Faux Mosaic Technique & being Grumpy!

May 17, 2011 at 2:05 pm 1 comment

I should really be calling this a ‘Technique Tuesday’ post, but someone’s already beaten me to that description so it’s something new for some of you, and maybe a reminder of a  technique for others! It’s called faux-mosaic because close-up it does look as if there’s a flat mosaic and is a fabulous way of using up old leftover bits of the rubber that you discard when you’ve mounted your stamps. Using your left-over rubber, cut into small triangles and squares and stick onto the acrylic block in a random but close knit pattern= think crazy paving meets mosaic! Stamp with Versamark onto card (that you’ve already decorated with an image- I’d stamped and coloured the bird ) and add clear embossing powder. Rub coloured ink over the embossed bits and then buff off the excess with a paper towel. I’ll be demoing this technique next week at a stamp club but if you fancy learning get in touch and I’d happily show you too! 

The edge of the green Old Olive piece of card as a leftover bit from a whole embossed section that I’d trimmed. I liked the tiny hint of embossing on the edge!

This pic shows the mosaic part in greater detail. I love the birdy. I know there’s no such colour configuration in the bird world, but I like it and it was what I had to hand colour-wise; so there!

I’m at present fending off Will whilst I type. He’s talking to me, asking whether a lip salve is ‘importink’ (important) or not. Apparently he loves me, but I’m a scallywag. Fair enough. What is clear, is that I’m grumpy. Yesterday the previous week caught up with me (include a whole smorgasbord of late nights) and I was not a happy bunny. To be fair, I didn’t actually get cross with anyone, just felt like not being happy and very nearly sulked. I did tell my friends at school that I was being grumpy and one of them said she felt the same. I climbed back in the car (yes, I do climb, I’m short, wearing high-heeled boots and the Landrover is not at pavement level) and decided to take myself in hand. Being grumpy was simply indulging myself and if I was not going to remain this way for the whole of the day, I had to go and do something. I visited a couple of people with some things I had for them and immediately felt a whole heap better. Solace and narkiness probably results in an even greater level of grumpability! By 10:00am I was indeed smiling and feeling more thankful. I was very ably helped along with a piece of millionaires shortbread at a friends ( just what mates are for!) and after running around trying to clear up the house,do the school run, get tea ready, buy a mountain of sweets, drinks and biscuits for the babysitter, feed kids and said babysitter, pop kids to bed and run out for a friends birthday meal,- I was ready to sit down at that point. Had a fantastic meal at Spires (bottom of Penny Lane) and alas I had no room for dessert (not really an acceptable way to finish a meal!!).

Now I’m doing more clearing up in preparation for a play date at ours after school run. Tonights meal request is pizza and when my son has his friend over tomorrow, he’s asked for Fish Pie. Fish Pie?! I know? Kids eh. He’ll be asking for a roast dinner next. 

I need to run and hide from the monster, apparently. He’s taking over our house and Will is rescuing me. Wish someone would rescue me from the pile of ironing that keeps eyeballing me!

See ya!

xx

Card recipe;

Cardstock- Old Olive, Early Espress

Designer Paper- Botanical Gazette.

Stamp sets- Nature Walk and  Just Believe (friend stamp)

Other supplies; Button from neutrals collection. Seam binding ribbon. Linen thread. Basic Black ink. peach parfait and bashful blue marker pen. Versamark ink and clear embossing powder. White signo gel pen.

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Bevelled Window Panes & Thankfulness! Workshop Freebies & Tidying up (again!)

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. ros crawford  |  May 18, 2011 at 12:26 pm

    You are clever … this is brilliant … love the birdie … see you soon!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,501 other subscribers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds