Blackboard Technique Coloured Up!

March 29, 2016 at 3:13 pm 14 comments

Hi! A few years back, chalkboard was everywhere. I love this look and thought trying a slightly look with it was worth a try.
I’ve used Prismacolors and this beautiful set ‘In Bloom: Anna’s Floras’ for my post over at Seven Hills Crafts
Firstly, white heat emboss onto black card. Then lay down some white pencil as a base layer to help provide a base to show up the colour.
Next, start to add colour. You may need to add several layers to give some vibrancy to the depth of colour.

 

Then just trim out all the flowers and stack them at the top of the card
The traditional method of using heat embossing, white ink stamped and some ink blending/smudging around small areas. I’ve used these but rather more subtly, focussing instead on the black based flowers.
For the sentiment, I used the Winnie & Walter Set ‘The Party
The finishing touches are simply some different sized pearls; enough to give a little focus but not to detract or ‘fight’ with the flowers. As they’re not as bright as usual, I wanted something delicate.
Hope you like the blackboard styled cluster. The flowers are stuck slightly off the card to add some dynamism.

Do give this style a re-visit, you’ll be glad you did!

See you soon

Keren xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Tied Up with Colour & Bad Chat up lines! Winnie & Walter ‘My Precious’ Rerun.

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. icardeveryone01  |  March 29, 2016 at 3:20 pm

    Keren your card is fantastic … dynamism galore! I just got this set [I know what took me so long? [It is my eldest granddaughter’s name for Pete’s sake!] I might just have to sharpen my pencil! thanks for the inspiration!
    =] M

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Clare Allen  |  March 29, 2016 at 3:23 pm

    A gorgeous technique. Looks amazing. Clare x

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. karensteele0873  |  March 29, 2016 at 3:39 pm

    Stunning card Keren!

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. djkardkreations  |  March 29, 2016 at 3:40 pm

    This took my breath away, Keren! Your coloring and this design are outstanding!! Pinning this one! Hugs, Darnell

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. conil  |  March 29, 2016 at 4:19 pm

    Oh my…another Baker Beauty (you see, I’ve made a category for you in my messy mind). I’ve tried this technique before but without this level of success. Obviously, I am NOT the Master Color (another category) you are…probably didn’t use enough layers. Since this comment is supposed to be about YOU and not me, just wanted you to know I’M TOTALLY GOB-SMACKED…again. (I really must remember to prepare myself before I look at your posts…perhaps one of those spongy floor mats would do the trick.)

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Valerie MacLeod  |  March 29, 2016 at 6:46 pm

    Love this x

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. Ruth Andrews  |  March 29, 2016 at 7:41 pm

    Gorgeousness in all it’s glory!! I’m so new to crafting that I think chalkboard is a really fab technique and I need to try it! xx

    Like

    Reply
  • 8. Miriam Prantner  |  March 29, 2016 at 9:55 pm

    Those flowers look so striking! What a fantastic technique!

    Like

    Reply
  • 9. sathyakala  |  March 30, 2016 at 5:16 am

    Such fab technique. Absolutely love this πŸ™‚

    Like

    Reply
  • 10. mypapercraftworld  |  March 31, 2016 at 7:16 am

    Bold, dramatic and so striking, Keren … what a stunner! Anita πŸ™‚

    Like

    Reply
  • 11. Ros Crawford  |  March 31, 2016 at 11:00 am

    Saw this up on the SH blog and it’s fantastic! Really enjoyed seeing you the other day … Thinking of you and sending hugs

    Like

    Reply
  • 12. maria f.  |  April 4, 2016 at 8:51 pm

    I love your bouquet-up-top designs, and this one is just beautiful with those subdued hues.

    Like

    Reply
  • 13. Annie  |  April 5, 2016 at 11:53 am

    Oh! I must do this. I have this stamp set. Beautiful coloring you did there. Thank you for the inspiration!

    Like

    Reply
  • 14. Troy Louise  |  April 9, 2016 at 12:06 am

    Very neat card. Thanks for the explanation of how to color on the black cardstock.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,502 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


