PaperArtsy & Transfer Techniques

March 4, 2016 at 7:16 pm 8 comments

Hey! I should be over on the PaperArtsy blog tonight with two super simple transfer techniques- and no, I’m not talking about football/soccer or anything sport related!

Due to some delightful technological gremlins, I’m posting here in case those slightly slow but talented boffins can’t fix it tonight (and no, I’m not being rude about PaperArtsy- I mean the techie guys!!)

Tonight I’d like to share some really easy transfer techniques with you.

When I got to know which evening I’d be joining you, I needed to use some images from The Cat’s Meow range. Now, you’d be forgiven if this range wasn’t as familiar to you as some of the others..it’s one of those hidden gems that definitely needs a little love and because the images are not as complex as some that PaperArtsy have, I thought maybe I’d use some simpler transfer techniques too.

As the techniques are very straightforward, I’ve created 2 pieces, one for each. The first one makes good use of a slight shortcoming in the technique. The mirror technique creates a less than perfect mirror image and when I saw the CM-Ocean sea themed images, I knew the slightly fuzzy final image would be perfect

Step One: First, stamp the main image onto your cardstock. Next, stamp the image using the same ink onto an acrylic block. Then turn over the acrylic block and stamp below the first image so it looks like a reflection.

Step Two: Now it’s just a case of adding details and colour to give the impression of a stretch of water. I’ve used some Prismacolor pencils and rather than try and get a softer duplicated colour of the bird in the reflection, I’ve just left it blank; your eye magically ignores the fact that it should really have a little colour (or is that just wishful thinking on my part?!)

I love how packed the stamp sets are with tiny detailed images that really add lovely details. You can probably see the ‘salty water’ wording in the sea that gives the impression of the waves gently breaking and sea foam.

The second technique incorporates only glue and an old book.I chose a book with white pages so I could create as clean and simple design as possible.

Step One: Gather what you need- book, glue, bone folder and base cardstock. I’ve used the  fab CM-Cat set. You can also use Mod Podge or another substance that has great adhesive qualities.

The trick is to spread the adhesive evenly but thinly onto the book page strip.. Add your strip onto the cardstock and burnish down well. Remove the book page quickly after burnishing but do it carefully to leave as much of the image on the card as possible. If you want more of the page removing, add a few drops of water and gently rub the page away. Add colour and finish your project.

Transfer techniques need not be complicated or need many supplies.I hope you’ll give these simpler techniques a go and do have an explore through the Cat’s Meow section 

Thanks for joining me tonight,

Keren xx (Twitter, Instagram and Pinterest: @craftstampink )

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Clearly Besotted Teasers Day 4 Clearly Besotted March Release Day!

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ruth  |  March 4, 2016 at 7:31 pm

    Great techniques Keren, forgotten about the book text one, so effective. Hope the PA blog is up and running again soon. Ruth x

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. shabbyshedkaz  |  March 4, 2016 at 7:46 pm

    Great transfer techniques! I love the stamped block transfer its such a cool look and so simple xx

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Helen (stampingbyh)  |  March 4, 2016 at 7:47 pm

    love this effective transfer technique!

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Holly Saveur  |  March 4, 2016 at 8:12 pm

    Such great and fun cards!

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Lesley  |  March 4, 2016 at 9:30 pm

    These are both great Keren. Love the acrylic block technique for the reflection and thanks for pointing out the tiny wording in the ‘sea’. I hadn’t noticed that before! Love that little cat too! I think this would be a fab card to send to someone who’s feeling a bit down ‘cos he looks like he’s saying ‘Don’t worry, it’ll be ok!’.

    Hugs
    Lesley Xx

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. lucy Edmondson  |  March 5, 2016 at 12:03 am

    Brilliant ideas!

    Lucy x

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. Noguchi Etsuko  |  March 5, 2016 at 12:43 am

    Pretty cards, great techniques and beautiful projects. xx

    Like

    Reply
  • 8. conil  |  March 5, 2016 at 3:46 pm

    Oooh, oooh, oooh. A tutorial of two techniques from the grand master. The gull’s reflection is something I’ve seen before but never could pull off. Your method sounds a bit easier. And that transfer idea…stirs up all kinds of possibilities is my tiny brain. Hope I have some time to try them this weekend.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,510 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


