Tied Up with Colour & Bad Chat up lines!

March 15, 2016 at 5:38 pm 4 comments

IMG_4468

Hi! I decided to pare it right back and just use stamps and ink.
You know, those good old days before we had Copics, patterned papers galore, watercolours, embossing paste and the rest.
Well, I was sorting through my stash and noticed this fabulous Paper Smooches set- which, you might be forgiven for not noticing amongst all the other loveliness in the Seven Hills Crafts store; it’s a hidden gem!
Equally lovely is the fact it’s on Special Offer..
ps_daddyyostamps-1

So, you might know that I like to promote the small stamps, the underdogs of the sets. Well, this tie is utterly brilliant for messing around with. Here’s the first one…a patterned creation.IMG_4475

You perhaps are wondering if it was a hassle cutting out the ties? Not at all- it’s a nice simple shape and cut out really quickly. I actually lined the shapes within the inch squares on my craft mat and then transferred the pattern using some sticky transfer tape that I use with my electronic cutter (saves trying to line it up again!).
For the inks- I’ve mostly used the My Favorite Things dye ink which is my latest fave.

mft_dyeink70_periwinkle
I’m picky about inks- they need to do 2 things; have great even coverage and dry the same tone as it is on the outside of the pad. I’m not a big fan of colours that dry much lighter than they stamp either.
These pads tick both boxes and are lovely colours!

You can see how they interlink- they remind me a little of chicken drumsticks!
I had some left over, so made this quick card too

IMG_4470

If you added more and more layers of ties, it would make a cracking flower! This set is obviously great for upcoming Father’s Day (in the UK) and also for male Birthdays.
Hope you check out this set and do try out the MFT inks.

IMG_4469

I have been jetting (ahem.. more like trudging) around the UK taking both of my eldest daughters to university visits. Some have been more successful than others.

This past weekend involved a round trip of over 500 miles to visit Plymouth, which is a coastal town in the South of the UK.

On our way down, amongst several ‘pit stops’ we had the good fortune to bump into an overenthusiastic sales boy who I seemed immune to his charms. I tell you this story simply to give you the heads up on what were possibly the worst chat up/compliment lines I’ve yet to hear.

As we passed said enthusiastic seller, we had two bags thrust into our hands. I was a little taken aback and we were ‘treated’ to a full onslaught of explanation interspersed with, lets call it ‘charm’.

‘Before I go any further, can I just check you’re over 16 (talking directly to my daughter)’ .

She nodded.

‘and her too?’ he nodded in my direction and flashed me a smile.

No- I did not think for a moment that he’d mistaken me for a slightly older sister, nor was I wondering if he needed a trip to Supersavers.

His charm offensive had fallen at the first hurdle. I am neither asleep nor stupid.

‘Well, I have this amazing bag, we have to get rid of them…’ blah blah blah.

I interjected,

‘How much is this going to cost?’

He ignored me and continued with the spiel.

I repeated the question in simpler terms

‘What’s the catch?’

He stopped mid sentence and flashed me a beamingly white smile.

‘The Catch?’ he said surprised.

‘The only catch around here is ME’.

At this point I was wishing for a virtual sick bucket. I smiled weakly as he grinned. He seemed overly pleased with the line, despite the fact that I was well aware we were probably the 100th set of females he’d used it on.

He didn’t stop for breath.

‘I like your Mum, she gets to the point’.

Yes, I was wishing that he would. After a few even more flabby compliments, I could stand it no longer.

‘How much is it?’ I asked exasperatedly.

‘well, blah blah blah, it’s discounted to £24.99 for this amazing concealer’.

Yes, that amazing concealer that looked like it would have been junk even for the local pound shop.

‘No thanks’ I stated firmly and with that, he literally whipped the bags out of our hands and turned straight away from us, obviously scanning for the next ‘victims’ to flatter.

We looked at each other, rather surprised by the speed that our fake flatterer had removed himself and the products. I grinned.

‘That was the cheesiest chat up line I have ever heard’. Heather agreed, although reckoned it was worth remembering for another comedic time!

So, service station salesboys- if you see me coming, don’t waste your words. I’m unlikely to fall for your charms!

 

See you soon, crafty friends!

xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Sliding into the week  Blackboard Technique Coloured Up!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. karensteele0873  |  March 15, 2016 at 5:57 pm

    What great ways to use that tie stamp – great cards! I liked your little story – you’re right – that was pure cheesey cheese Lol!!!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Ruth Andrews  |  March 15, 2016 at 5:58 pm

    I absolutely love your cards – you are an absolute genius with thinking of ways to use them – and I have been tempted by those inks. A few will be working their way to me soon I know it. And I chuckled whole heartedly at your cheesy chat up smooth salesman. I once had a similar when viewing flats many years ago. I nearly died laughing when he turned round and said to me, of an extremely small flat with no storage space ‘I’m not going to lie to you, Ruth, not going to lie to you, this is a fantastic place’. Legged it sharpish!! Xx

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Virginia L.  |  March 15, 2016 at 10:12 pm

    Brilliant as always! I will never look at the tie stamps the same way again! Love both versions! And now…that would have been ME asking exactly the same questions. I think “the charmer” underestimated how smart we 16-years old are!! He needs a new job! Thanks for the smile!

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. conil  |  March 16, 2016 at 8:48 pm

    Chessy salespeople aside (& let’s really put them aside) love what you did with these ties. Really ingenius layouts. As for your pal, sounds like he didn’t ever breathe during his spiel. I’m pretty immune to this kind of treatment myself, although…I did marry a salesperson, so maybe not.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,504 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


