Bevelled Window Panes & Thankfulness!

May 12, 2011 at 9:32 pm 4 comments

Time for a change. Instead of washing windows, I’m decorating them! Ok, not full size ones, and indeed not the sort (which in our house at least) that are peppered with lots of tiny fingerprints and the odd pursed lip imprint too! These are small bevelled windowpanes in 3 different sizes. This one is the largest and they’re just fun to mess with. With acetate and acrylic being ‘up there’ on my all time favourite mediums list, I had surprisingly not bothered with them. Using my Stazon and shimmer paint and if you want to know how I did it, book a workshop and I’ll demonstrate away all you like! It’s unusual and makes people pick it up and peer at it close up- the images are in fact 3D as the next few piccies will attempt to show. The stamp set is our new and ever-so-lovely ‘Slice of Life’ Hostess set from the Mini and is exclusively for those that host workshops or fancy a blow-out and order goods of £150 or more and then you get a set of 6 woodmount or clear mount stamps and £15 of free goodies from either of our two current catalogues. You can of course choose several ther Hostess options, but this is using just one of them. You can see the frame in a little more detail, and see on the next one how the colour and the image are actually separate layers!  

This week has been a really busy one; still playing catch-up, coffees (!), Birthday of one of my littlies and also a  date in my calendar that’s always a toughie but needs a little time to digest and gather my thoughts. Many of you will know we lost one of our children- well it was 5 years this week that she went to Heaven and it has been really strange this year as it seems such a long time ago. If you kinda blink (mentally speaking ), you can imagine for a moment that it was all a bad dream. I think as time passes, it must feel increasingly like that. We still miss Natalie incredibly but take our comfort in our certain hope of Heaven and knowing that she’s completely safe & waiting for the day when God takes us home to be with her too. This year will be remembered as a positive day (and trust me, there have been some humdingers of disastrous Anniversary days!). I don’t do going to her grave anymore. I hate thinking about her death and that’s what the gravestone tells me about. Instead I prefer to remember her as she is now, and be thankful.

I was incredibly thankful for a lovely day spent with different friends, our kids, one large curry feast and some Mars Bar Cheesecake! Not all at once, I hasten to add! We talked about her, the kids recalled their favourite memories and we thanked God for His gift of her in the first place, and remembered how much we’ve learned since then. As we ate in an Indian restaurant (on full view, with lots of people watching our antics!), I looked around at this table-full of kids, all so different, all with their strengths and weaknesses and all responsible for the regular exhaustion I feel (!) and my heart swelled with thankfulness that we have been given such precious gifts care for. If you know me at all, you’ll know parenting doesn’t come easily to me nor do I think I’ve done a good job, but, you know; I’m thankful.

 I should be.

 I will force myself to be on days when it doesn’t come naturally.

 I hope you can be too.

xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Acetate Pillow Box & Imagination Faux Mosaic Technique & being Grumpy!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mara Livingstone-McPhail  |  May 12, 2011 at 9:41 pm

    Keren, thank you for being such a star, you are giving me such inspiration to carry on. Our faith in our loving Father God is such a blessing. You and you family are always n my prayers. xx

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Vicki  |  May 12, 2011 at 11:40 pm

    I truly wonder how you ever managed to keep your head above water after the loss of a child. I wish I was half the person you are and just for the record, you are an amazing mum!

    Hugs
    xx

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. dianne  |  May 13, 2011 at 12:06 pm

    You are such a lovely person Keren and god bless you and all your littlies and biggies xxxxx

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Ros Crawford  |  May 13, 2011 at 7:57 pm

    Now you’ve gone and made me cry … all over my apple key board … YOU are a brilliant Mum … I could never have arranged all those games and thingies that you do … baked mountains of cupcakes and things … AND created amazing things like this!! And most of all … you are a survivor of something awful … be proud lady … I’m pretty amazed by you … xxx

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,496 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


