Unicorn Merry-Go-Round! 

February 24, 2016 at 12:53 pm 5 comments

  
Hi! Fancy a spin? 
There’s something incredibly nostalgic about fairs and I love seeing those ornately beautiful Carousels. That’s where I got the inspiration for this card..plus I wanted to combine two fabulous Mama Elephant sets.

Unicorns and Rainbows…that title is perfect right there!!  
and mixing it up with ‘New Family’ 

   So I started out with the whole idea of adding the New Family animals on the back of the horses. I needed the unicorns to look more like carousel horses so I masked off the manes as below and used the moon in the set to act as a saddle. 

 The ‘pole’ things (& yes, I did Google it but couldn’t find a proper name!!) were created using the little dashes and star and stamping opposite ways. Once you start with a theme and work out what you actually need to complete the picture, you can find similar shapes if you look hard enough! 

 It’s also a useful example of ‘suggestion’. I was trying to work out how to add the top and bottom and make it look realistically like ‘flying Jennies’ (another name for the Merry Go Round) but once I’d connected the riders and horses and poles, it was enough. The imagery is strong enough to suggest the scene- plus it’s less work for me too!!

Aren’t the unicorns a perfect blank canvas for ‘My Little Pony’ combos. Just mask off or trim the horn off- and they are the cutest little horses! 

This was posted yesterday on the Seven Hills Crafts blog.

Hope your day is a fun one, and you don’t feel like you’re going round in circles!

See you soon with a blog post  about the workshop I did recently with Tim Holtz. Yes- it was the best thing I’ve been to in ages!!! 
Keren xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Hard To Say Words and Fancy Folds! One Colour Wonder! 

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Michele F  |  February 24, 2016 at 1:13 pm

    Keren! Adorable, and genius! LOve how you’ve colored these Merry-go-round Unicorns with rainbow mane … and the riders are pretty cute, too!
    =]

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. conil  |  February 24, 2016 at 4:39 pm

    I alwaya feel like I’m going around in circles…but with these carousel unicorns at least it would be fun. Seriously, your skill at masking, coloring and brilliance at engineering scenes (read, poles using dashed and stars) knocks me flat. This card is very reminiscent of times at the fair. Honestly, one of my most treasured memories.

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. agakilbride  |  February 24, 2016 at 6:12 pm

    Cute card, well done

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Virginia L.  |  February 25, 2016 at 4:49 pm

    Isn’t this magical and enchanting or what!!? I love the coloring and how you positioned these images. Simply SUPERB, Keren! Can’t wait to hear about your fab time with T!M!

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Miriam Prantner  |  February 27, 2016 at 9:40 pm

    Fantastic masking and I love the rainbow colored hair!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,499 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


