An Olympic Christmas

September 2, 2016 at 9:30 am 9 comments

Welcome to September’s Teasers. It hardly seems a minute since August’s teasers were in full force!

So, (and look away the ‘don’t do Christmas early’ amongst you) today is full on Christmas… or sort of. These are brilliant sets and actually you can do a whole lot more than you think. Chop the antlers off (under general anaesthetic of course) and you have a pretty cute horse! (only joking!)

Anyhow. I was inspired to do these projects whilst having the Olympics in mind. This one is the high jump. I was tempted to do the pole vault, but maybe that’s another card!

IMG_7399

The reindeer are simply adorable. I have fallen totally in love with them! Suitably called ‘Let’s Prance’; its an A7 set that will be equally useful as an individual image for CAS cards or creating fun scenes.

IMG_6879

Speaking of fun scenes- I thought I’d show you my card for the set ‘On Thin Ice’.

This is a fine example of when things don’t go quite right. The idea was ok- the skater rescuing the little guy who’s fallen into the water through the ice. The problem was that creating the idea actually into reality was a little more tricky.

IMG_7391

The problem was that I wanted to show him half in and half out of the water and use acetate to try and replicate this. If you look carefully, you hopefully can see that. The issue was that the colour of the water that I coloured in wasn’t the same as the outside water. If I’d made a distinct line of the darker colour, it might have worked more successfully. Oh, and notice the mistake….

IMG_7357

Yeah, I messed up with the sentiment stamp. Right.at.the.end.

So, I had to add a little strip of cardstock over the top of the mess. Just about got away with it too! Skating is an Olympic sport too (well, at least a Winter Olympic discipline!) so I just about shoehorned it into the theme!

Do pop over to Stephanie’s blog and see also what Debby & Michelle have created!

See you tomorrow for some slightly scary cards (well, one involves a spider so that’s enough to scare me silly!)

xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Kori Kumi Santoro from Crafts Consortium Be Afraid…

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. karensteele0873  |  September 2, 2016 at 10:08 am

    Oh dear! (no pun intended lol!) I have been trying to convince myself that I didn’t need any more Christmas stamps but these gorgeous reindeers are going to be hard to resist! I love the fab scene that you have created here Keren! The cute little skaters are so sweet too! Looking forward to tomorrow’s teasers 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Michelle Short  |  September 2, 2016 at 10:54 am

    These are so fun, Keren! I love them and I think the second card looks amazing, I cannot see anything wrong with it at all. What a fab idea with the reindeer playing high jump! Love it! 🙂 xx

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Michele  |  September 2, 2016 at 12:58 pm

    Keren your talent and humor jump-starts my day! Darling!!!
    =]

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Holly Saveur  |  September 2, 2016 at 1:22 pm

    Super cute!

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Crimson Owl Creations  |  September 2, 2016 at 1:41 pm

    These guys are all so adorable! I love how cute and colorful they look!

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Sherri  |  September 2, 2016 at 3:28 pm

    Love your cards. These characters are adorable. TFS

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. conil  |  September 2, 2016 at 4:26 pm

    Were any medals won during these events…I think that’s important to note, after all these are champion critters, right? Despite your supposed difficulties, these both are totally adorable and clever. You’ve put that famous imagination of yours into gear and created cards that have an enormous amount of fun in them. Personally, don’t understand your concern over the rescue card…looks like you planned it that way (although, have to say, it’s nice to know that I’m not the only one who messes up sentiments.)

    Like

    Reply
  • 8. Esther  |  September 2, 2016 at 7:39 pm

    Fantastic cards, Keren! I love the stamp sets, and the humour in your designs. Thanks so much for the inspiration!

    Like

    Reply
  • 9. Miriam Prantner  |  September 5, 2016 at 2:53 am

    Love these fun scenes, especially the reindeer!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,448 other followers

I’m designing for;

Design Teams

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Butterfly beauty- using new #paperbabestamps mdf portrait blanks and #pieridae butterfly set

Snail mail Invertage. Tunnel card type technique using #lawnfawn #gleefulgardenstamps

Need a bouquet that can't be squashed in the post? Check out the @sevenhillscrafts blog to see how to make one using the stunningly gorgeous @winnieandwalter #Addiesgarden blooms!! #bouquetcards

More Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


