Sliding into the week 

March 11, 2016 at 1:18 am 7 comments

Hi!

I realise I’ve been a little quiet, but posting that much last week meant I had to catch up with my ‘bread and butter’ crafting- the commissions that pay the bills ( well, a few of them!!) 

 We all need a little fun. Lightening up sometimes; 

those days where you might even climb UP a slide rather than down one.

These little animals are just having a ton of fun. I’m all for having fun with sets too.

Yes, this Mama Elephant ‘New Family’ is a baby themed set.

But don’t let that restrict you

 
It’s a really fun set. 

You just need to start not with the set, but with your imagination. 

 Just think of any scene and plonk the characters into it. I thought they’d have a laugh on a slide, so I simply googled a slide image, sketched it, coloured it in, cut it out and then took a long hard look at the set.

I could see that the animals could be turned in different directions and realised that to ‘hide’ some of the animals slightly behind the slide rim, I’d need a top layer raised with foam pads to keep the story believable ( ha ha!).

Once I’d positioned them on the slide, I looked again, saw the swags of foliage and thought it would soften the look plus give the idea of a more woodland playground.

  
Having been reading ‘The Faraway Tree’ (by Enid Blyton) yesterday, I don’t reckon this scene would look out of place!

I masked off half of one of the sentiments, so this set becomes even more adaptable. 

Hope you like my whimsical take on an animal playground. Go and have fun yourself; if you see a slide today I dare you to go up it the wrong way, or even just slide down it! 
Plenty coming up- I’m still traipsing around the country doing University visits with my eldest girls! ( oh for a private plane so I didn’t have to drive!!)

xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Clearly Besotted March Release Day! Tied Up with Colour & Bad Chat up lines!

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lisaerica  |  March 11, 2016 at 1:25 am

    Keren, so cute. I love your work, it’s always so different and you have such a great vision. Thanks for sharing and inspiring.

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Michele F  |  March 11, 2016 at 4:41 am

    LOVE it!!! I need to start with YOUR imagination like: what would Keren do? your imaginings are fantastic…
    =]

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Virginia L.  |  March 11, 2016 at 6:24 am

    You create with such MAGIC! Darling and original design all around! Enjoy the university tour with your eldest!

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Ruth Andrews  |  March 11, 2016 at 7:21 am

    This is fab! Always so inventive – it’s super cute and really shows how you can stretch stamp sets. Loved the Faraway Tree books – still have them and am hoping my eldest will get into them in a couple of years 🙂 xx

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Holly Saveur  |  March 11, 2016 at 7:48 am

    SUPER cute and sweet!!!

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Miriam Prantner  |  March 11, 2016 at 4:45 pm

    Too fun! I love the little fox on the big fox’s head!

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. conil  |  March 11, 2016 at 4:56 pm

    Seriously, you have to stop blowing my mind(I have so little of it left) with these fantastic and intricately engineered cards. Honestly, THE cutest thing I ever saw. Makes me want to go to the playground and do it myself. All the meticulous fussy cutting, brilliant construction. Aaaacck. I run out of words except to say, once again, you’re a genius.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,510 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


