Looking at Things a Different Way

June 2, 2010 at 4:47 pm 1 comment

Today I have been partying! Or, more precisely, I’ve been doing a party for one of my kids. I was very tempted to dread it (having had some interesting experiences previously). I decided to get ultra-organised and then not to expect it to be difficult but to decide that there was no good reason why it automatically should be the ‘grit your teeth and get through it’ experience. So, I reasoned that having done this copious times before and survived, I’d be fine. It was an amazingly calm and pleasant party. They made bookmarks, watched a DVD with little cups of popcorn. Then there was lunch and then they decorated their own cupcakes before birthday cake and the completely necessary party bag!

I decided to look at things differently when I was preparing a project for our monthly Stampin’Up! Demo get together. I know this is strictly punch art and I’m not the greatest fan, but it was fun taking a punch and trying to look at it differently. The flower is what I transformed the punch into. You can see the tiny tag shape on the punch next to it. I have to take my hat off to this little punch- its recently been put through its paces when a friend borrowed it to make some wedding favours. She punched through thick card and made around 200 of the tags. You’d think it would be on its last legs- but no, its going strong and is one of my favourite punches. You really do get what you pay for- except that sometimes you don’t even get that- one of my non SU punches broke yesterday- I’d had it all of a couple of months..argghh!

At present, me and 2 of my littlies are all doing the same thing- sitting with lap tops on our knees- ok, theirs are educational ones – but they do look cute! I’ll leave you with a selection of the creativity that was my kids friends’ decorated cupcakes!

The big chocolate one is the Birthday cake- its way taller than that but you can see the sparkle in this pic! I love it when kids create- they always are so exuberant and aren’t interested in getting it ‘just right’ inthe same way that we are. Long live carefree creativity and of course, whacking great slices of chocolate cake!!!

Happy munching! xx

 

Project, cardstock- melon mambo, tempting turquoise, whisper white, pumpkin pie and old olive. Ink- melon mambo. Stamp set- A bit of Birthday cheer and Wow Flowers. Tag punch and Bird Punch.  All supplies by Stampin’Up!

Entry filed under: Craft, papercrafting, Stampin'Up. Tags: , , , , .

World Cup Card! New Stampin’Up Colours Blog Hop

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Denduluri  |  June 3, 2010 at 5:22 pm

    Yeah, it’s good, very useful, thanks 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,496 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


