Speed Craft Challenge 3 & Really?

September 25, 2014 at 2:01 pm 8 comments

SSC-badge-01Hi! How are you all this dark and murky Thursday. We’ve been busy- that is the group of girls playing along with Speed Craft Challenge & set up a blog for the challenge here-It’s simply called www.speedcraftchallenge.blogspot.co.uk . Due to the fact I have severely limited connection (aka my phone)- I’ve not been able to complete an Inlinkz link- but bear with us- we should have one up soon.  In the meanwhile, if you fancy joining in, you can always leave a link in the comment.

Do go visit- it’s a lovely smart new site, and hopefully will be great fun!

Ok- so..onto today. It was my turn to pick. I chose this photo as inspirationtheme

Some of the other girls thought it was hard- I just saw lots of options. Click to go Pam Garrison’s blog- it’s her upcycled garland.

Here’s my collection of products, ready and steady to go.speed1I thought I’d use up some scraps and took my inspiration quite literally! So I got going and it took me this long

speed2Wahoo- I made it.. though it was a massive rush.. and here’s what I came up withspeed3

It’s more eclectic than I usually do. Had I more time, I’d have die-cut some felt out too. The stamp set is from WPlus9 called Dockside. The leaves are from Xcut and the papers are random ones I’ve had in for a while. Buttons and charms from Papermania.

Do join in.. it is fun and a massive sense of achievement. Think of how many cards you could make if they all took you 10 minutes! Do go and check out the blog for the list of all the other crafters joining in the hop

I’m trying to remain calm whilst getting on with life. Sky are still silent.

My 33 minute phone-call yesterday went along the lines of ‘Mrs Baker.. please check all your details’.. because we think it’s your fault initially.

Then we progressed to how to cope with the problem.

I asked what exactly the problem was..appears that quite likely, it was the engineer transferring our phone line, not transferring it properly. Apparently the issue is it ‘that they’re a little snowed under right now’.

We then had a little chat about what we were supposed to do in the meanwhile. I work from home, my kids need internet for their work. What are we to do?

The call handler’s response was to ask if I had nice neighbours and ‘borrow some of their wi-fi’.

I’m not sure either of our neighbours have ‘that’ much spare data. We use a ton.

‘oh- and then you could buy them a nice bottle of wine to say thankyou’.

I answered him quite incredulously

‘so, we go and beg our neighbours to ‘borrow’ their wi-fi and buy them a nice wine at our expense for a mistake caused by you;.

He remained  quite quiet at this point.

We then talked about using my phone. I asked if Sky would compensate me for all my phone data useage which I was quite likely to have used up in the process of 2 days.

Again, he remained strangely silent.

The upshot is,, we await a call on Saturday to work out what the problem is?!!! Then they book an appointment to come out to fix it.

So- we have no phone. No internet.

The kids are despairing. I kid you not.

No homework, coursework, game time, etc.

#firstworldproblems

I am so ready to get internet access- you just try and transfer money on your money!

Hope you are all enjoying surfing. At this rate, I’ll be living in an internet café.

See you.. hopefully when I’m back in the land of the (cyber)living!! xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Add A Little Dazzle Dazzling Divas Challenge #44 & Believe in Better! Avery Elle Challenge!

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Donna  |  September 25, 2014 at 2:21 pm

    Wonderful card Keren,lovely colours. Oh you poor thing,sounds like hell with no internet…..I couldn’t cope that’s for sure,I’m never off the thing :/

    Big hugs
    Donna xxx

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Ingrid Kristina V  |  September 25, 2014 at 2:52 pm

    Hi Keren! Tell me about 1st world’s dramas… my washer-dryer just gave up!! I can image the conversation with the Sky representative…love the joke-y side of them! 🙂 LOL.. good luck with it all, hope it gets resolved soon!
    Your card is amazing, you interpreted the image beautifully! Love it!
    Hugs, Ingrid xx

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Pamellia  |  September 25, 2014 at 3:06 pm

    I would not survive without the internet, oh my gosh!!! What a nightmare! On the bright side, your card is spectacular, I am so impressed that you did this in 10 minutes! Just wonderful Keren!

    Hugs, Pamellia 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. massofhair  |  September 25, 2014 at 5:09 pm

    You are definitely a SuperMum Hero Keren! I will not spend my money with Murdoch at any cost his company is despicable. Sorry you getting the run around, we are so dependant on wi-fi etc these companies get my blood boiling…

    Off to check out the new blog and look on a larger screen at your inspiration. Great card and well done for finishing in under 10 minutes:-) xxx

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Miriam Prantner  |  September 25, 2014 at 6:10 pm

    Love your take on the inspiration photo! Great mix of patterns/shapes/elements!

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. vickiscraft  |  September 26, 2014 at 9:59 am

    Oh I really feel for you, Virgin are no better, we were without it for a few days, not so long ago, felt like my right arm had been cut off….lol albeit I was NOT laughing at the time! :O Hope they get it sorted and make sure they reduce the bill!!! xx

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. lollthompson  |  September 28, 2014 at 1:45 am

    Amazing card Keren … so creative and fun and you managed to include all the elements from the inspiration photo in under 10 minutes. Wow … you must have been on fast speed 🙂 Great card. Loll xx

    Like

    Reply
  • 8. Nikki Acton  |  September 29, 2014 at 12:04 pm

    Fabulous Keren – you have really taken the image and made a gorgeous card. Nikki x

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,501 other subscribers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds