Cards For Men & Organising

May 26, 2011 at 6:30 pm 3 comments

Ever tried to buy a card for a man recently? You’re hardly spoilt for choice! This card was one we sent to a friend who is majorly into coffee and I think it just about passes as a blokes card! The image is from the ‘A Slice of Life’ hostess set from the Mini Catalogue and I’ve tried to make them all into coffees! Steve did take one look and ask why there was a cigarette sticking out of the middle coffee!! Honestly! One of the kids thought there was an icecream in the middle; I give up! On closer inspection you’ll see that I’ve cut sections of each receptacle out and placed acetate stamped with the same image and then placed different ‘coffee’ coloured designer paper from the  Botanical Gazette collection behind the acetate. What you can’t probably make out is that the ‘froth’ and parts of the cups are touched up with some shimmer paint. Just a touch- wouldnt want to make them too girly now would we?!

Do you like the slightly distressed stamping? I would normally have chucked away (or turned the card over) with not perfect images due to uneven inking, but I liked it that way, so it stayed; unrejected! The bottom section is embossed using the Square Lattice folder (which is a great one for bloke cards) and finished off with a knot- definately not a bow!!

So far- this week has been very bitty- lots of little jobs to do. I guess I must have been mentally in a hurry as I literally jumped up into my car (tall car, short person..even with heels!) and didn’t duck. I walloped the top of head as I scraped it, and sat in my front seat a little dazed for 5 minutes. I didn’t realise the top of your head could be quite that sensitive!

Clearing out has continued a-pace. You realise how much stuff you were hanging onto ‘in case’, and now it’s gone.

Good.

 Hoping it stays that way.

Guessing its not gonna.

I am loving thinking logically (a rare occurence) and trying to create systems. Thanks to a rather smart filing tray for 99p, I have a proper place that I now need to train all the kids to use. Letters or invites= on the top shelf. Stampin’Up! order forms on the next one. 3rd shelf down is my ‘non kids in-tray’ and the 4th level is currently housing a collection of Spiderman card making stuff for Will. It had to go there. There was nowhere else. Sadly, this ‘space’ that I’ve created is attracting other peoples’  ‘stuff’ and I’m having to chase people from depositing their junk on my nicely cleaned surfaces liked a slightly demented scarecrow in a field of just sown corn. Anyone would think they’d nowhere else to put their things. What this organisation has done is opened my eyes to the fact there is a large (and growing) pile of ironing now obstructing my efforts to be ‘sleek and slimlined’. There are 2 solutions. Neither of which seem attractive. 

1. Bin the lot

2. Iron it all.

What is a girl to do?! 

See you after I’ve tidied some more xx

Card recipe; Cardstock- Early espresso, whisper white and Rich Razzleberry. Early espresso and black Stazon ink. Chocolate chip ribbon. Window sheets (acetate) Botanical Gazette designer papers. Stamp sets- A Slice of Life and ‘Afterthoughts’. Square Lattice embossing folder. shimmer paint

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Workshop Freebies & Tidying up (again!) Simple Scrapbook Layout & No Squirrels!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ros crawford  |  May 27, 2011 at 11:51 am

    Brilliant masculine card … love the coffees and the colours … and Ouch! yep banged my head like that a few times … hope you have a better day today … little person

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Angel Jem  |  May 27, 2011 at 6:18 pm

    Bin it all. It’s much easier and it means you don’t worry when you can’t find anything, you just say it went out in the ironing. Useful for all those pesky school forms etc ;o)
    Moving house has much the same quality of pure escapism but costs a whole load more.

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Mara Livingstone-McPhail  |  May 29, 2011 at 10:09 pm

    Hang on to the ironing for a bit longer and I will come and do it – rather do someone elses than mine. Ok, so I am ODD!
    Love the coffee card, off to make a large cup to get me through the next few hours – sorting out stuff and life – no mean feat!!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,501 other subscribers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds