My Favorite Things ! 

April 29, 2016 at 9:23 am 7 comments

Hi! I’ve really enjoyed being with My Favorite Things for these guest posts this month I thought I’d look at different shaped projects. It’s easy to get into the rut of ‘square’ or ‘rectangular’ cards, so I thought I’d do fun shapesIMG_4615

Firstly- I created a round card blank using the circular stitched STAX dies. By folding a piece of cardstock and laying it onto the circle die, with part of the folded edge pushed slightly below the cut edge so it avoids cutting some of the folded edge and therefore creates a shaped blank.

IMG_4614

I’ve added some gentle blending on ink into the centre of the card, but not to cover it. I stamped and die cut some of the flowers and leaves from the ‘Build-able Bouquet‘ I’ve added colour with Distress ink and sprayed some water to disperse a  little of the colour.

IMG_4613

I die cut the sentiment and added 3 colours of ink to create a slightly ombre look. I added a white layer behind it to give some depth. Sequins help give movement to the project too! If you have problems getting the card to stand still, just trim a little off the bottom to help stabilise it.

I bought a simple wooden plaque recently that needed a little prettying up. These flowers from the same set are perfect for making an easy home decor item.

IMG_4617

I coloured these flowers in with Prismacolor pencils, adding layers of colours and then added stitched detailing with my white gel pen. A smattering of sequins helps tie all the colours together. Keeping the background plain and not adding a different coloured hanging ribbon keeps the focus on the flowers. It would be equally as great adding in a sentiment to the plaque!

IMG_4616

I hope you’ve enjoyed these projects. I’ve loved sharing with you some ideas with all these wonderful My Favorite Things supplies!

xx

 

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

PaperArtsy White Space  Clearly Besotted Teaser Time

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ruth Andrews  |  April 29, 2016 at 11:02 am

    What fabulous projects – it is nice to see something using traditionally card making items not being used on a card – love the hanging heart with the florals. xx

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. karensteele0873  |  April 29, 2016 at 11:52 am

    The heart is really pretty and I just love the card – it’s stunning!

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. vickiscraft  |  April 29, 2016 at 12:53 pm

    Wow, beautiful card Keren, love all the different colours!

    Vicki x

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. conil  |  April 29, 2016 at 3:52 pm

    Being one of those “rut” people you write of, it’s refreshing to see someone come up with something totally out of the box, so to speak.Saw these two projects on the MFT blog and immediately began salivating. Grabbing a tissue to stop the flow, I studied them both with amazement. What sweetness they both have and what skill you have constructing them, I thought to myself. It’s been such a joy seeing your work for the past month.

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Crimson Owl Creations  |  April 29, 2016 at 4:19 pm

    These are gorgeous! I LOVE making round and oval cards too! Lately I’ve been into smaller “postcards” that are really popular with my friends who pin them up a bulletin board or refrigerator. A card maker can get into a rut too! Thanks for some fresh new ideas!
    Take Care!
    Michele

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Ros Crawford  |  April 30, 2016 at 10:24 am

    Stunningly beautiful!

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. mprantner  |  May 4, 2016 at 12:27 am

    Wonderful! Love the blending on the flowers and elements in the card, and what a great ornament you created!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,482 other followers

I’m designing for;

Design Teams

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Butterfly beauty- using new #paperbabestamps mdf portrait blanks and #pieridae butterfly set

Snail mail Invertage. Tunnel card type technique using #lawnfawn #gleefulgardenstamps

Need a bouquet that can't be squashed in the post? Check out the @sevenhillscrafts blog to see how to make one using the stunningly gorgeous @winnieandwalter #Addiesgarden blooms!! #bouquetcards

More Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


