One Step Stamping with Concord & 9th

June 14, 2016 at 2:24 pm 7 comments

i’m over on Seven Hills Crafts blog today I love multi-step stamping. Those sets which give wonderful dimension. Some people find them tricky to line up, and if you’re just starting out stamping, you might feel a little nervous about using them.
Thing is, you can treat them as one step stamps too!
I wanted to make a really simple card. The hardest bit is fussy cutting- which you don’t need to do necessarily, you could simply stamp a one layer background.

 

I’ve used two products from Concord & 9th;
and this amazing die ‘Friend Like You
Do notice that it cuts the black lines- so it is a solid die with the brackets being detachable from the main die. You can’t die cut a ‘friend’ aperture by itself although if you positioned a piece of thin paper across where those letters are, you could die-cut one single word. You obviously have the middle bits of the negative letter shape that you could add in, but I liked the look of it without.

 

Simply stamp the background and stamp the outer flower a few times, cut out and add to the card using foam pads. I backed the sentiment which a nice contrasting colour and added it to the front.
I obviously had letters left and thought I’d make a quick tag.

This time I stamped two of the 3-step flowers separately and trimmed them out. The idea with the set is that you start with the largest flower shape with the lighter colour, stamp the next sized down shape in a darker colour and then over those two, stamp the smallest image with the darkest colour.
These outline shapes are perfect for no-line copic/watercolour techniques.Add in detail with pen or pencil and really kickstart your creativity. I die cut one of the brackets from the tag and it gives a lovely aperture to back with another colour (as well as cutting out some bracket shapes to play with too).
I’ve had great fun with this set- do have a go too!

See you soon,

Keren xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Winnie & Walter Re-run ‘True’ PaperBabe Stamps June Release

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Helen Gullett  |  June 14, 2016 at 2:31 pm

    Love love love love this card a lot, Keren! The diecut sentiment is perfect over the background. You are awesome!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Michele  |  June 14, 2016 at 2:37 pm

    Keren you’ve given us so many ways to see this set with new eyes! Fabulous card … I’ve been crushing over that friend die … may have to give in to it!!!
    =]

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Virginia L.  |  June 14, 2016 at 3:06 pm

    I recently got this stamp set and it is still waiting for me to ink up…perhaps today!! Thank you for the inspiration! Love love love your take on this set, Keren! The fussy cutting really pays off! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. conil  |  June 14, 2016 at 3:51 pm

    Seems as though Virginia and I are in the same boat…have the stamps sitting on my desk just screaming for ink. Your card and tag have inspired me to FINALLY do something with it. Of course, it won’t be as spectacular as your creations which, by the way, are really spectacular. You have such an amazing eye for design and the nimble fingers to be able to pull it off. Constantly, in awe of your work.

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Barbara  |  June 14, 2016 at 11:52 pm

    Fabulous card and I love the colour scheme. Thank you for the tip, getting more from your stamp sets is always a great idea.

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Barbara  |  June 14, 2016 at 11:55 pm

    Reblogged this on Barbara Ann Paper Arts and commented:
    I thought this was a great tip for those who are a little afraid of trying out two step (or multistep stamping). I’m sharing This post from a fantastic blog that I follow. Enjoy.

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. mprantner  |  June 16, 2016 at 3:19 am

    Beautiful! I’ve been eyeing this set, I just love how you used it!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,502 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


