even then you need card under it. However, my little garland is just that- little. I used various punches for the different sizes and washi tape from Papermania, Paperchase & Sainsburys. Not the usual suspects, I know!
Want to see what’s next?

20140516-112320.jpg
You have to peel every single little sucker off the cardstock and then carefully sandwich the thread straight between two of them making sure they’re lined up.
In a moment of creativity I decided to go with an acetate panel to divide the card up and serendipitously it had the effect of making it look like they were just hanging in mid-air. I simply sliced the panel off the front of the card, added acetate underneath and then attached the threads to the back of the card..using washi..of course!
Maybe it was good for me..stress relief and all that! The stamp set is from Waltzingmouse stamps ‘Gift Card It’. Love that set. I might be a little coy about actually sending the card tho ‘to lovely you from lovely me?!!’ The glitter paper is some non-shedding adhesive stuff from Cosmo Cricket.

I’ve also another project to show you

20140516-112627.jpg
This is for Catered Crop’s ‘House’ Challenge. I won (with some other girls) the last one, so we were tasked with creating a card on the theme of home.
I should really have put a giant pile of socks on a card but went with ‘new home’ using up some Tim Holtz keys I’d been given by my buddy Carole.
If you fancy linking up to- the challenge details are here

For any of you in the North West, I am demoing at Sycamore Park Garden Centre tomorrow 10-4. Do drop by- it’s lots of lovely shadow box cards and plenty of man-stuff.
Oh and for the lovely people who emailed me about classes- I WILL be planning some very shortly. Please bear with me, I’ll let you know as soon as I can x

Better pop- have some cleaning up to do!! See you when I’ve picked up all those leftover punched circles off the floor xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

Wonderful Washi & Blog Your Heart Out! More Washi Ideas!

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. massofhair  |  May 16, 2014 at 1:22 pm

    You could give the card away to someone who left you a comment… Get your kids to choose the winner!

    Two fabulous cards, love the care and attention to detail on the washi tape card. Intricate yet still CAS now that’s not easy:-)

    Love the colours you have chosen for the home card, so pretty.

    Thanks for the info on where you are demoing, see how hot the temp is before deciding what’s happening. Have a good demo day.

    Excited to see you are planning classes:-) xxx

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Sue Brannan  |  May 16, 2014 at 3:22 pm

    Supacalawashilicious to that first card its gorgeous. I had to look twice as I thought it was all hanging in mid air…love the sentiment too ..a cheeky nice one xx

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Virginia L.  |  May 16, 2014 at 4:14 pm

    Your Washi Tape card is absolutely stunning! I love how you executed the design! I also love how you used the key for this trendy watercolor card! Happy weekend, my friend!

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. alicecarman  |  May 17, 2014 at 4:30 pm

    Love this idea too!

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Clare Allen  |  May 18, 2014 at 8:32 am

    Fab cards Keren. The washi tape one has a real “how on EARTH did she do that?!” factor … you should’ve kept us in suspenders lol!
    Love them both.
    Clur
    x

    Like

    Reply
    • 6. kerenbaker  |  May 18, 2014 at 1:20 pm

      Ha ha! It was serendipitous in the end. I like to share!!!

      Like

      Reply
  • 7. Catered Crop  |  May 20, 2014 at 5:57 pm

    Oh wow! So many wonderful washi ideas. Good luck with the contest. And thank you for the sweet Home Sweet Home to round out our quick fire. I’m terribly late getting it posted, but I really am honored to have you join us.

    Like

    Reply
    • 8. kerenbaker  |  May 20, 2014 at 8:21 pm

      Many thanks! It was lovely joining in with you! x

      Like

      Reply
  • 9. Deepti  |  May 20, 2014 at 11:04 pm

    These are so fun 🙂 I love how just a simple sentiment can make ur card look so awesome !!

    Like

    Reply
  • 10. Ros Crawford  |  May 22, 2014 at 4:13 pm

    Super, fantastic terrific cards!! I LOVE that new home card … Gorgeous!

    Like

    Reply
  • 11. pinnednpenned  |  May 25, 2014 at 7:18 am

    KEREN! CONGRATS!!! Oh my gosh, I was SO excited to see you picked for the top 20!! I loved your card when I saw it in the Flickr line up!! Can’t wait to see what you come up with next. I am slowly catching up with everyone after being away in NY for a family trip! Hope all is well with you!!

    Like

    Reply
    • 12. kerenbaker  |  May 25, 2014 at 3:55 pm

      Aah. Thanks!! I was pretty excited too. Hope you had a good family trip? x

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,500 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


