Websters Pages & On-Going Stampin’Up! Sale

April 2, 2012 at 3:52 pm 6 comments

Afternoon!

After flurry of activity over the weekend, lots of the stamp sets have gone. As many of them seem like old friends (after sitting up many evenings with them!), it’s really great to know they’re all going to good homes! Some of them are getting weighed and shipped out shortly and any that are left on the page are still available! Thanks to those of you who’ve paid and I’ll be in touch with those that are waiting for final totals!

This morning whilst the kids were just enjoying space and lack of clock watching, I decided to try something very ‘unme‘. Having received a freebie paper pad with some ‘Websters Pages’ designs in with Simply Cards & Papercrafts magazine, I thought I’d try and use them sympathetically. Having often visited vintage and shabbychic styled blogs, I’ve many a time ‘aahhed’ looking at their more romantic and superior classy projects. I’ve never attempted to emulate it, and to be fair, this is not so vintage a project as rather an ode to a tone on tone two colour affair. Still, we all have to start somewhere. There is definitely a ‘vintage-y’ gene missing in my craft brain. It must be a recessive gene that bows to the bigger and brasher ‘graphic CAS’ one! I need some lessons!

The Websters Pages papers are really pretty and delicate. I did try and treat them carefully. I laid out a small mound of lace, edgings and other fabric frippery and just gazed and deliberated.

I overthought. I gave up.

The thing is, I am learning it really isn’t any good trying to be something that you are not. Just as I was telling myself in the mirror- you have to embrace your ageing and resist societal pressure to look (or try to look) around 24 and remain at that age. I just must be myself whether at the crafting desk or with my friends. I don’t really like ‘fakeness’ at the best of times and yet we (I!!) still get sucked into the temptation to reinvent ourselves.

I guess I can do soft and pretty my way. I’m happy for pointers and lessons and constructive criticism never goes amiss but I think I’ll stick to what comes more easily. I simply can’t spend an hour fiddling around with bits and paper and then still not producing anything at all. So, I take my ‘craft-hat’ off to all of you who can create in this style. I’ll still watch and admire your work, but know that you’re supremely talented and I will be inspired by a design or colour scheme and then ‘keren-ify‘ it!

I’ve made the lace flower using a card circle covered in adhesive and curled and tucked the lace around it. Add a couple of buttons to hide the raw edges and that’s it. The ruffled flower is simply using scalloped circle; punch out about 4-5 pieces of card stock, spray each scalloped circle piece with water and crumple them completely. Unfold them gently and leave to dry. Then, stack each on top of each other and glue together or add a brad through the centre. Oh, and the butterfly is die-cut from an old felted tank top!

Despite my abject failure, I am entering this into the Shabby Tea Room Challenge. It will at least help soothe my ruffled vintage-y feelings! The challenge is to incorporate hand made flowers, so at least I can check that one!

I have some jobs to do. This lounging around isn’t going to get anything else sorted. At least the house was tidy on Saturday (honest!!). See you when I’ve de-cluttered this dining room from the mounds of paper as the kids are ‘creating’ at the mo! xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Acetate Hanging & Stamp Sale! Using up Paper Scraps & Hot Cross Buns!

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Melanie Reid  |  April 2, 2012 at 6:59 pm

    Your card is lovely. Don’t be so hard on yourself. Enjoy the process and revel in your new creations. The blue flower is especially nice. I tried belleek for the first time last week.
    http://melaniereidscrapbooking.blogspot.ca/2012/04/belleek-card.html

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Ros crawford  |  April 3, 2012 at 9:42 am

    This is lovely … I love that you cut the edges of that silhouette paper … you have a great unique style so don’t put yourself down … Let me know about postage for my stamps … unless you want to keep hold till we meet up? … have a good day

    Like

    Reply
    • 3. kerenbaker  |  April 3, 2012 at 9:49 am

      Your wish is my command ! Whatever you’d prefer! xx

      Like

      Reply
  • 4. midnitelullabies  |  April 3, 2012 at 6:52 pm

    This is beautiful. Love the lacy flower!
    Thanks for sharing with us at TSTR this week. Glad to have you play along:)

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. midnitelullabies  |  April 3, 2012 at 6:52 pm

    what a beautiful card. Love your lacy flower. Gorgeous!
    So glad to have you join us at TSTR!

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Tammy Roberts  |  April 9, 2012 at 4:40 am

    Love the flowers, they really stand out! Gorgeous card!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,510 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


