Share The Love Week !

June 21, 2016 at 1:00 pm 17 comments


IMG_5775

Hi there!

I’m delighted to be joining in with the Share The Love week, which is a collaboration between Ellen Hutson and Winnie & Walter. Today’s challenge is ‘Sentimental’ and it’s all about making the sentiment the main thing.

More on how I did that in a minute; first up- what I created this card with!

Ellen Hutson kindly sent 2 products for us to use and they fitted in so perfectly with Winnie & Walter products.

First up; ‘Totally Awesome’ essentials-by-ellen-clear-stamps-totally-awesome-eestj-030-16_image1__51743-1454973812-250-250

and also a lovely die ‘Brushstroke Wonderful’ essentials-by-ellen-designer-dies-brushstroke-wonderful-by-julie-ebersole-eediej-044-16_image1__78008-1454629094-250-250

Both these products are designed by Julie Ebersole and I teamed it with some flowers and foliage from the 3 In Bloom sets; Anna’s Flora, and Addie’s Garden, but mostly Elsa’s Flora

w_w_inbloom-elsa_sflora_6x8stamp_webprv_large

So- to start with, I did a little masking (ok, make that a fair few layers of masking). I needed there to be depth without any layers! I die cut the sentiment out from post-it notes and stuck that down too so I knew where I needed to avoid colouring.

IMG_5777

In order for the sentiment to stand out but still have the impact of the flowers, I used some matt Dura-lar which is a thicker film than vellum, doesn’t tear and in fact takes Archival Ink beautifully. The base of the card is a tent folded acetate blank.

IMG_5734

Once I’d stamped and coloured. I then trimmed the piece of cardstock out so the central part was smaller and the edges had the shape of the flowers and foliage.

I folded a smaller part of the Dura-lar over at the top, lined it up with the edges of the card layer and then drew the outline of the bottom of the flowers onto the film. I then cut it out. The reason I wanted the opaqueness on the card was to make the flowers more subtle so the sentiment stood out, but giving a hint of vibrancy around the edges.

You can see I also slightly offset the film so the stamped sentiment got a subtle shadow to it too!

IMG_5776

Adhering it was a little tricky; I stuck it to the reverse of the acetate. I now had the film sticking out too much. I added a little double sided tape onto the cardstock where the die cut was to be on the front and managed to secure it.

I could have added a wash tape edge and secured it more flush, but I wanted a clean look. I added a Posca paint pen for the tiny dot details around the edges. Die- cut the ‘wonderful’ twice, stack them one slightly above the other and you have a unique card showcasing the sentiment!

There are challenges each day this week for you to join in with;

Do have a look and join in with the challenges over on the Winnie & Walter blog– there are prizes too! 2 random commenters from the Share the Love Week posts on the w&w blog will receive the stamp set and die from Ellen I’ve used here (thank you Ellen!).

Each day 1 randomly drawn participant will receive a $25 credit to Ellen Hutson AND a $25 credit to the w&w shop.

That’s well worth joining in for!

See you soon xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Summer Coffee Lovers Blog Hop Share The Love Week- Transparent Challenge

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Helen Gullett  |  June 21, 2016 at 1:15 pm

    WOW!!! Gorgeous and stunning design!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Holly Saveur  |  June 21, 2016 at 1:37 pm

    Gorgeous!!

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Susi  |  June 21, 2016 at 2:03 pm

    Absolutely stunning … love the softness the vellum adds and the way that “wonderful” die cut sentiment flows across the page is fabulous!

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Michele  |  June 21, 2016 at 2:38 pm

    Keren you’ve managed to used my favorite [vellum] in a most gorgeous way … acetate, and vellum are on my craft table today, too!
    =]

    Like

    Reply
    • 5. Michele  |  June 21, 2016 at 2:41 pm

      Wait! Dura-Lar? I’ll be investigating that! =]

      Like

      Reply
  • 6. conil  |  June 21, 2016 at 4:01 pm

    No…you are Absolutely Wonderful. Just look at this beauty…it’s so cleverly constructed and unique. And if that weren’t enough, and it never is in my eyes, the fussy cutting totally blew my mind (since I muddle through, mindless, most of the time, that’s really not a big change, for me). Like Michele, I had to look up Dura-Lar, you mentioned the acetate before…and, of course, I ordered it. Back to the card, seriously spectacular. You keep doing this and you’re going to get a reputation.

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. Denise Bryant  |  June 21, 2016 at 4:56 pm

    Beautiful card! I love the flowers you used, and the pretty softness from the Dura-lar!

    Like

    Reply
  • 8. Ruth Andrews  |  June 21, 2016 at 5:36 pm

    That’s gorgeous – I love how the die cut overlaps the edges and that dura-lar works so well. I love the offset sentiments – if I try to do that it only goes wonky! Xx

    Like

    Reply
  • 9. Marianne  |  June 21, 2016 at 6:09 pm

    This looks amazing!

    Like

    Reply
  • 10. onyx welborne  |  June 21, 2016 at 8:21 pm

    Everything about this card is ingenious and unique! I love it! Can you suggest a good place to buy Dura lar? Thanks!! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  • 11. Sue D  |  June 22, 2016 at 2:23 am

    This is absolutely beautiful!

    Like

    Reply
  • 12. chamorritacrafts  |  June 22, 2016 at 2:57 am

    What a beautiful card! Love the overall design of the card!! Just amazing! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    Reply
  • 13. Virginia L.  |  June 22, 2016 at 4:19 am

    This card is breath-taking!! Love it! It’s a gift in itself!

    Like

    Reply
  • 14. Agata  |  June 22, 2016 at 9:09 am

    Those flowers look as if they wanted to burst out of the card, just beautiful and very clever!

    Like

    Reply
  • 15. Joslyn Fowler  |  June 23, 2016 at 9:11 am

    This is sooooo stunning!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Like

    Reply
  • 16. Ros Crawford  |  June 23, 2016 at 10:54 am

    Oh this is adorable! Love the design and those amazing layer!

    Like

    Reply
  • 17. raggiodiluce82  |  June 24, 2016 at 9:07 am

    Oh wow! Absolutely wonderful!!! ❤

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,491 other followers

I’m designing for;

Design Teams

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Butterfly beauty- using new #paperbabestamps mdf portrait blanks and #pieridae butterfly set

Snail mail Invertage. Tunnel card type technique using #lawnfawn #gleefulgardenstamps

Need a bouquet that can't be squashed in the post? Check out the @sevenhillscrafts blog to see how to make one using the stunningly gorgeous @winnieandwalter #Addiesgarden blooms!! #bouquetcards

More Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


