Using up Paper Scraps & Hot Cross Buns!

April 4, 2012 at 10:51 am 6 comments

Where has all the gorgeous weather gone? I’m actually typing in my coat!! Ahh well, it was great while it lasted… Todays card is in response to a challenge on Moxie Fab World. The moxilicious Cath Edvalson has thrown down the gauntlet to create something different using only paper scraps. Now there isn’t one person alive who wouldn’t have the right size of scrap paper to create this one!! The papers don’t match, are from a plethora of different manufacturers and were heading for the bin. I’m not such a scrap paper hoarder- if its below a certain size- it goes; I know, but I’d have an already overflowing room snowed under with ‘bits’!!

Yesterday I had one of my friends and her kids over – the one who’s so spookily like me in some ways. Well we were talking hot cross buns (as you do) and I was telling her the story of my favourite all-time flavour that I’ve not eaten in say..15 years!! When I last consumed these my eldest had just been born- not in a nice timely way and not at the normally required size; All 1 lb 13oz of her- and I resided day in , day out in a certain special care facility. My Mum and Dad would come and visit most weekends- mostly on a Sunday afternoon and they’d bring an ultra welcome picnicky tea that had sandwiches, flasks of tea nad amongst other things the most awesome chocolate and orange hot cross buns. They weren’t cinnamony- just moist and..you can see me drooling can’t you! Anyhow’s we were talking about some different flavours and I tell you, she only said what I was about to say.. but beat me to it by a mili-second. ‘Marzipan’ she said, ‘I know’, I spluttered. That would be hotcrossbunningly perfect. So, today’s challenge, should I choose to accept it is to create my own recipes- the chocolate and orange reminisce-worthy buns and the new kids on the block. I may not fare well…I shall let you know what happens!

See you when I’ve finished pummelling the dough x

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Websters Pages & On-Going Stampin’Up! Sale Easter Packages & some R&R!

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cath  |  April 4, 2012 at 4:47 pm

    Hey Keren! Thanks for linking this up to the Paper Scraps Challenge in the Moxie Fab World! I’m so glad you joined in on all the fun! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Ros crawford  |  April 5, 2012 at 11:29 am

    Ooooh! those buns sound delicious!!! I adore marzipan anything1 … and your card … Sheesh! Amazing! … (1Ib 3oz?? … yikes! what a time for you … girl you’ve had some things to deal with and I am full of admiration for you) … Have a super day

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Monika Skinner  |  April 5, 2012 at 3:32 pm

    Hi Keren! Just calling in at an Internet Cafe and thought I’d say ‘Hello’. Those Hot Cross Buns sound lovely. The card is fab too; must remember that when I am next looking to use up some bits. :-))) Have a good Easter. xxx

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Chunyuan  |  April 11, 2012 at 7:29 pm

    gorgeous cards. love the layout and the design. Congrats on your Moxie Fab win.

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. N@  |  April 11, 2012 at 8:35 pm

    congrats on your win! beautiful card!

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. JenMarie Taylor  |  April 13, 2012 at 4:31 am

    LOVE LOVE LOVE this!!!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,501 other subscribers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds