World Cup Card!

May 30, 2010 at 7:55 pm 2 comments

World Cup fever has yet to hit our house. It seems to have spread its tentacles into our local pub, local Tesco, houses on our street but not us..yet! I must admit to prefer watching Rugby. We’re more of a Rugby household- Steve loves the game, is involved in a project with work based on the game and our boys know more about it than football. Strange, in a city like ours you are probably thinking, but that’s the truth. William went around our local supermarket clutching a rugby ball on the day that Tesco started a big world cup promotion. The music was loud, the whole store festooned in flags from around the world and a gi-enormous Brit flag outside. The lady at the checkout asked if he liked football- he just stared at her. She then wondered if he’d like a flag? You could see the cogs turning in his little brain- ‘a flag, what’s that’?  ‘There you go’ she said a thrust a flag kindly into his hand. ‘Well, wave it’ she encouraged him and he nonchalantly gave it a half’hearted wave just to please her!

I might just watch one of the games- but probably only if England are playing. I do love the patriotic spirit that seems to embody the nation at times like this. It nearly makes me want to organise a street party in our road (ok, I said nearly!). This card is a nod to the fever hitting the nation. I have to admit that it has been CASE’d from a napkin!! A Tesco napkin at that. I was going to do a montage of different sized Union Jacks on the card, but after discovering some napkins, I had to emulate them. Steve helpfully asked if this was the card, were the napkins a present?!!! I don’t think I could be that cheap!

This weekend I’ve also set up an Etsy shop called KerenBags (Yes and no sarcastic comments!!!). Click on the blue link to see. I’m selling this bag which is on offer for my blog readers at £15 plus P&P. Get in touch if you want one- they’re made to order and I’ve got lots more fabric to make different ones. Will be posting more piccies later. They are completely reversible as you can see in the other pic and are really hardwearing. I’ve used Stampin’Up! ribbon for the tie and they’re washable and happy with a bit of an iron afterwards too! I even made a card to match this bag but it’s not finished yet!

Tomorrow is Bank Holiday- love those! we are just trying to figure out what will be the most fun, least stressful, best idea! Hmm, may take some thinking about! Hope you have a sunny day (if you’re off) and get to chill out too!

See ya!

Card recipe- Cardstock, Night of Navy, Real Red and Whisper white and textured cardstock. Craft Whisper white ink, and Night of Navy ink. Red Designer Playground series button. Scalloped punch. White grosgrain ribbon. Stamps- Vintage Vogue, Dot, Dot, Dot and A Bit of Birthday Cheer. All supplies Stampin’Up! (except the textured card).

Entry filed under: Craft, Craft Links, gifts, papercrafting, Stampin'Up. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

My Sweet Pea Mini-Album Looking at Things a Different Way

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Vicki  |  May 31, 2010 at 11:59 pm

    Hey what fab bags, you are so clever and what’s this Etsy shop! You didn’t fancy a market stall down the road then…..lol

    Hope to see you tomorrow

    hugs
    Vicki x

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Vicki  |  June 1, 2010 at 12:00 am

    Oh forgot to say I just love your card it’s really clever how you made it with the different papers 😉

    x x

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,501 other subscribers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds