Be Afraid…

September 3, 2016 at 10:13 am 11 comments

Hi! It’s Day 3 of Clearly Besotted Teasers. Thanks for stopping by!

I was a little afraid whilst creating and posting today, and I kid you not! I really really really don’t like spiders. I can get a little near to them and it all starts getting a lot more uncomfortable! So even as I was colouring this slightly cute version, I still was aware it was a spider I was colouring and had to breathe a little more deeply! (ha ha!)IMG_7396

I’ve mixed up a couple of sets here. The spider is from Best Halloween set but I wanted to make him a little cuter as I don’t like Halloween. I immediately thought of the nursery rhyme ‘Incey Wincey Spider’. I thought about being brave with spiders and Incey being brave climbing up and down the waterspout (or drainpipe!) so I used the sentiment and butterflies from ‘Cute Cubs’. I just sketched out a drainpipe and added some white gel pen detailing.

IMG_7366

I trimmed out a little grass and added around the bottom and then popped the spidey onto some twine which makes me happier than creating a web! I rather like him and makes me think that if all spiders were as happy and cute as he, I’d never have a fear of spiders!

My second project is using the ‘Feeling Frightful’ set, which is a perfect set of images for little boys or big guys. Quite frankly, I can think of lots of occasions where I’ve felt frightful enough to receive one of these cards!

IMG_7352

First of all I stamped out the jars and then added all the individual elements with the inner images ( which you stamp too.)

Then because I wanted to make an old shop front type of card, I reached for my window die (which some of you may have) and cut them out of some patterned paper. Granted, the paper isn’t a perfect ‘building’ pattern but gave enough contrast to the wood panelled patterned paper for the inside.

IMG_6883 (1)

It came together quite quickly once that was sorted. I added the cobwebs by stamping onto acetate with Cotton White Stazon. I also stamped some cobwebs onto the jars and using the spider stamps, I cut one out and lengthened the black ‘web’ bit with a black pen!

Hope you weren’t too scared by these cards- I did end up having fun creating them, and I reckon you’ll love the sets too!

Do pop over to Stephanie’s blog too and don’t forget to check out what Debby & Michelle have conjured up for you!

Back tomorrow, with a super flexible set!

xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

An Olympic Christmas Clearly Besotted Layered Wreath

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mavisdee  |  September 3, 2016 at 10:40 am

    Aw they are so cute. Super cute spiders as well. We are big fans of spiders here as we have a pathological hatred of flying beasties. It makes them a lot less scary if you think of them as flytraps. And they do make awesome balloons. (The stamp, that is, I don’t actually turn spiders into balloons).

    Like

    Reply
    • 2. kerenbaker  |  September 3, 2016 at 10:44 am

      Ha ha Mavis! Fab comment- you made me laugh! xx

      Like

      Reply
  • 3. Jill Norwood  |  September 3, 2016 at 10:52 am

    Wonderful Halloween creations! I like the cute side of Halloween more so than the scary-side of it! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Ros Crawford  |  September 3, 2016 at 11:37 am

    Absolutely fabulous!!! I don’t like spiders etc., but I adore your creations and he looks a cute spider… The jars in the windows are amazing!

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Ruth Andrews  |  September 3, 2016 at 12:35 pm

    Hahah! We just run and getting Daddy when ever we see one – I won’t go near! It’s very cute as inch wincy. Xx

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. nomineuk  |  September 3, 2016 at 3:49 pm

    These are cute! Especially love the shop front. Can’t bear spiders though – I’ve nearly thrown my phone across the room a couple of times when people thought that posting close-up pics of spiders on Instagram was a good idea [shudder]…

    Like

    Reply
    • 7. kerenbaker  |  September 3, 2016 at 3:59 pm

      Thank you! And I’m with you on the closeup photos on Facebook. Everything is going well, and suddenly you’re terrified! xx

      Like

      Reply
  • 8. conil  |  September 3, 2016 at 3:54 pm

    Truly horrifying…the way you can come up with these little vignettes of scariness. Actually, sitting here oohing and aahing over the details you added. I mean, drawing a drainpipe? In a terrifying way, both cards are “frightful”, surely, you couldn’t be and still create these scenes.

    Like

    Reply
  • 9. Virginia L.  |  September 3, 2016 at 5:44 pm

    You make the (most horrifying, not really) cutest cards…that is all.

    Like

    Reply
  • 10. Esther  |  September 3, 2016 at 11:35 pm

    So much fun! You definitely succeeded in making the spider cute, and those ‘frightful’ accessories are wonderfully creepy! Fabulous 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  • 11. Miriam Prantner  |  September 5, 2016 at 2:46 am

    Too fun! I always love seeing what you do with CB, it’s just so creative!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,507 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


