Embroidery & Flipping Out!

March 4, 2014 at 10:14 am 4 comments

20140304-095407.jpg
I’m a day late posting this but work took priority yesterday. This little drawstring bag was for #docraftsmonday which is a crafty show and tell for anyone to show anything which they’ve been making.
To start with, I stamped on an offcut from a curtain that I’d shortened

20140304-095547.jpg
I stamped in Stazon which makes for a crisp image on fabric. If you were wanting to wash the item, I’d recommend getting some Versacraft (Fabrico) inks which can be washed. I added a layer of wadding underneath the fabric to add dimension to my embroidery.
I use the term ’embroidery’ in the loosest of senses. I’m not trained and I don’t follow particular stitches – I’m freeform.
Yay. Go me!
I did learn French knots but beyond that- so if you’re trained in this beautiful skill- don’t look so close!

20140304-100027.jpg
I just used the Gorjuss girl image as reference and sewed away!
These are the new Santoro Gorjuss girls range from Docrafts. This particular stamp is an exclusive one especially created for the Range. There are 4 exclusives- and they’re all lovely.
Back to the project.
Once finished embroider-sewing!! I sewed fabrics together in a long line like this

20140304-100234.jpg
Once you’ve done that on both sides, you kinda sew it up leaving spaces in the pink spot bits for the drawstring channels and a bit at the top to pull the whole project through.
I couldn’t be bothered to measure it all out. That would explain why it’s too tall a bag and with not wide enough a pink strip.
Ah well.
The inside looks like this

20140304-100431.jpg
Fabrics and ribbon from Docrafts apart from the cream part which is from Ikea šŸ˜‰!

I’m sitting down typing this post knowing full well that I should be working on some commissions that are dangerously close to deadline. I’ll get ’em done. Just!
I’ve just done some more running and my legs are a little wobbly. So I’m sat down and rather liking this sitting in a chair activity. I did some more sitting down last night as some of the family all sat to watch the new Thor. Despite the action and vivid scenes I still fell asleep.
Hopeless.
I was in bed for 10:35 too.
Miraculous. I think I might be turning into a sensible person.
I need to conserve my energy anyhow.
Pancake day again.
Shrove Tuesday here.
I have yet to start the pancake making marathon.
Joy.
That’s 5:30-6:30 taken care of. At least me and 1000’s of other mothers (& fathers too) can all take comfort in the fact we’ll all be flipping out tonight.
He he.

See you after we’ve finished off the lemon and sugar. Yum
Xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

Get Stamping 7 & Running! Year Four & Pancake Burgers!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Virginia L.  |  March 5, 2014 at 3:40 am

    Absolutely AMAZING!! Your hand stitching and stamping skills totally made this work! Love love the result! Hope you can slow down …do take breaks whenever you can! HUGS!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Sue Brannan  |  March 5, 2014 at 10:30 am

    Haha.must be Spring in the air I too did some embroidery last week and got the urge to embroider a little tulip on a card for my sister in law,(could be mistaken for a crocus but still in season!) That is a great idea to stamp and embroider, well done on your embroidery, will have to give this idea a go…hope your getting some rest, look forward to your next post, Sue x

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Ros Crawford  |  March 5, 2014 at 5:31 pm

    LOVE this bag Keren … so lovely!!

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. pinnednpenned  |  March 6, 2014 at 7:44 am

    This is seriously so awesome. Wanted to tell you the other day when it came through email but sooo busy! Your work in these last few posts is so rocking!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,510 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


