This is what makes my ideas take off! 

July 4, 2017 at 4:40 pm 6 comments

Ok, hey everyone. A slightly different post for you today. No projects- just hopefully some inspiration for you. 

Our family recently visited Manchester Museum and I was totally blown away artistically. I wanted to leave quite soon afterwards as I wanted to rush home and create! 

A museum? You were inspired by that? I’ve got a bunch of photos–and I could have taken so many more. Here’s a few to show you. 

These butterflies were stunning- but it was all about the lighting and spacing for me!


Even a subdued monochromatic scheme can look stunning with careful placement and a plain background. 

This tribal necklace caught my eye because of the feathers, the colours and the shape. That patterning, colour scheme or shape would be the perfect starting point for a project. 

This section was fascinating. It appealed to the 3D lover in me. The hanging at different heights. The juxtaposed elements. The black contrasting background and clever placing of lighting. Each section was entirely glass- meaning that as you looked down the length of the hall- all the displays enveloped each other. Cleverly group enough of two contrasting elements and the design scheme will work. 


This display took the realistic and teamed it with the representational. Keeping the colours muted but the shapes realistic gave it a magical look- and a winters feel. There were so many details in there- I could have looked for ages. Again- clever use of depth with elements in stages and the outlined botanicals. Simply wonderful. 

Then THIS! the suspended wooden skeleton next to the sphere of flight. My heart stood still and I just gazed. I toyed with asking all the people to get out of the shot as I loved the lines of the upper balcony framing the perspective towards the stairs at the end. I thought better of it and took a better look nearer the sphere.

I had to look at the way it was engineered. Looking at the spindles and I just thought ‘vellum’ the entire time I was gazing at it! 

Imagine this a lampshade or suspended from a bedroom ceiling. Granted, it’d be a dust magnet- but oh, how wonderful it’d look. The flight theme continue with this stunning exhibit 

Amazing cranes. They came out of the glass box and onto the ceiling. Pure theatre. You know how much I like off the card projects? Here’s one in the making. 

This was beautiful. Lit up and contrasted with the black- it looked like a giant stamp. I could see this with some Perfect Pearls and Versamark onto a matt black cardstock. A little lighting up from the rear with some cutouts and acetate…can you see where my mind is going? 

Here’s you can see what I meant about seeing the other exhibits through the glass. This showed clever framing, artistic positioning and the gaps between the glass boxes had a patterning that drew all the exhibits together. Honestly, it was sublime.

Truthfully. I learned very little. I was too busy being agog at the art. I didn’t see half of it as the kids were restless and wanted some lunch. Lunch was an altogether less lovely affair, but Manchester museum– I was smitten and I’ll be coming back …alone!! 

Hope you’ve been as inspired as I was. See you soon! x

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Winnie and Walter Premiere Day 4 PaperArtsy Aqua topic 

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jgrayb  |  July 4, 2017 at 6:43 pm

    You should do a design degree once you’ve less car- carrying You would love Kelvingrove Museum in Glasgow!

    Like

    Reply
    • 2. Ruth  |  July 5, 2017 at 10:35 pm

      Big fan of Kelvingrove, but mostly for the art work. I never could get my head round the giant heads they installed. Used to wander around it in the mid 90s on a Sunday afternoon when I’d had enough of studying.

      Like

      Reply
  • 3. conil  |  July 4, 2017 at 8:53 pm

    Good Lord. How did your jaw feel after gaping through these exhibits. I’m not sure I could get my mouth closed again…walking around with drool on my chin (is that too much information?). Extraordinary how they’ve juxtaposed this varied exhibits together. Oh that magical ball of suspended butterflies and the cranes and the…I could go on forever…and that’s just from viewing the photos. I’m not sure I could have left if I’d been there in person.

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Ruth  |  July 5, 2017 at 10:37 pm

    Looks like an amazing place, although I’m inclined to be a little overwhelmed by all that art. The butterfly sphere is pretty astounding – although I first thought of IKEA trying something similar with a lampshade…… xx

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Ros Crawford  |  July 6, 2017 at 12:59 pm

    Amazing! I can see why you enjoyed it … I would have too! Can’t wait to see what you create after this visit!

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Paula Whittaker  |  July 9, 2017 at 9:46 am

    I adore those times where you go somewhere and it just blows your mind. I love how it can spark so many creative ideas and you have to get a note book to write it all down before it all goes. Thank for sharing x

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,510 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


