Year Four & Pancake Burgers!

March 5, 2014 at 11:00 am 9 comments

20140305-103821.jpg
Today’s little project is brought to you by 4 hippos, a birdy (& I’m not counted as one of the hippos before you ask!!).

20140305-104343.jpg
Cute huh?
I’ve committed stamp sacrilege and cut up my stamps again. The long ‘happy…’ sentiment is so useful if you can use it either way. If you cut with a good sharp pair of scissors, it’s easy to push back together if you want it like how it’s set out.
I did some masking. A little technique tip for you- if you’re wanting to make this kind of look- post-it notes are your friend. You’ll need to stamp the image onto one of them, trim it out really carefully & to create this card, I started at the top, stamped one hippo, then covered it with the hippo post-it ‘mask’ then stamped below. I kept moving the mask onto the just stamped image and made my way down the card.
You probably can’t see very well, but the hippos are actually slightly 3D-

20140305-104615.jpg
To do this, I discovered a neat trick a while back whilst waiting for the Glossy Accents to dry. As you’re putting a liquid onto cardstock, it does soak in and make the card slightly pliable. I simply rub on the back of my images- you can see where the Glossy Accents is starting to soak in, By gently rubbing in a circular fashion, you can ‘push’ the image out slightly from behind & give you card an even more dimensional look!
This card was for Make The Day Special & you were lucky if you got this set as it went so quick- however they’ve loads of new Lawn Fawn sets if you’re very very quick!

I’m popping this into the Lawnscaping Challenge which this week is ‘Bling it; sparkle and shine’
You can see I’ve ‘shinied’ my hippos up!

‘Twas Pancake day. We had the usual and I also tried a choc-come-scotch-pancake version from the Sainsbury’s website. They were really tasty.
I’d tried to caramelise some bananas and we had some raspberries to add fruit which kinda made me feel better! 😉. My hubby isn’t a dessert sort of guy but tried one, cutting it in half, and adding raspberries and icecream in the middle and then sandwiching it together. “Look,” he told the kids, “a pancake burger”!
So the ‘pancake burger’ was born.
Of course all the kids wanted to try one. Surprisingly good!
I didn’t take a piccy but there was plenty of better left. Rather than throw it out, I saved it and thought I’d use it up this morning. I didn’t think it would still make decent pancakes as there was plenty of baking powder in and I presumed it would have lost it’s rising ability.
Seems not.

20140305-105336.jpg
From this to…this

20140305-105400.jpg
I was popular at breakfast for a change!
Maybe that is the answer to all parenting issues…
Feed them chocolate pancakes all the time?!
No?
No. Obviously.
Nice to be liked for a bit for a change 😋.

See you when I’ve learned how to make a flat white. That is a story for the next time!
Xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

Embroidery & Flipping Out! Harvest of Memories & No memory!

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sandra Rieder  |  March 5, 2014 at 4:52 pm

    Soooo cute! I can’t wait to get this set.

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Monika  |  March 5, 2014 at 5:14 pm

    Fun and super cute! XXX

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Ros Crawford  |  March 5, 2014 at 5:32 pm

    That hippo card is just the cutes!! Love it! Hubby made pancakes last night … just ordinary … but they were good … enjoy your week …

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. massofhair  |  March 6, 2014 at 9:10 am

    Beautiful card & congrats on the pancake burger! 🙂 x

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Virginia L.  |  March 7, 2014 at 1:02 am

    You make the cutest card!! LOVE this stacking hippo card so much, Keren! Your decadent pan cakes look AMAZING! I’d better not show this to the family, or they would demand these!!

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Mary  |  March 8, 2014 at 12:20 pm

    Neat tip on adding dimension! This card makes me want that stamp!
    So cute!

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. elena  |  March 9, 2014 at 12:54 pm

    your shiny hippos are amazing! i love this card! thanks for playing along with us at lawnscaping!

    Like

    Reply
  • 8. yainea  |  March 13, 2014 at 11:34 am

    So fun!! Love the sentiment placed on all the hippos, cute!! I want a pancake badly now >.<!!
    Thank you so much for joining us at Lawnscaping challenges 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  • 9. Charlene B.  |  March 15, 2014 at 3:42 am

    Gorgeous card! Yummy pancakes! Thanks for joining us at Lawnscaping.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,501 other subscribers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds