A Little More Kori Kumi! 

September 8, 2016 at 9:16 am 5 comments

Hi! You’ve possibly seen some of the makes I created with the new Santoro Kori Kumi range brought by Craft Consortium.

Well, they’ve another show coming up on Hochanda on Monday 12th September and so I’ve made a few more projects for them. 

Today’s is courtesy of Prismacolor pencils. These need a health warning…( more on that later!)

I have treated the little duo very simply because they are detailed enough. The pair are from a stamp set called ‘The Gift of Friendship’

She’s pretty different on the stamp. I used the no-line technique, stamping with Desert Sand Memento and that’s light enough ink to be able to colour over the stamped lines and give a softer look. 

It does however, require a lot of colouring and that leads me on to my ‘injury’. Be super careful how much colouring you do in one stint…lets just say I sprained my thumb . 

(Hangs head in shame).

Yeah, you just try to explain a craft related injury. 

‘Umm. My finger is painful.’

‘What have you done?’

‘Well, ( awkward pause) I damaged it from colouring’.

‘Colouring?’

‘Yes, umm, using pencils’.

Hilarious mocking laughter was the result. Every time.

To add injury to insult ( yes, I realise I changed the order of the saying), I then sprained my ankle walking. 

Walking. 

Forwards. In a straight line. Slowly. 

So, in 24 hours I sprained my ankle and thumb. 

Thankfully the numbness and pain in my thumb has nearly dissipated. Long distance marathon running is on hold at present for my ankle ( 😉) but I’ll survive! 

Back to cute little Kori Kumi…

Once I’d coloured it in ( stop smirking please!), I then drew two lines in pencil either side of the characters and trimmed out the head and scarf and then used a craft knife to cut the edges. Add some paper from the range and you have a sweet card. 

I quite liked the purple hair, although have no intention in replicating the look anytime soon! 

Thanks for visiting. Do hope you’ll look out for this unique and gorgeous range! 

(I still love my Prismacolor pencils but am holding them differently !) 

Xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

Fiskars Pizzas? MFT Stamps Aerial Silks

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. conil  |  September 8, 2016 at 4:02 pm

    Good to know…coloring causes injury…I’ll remember that. Despite the harm it did, this card is so worth it. I personally love the colors you’ve chosen. It’s so fun and the image is adorable. I won’t go on and on about your skill since that’s been done. Suffice it to say, outstanding card. Certainly hope your ankle feels better soon…in your busy life it’s probably impossible for you to stay home swaddled in, what we call, bubble wrap? You appear to have problems with mundane activities.

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Ruth  |  September 8, 2016 at 8:49 pm

    Oh no! But a worthy injury on such a gorgeous card. I like her hair too. I think it’s worth a go in 40 years time. A purple rinse! Sorry to hear about your ankle. My older sister sprains hers all the time. She stepped off a kerb and sprained it. Nasty! Hope it heals up soon 🙂 xx

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. thecraftingbakinggodmum  |  September 11, 2016 at 7:33 am

    Love it 🙂 Wish i could colour as good as you 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • 4. kerenbaker  |  September 16, 2016 at 6:26 pm

      Thankyou! I’m sure you could. Just a little practice, that’s all! x

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      • 5. thecraftingbakinggodmum  |  September 18, 2016 at 8:37 am

        Thankyou – i sure hope so 🙂 x

        Like

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,504 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


