A little more Concord & 9th! 

January 28, 2016 at 9:18 pm 12 comments

  
Hey everyone!

Thanks for visiting. Today I’ve a little more Concord & 9th. For those of you in the UK, the best place to purchase their lovely stamps and dies (& even paper!) is from Seven Hills Crafts. 

So, I’ve combined the Shine Brighter set again with the diesimg_3711img_3712

When making this card I had an accident. 

More precisely, my stamp set had an accident. I was going to stamp the light bulb and put the flowers in ( by masking them) and then I decided to die cut something. Unbeknownst to me, the bulb stamp had sucked itself into the cutting mat.

Yes, I did. I rollered the stamp partially through the machine. 

It was not pretty. The stamp was crushed within an inch of its life. More correctly, within 2mm, because that’s the depth a part of it ended up. 

Just an FYI. 

If you add intense pressure to a stamp, it is unlikely to stamp very well at the end of it. Just like crushing your finger in the machine and expecting to play Bach’s Prelude in C Minor no.2 ( which is my current music crush and I’m practicing it very hard!).

Anyhow. Brilliant customer service is alive and well. I emailed the lovely people at Concord & 9th explaining it was entirely my fault but please could I buy another light bulb. 

They sorted me out and were very kind. 

  
The card…I’ve coloured some vellum with Shin Han alcohol markers and then heat embossed the sentiment. 

The ‘watery bits’ were my good old Docrafts Artiste markers, which are so easy to ‘watercolour’ with. I just spread colour around quickly over the white embossed flowers. 

Was pretty easy, and didn’t take too long. The worst bit was the vellum curling under heat and I had to put it under weights overnight. 

Anyhow. Better go. I’ve got some really different releases coming up I’m involved with, so watch this space! 

Oh and I’m super chuffed to be the cover projects for both Crafts Beautiful and PaperCrafter mag this month! Do look out for them if you see them!

See you soon xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Seven Hills Crafts ‘We Appreciate You’ Blog Hop!  New PaperArtsy Release !

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Holly Saveur  |  January 28, 2016 at 9:19 pm

    super gorgeous!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Michele F  |  January 28, 2016 at 9:28 pm

    OH NO!! Sorry to hear about your mishap, but Keren, this card must make up for it … just breathtakingly beautiful!
    =]

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. conil  |  January 28, 2016 at 9:57 pm

    Ouch! Crushed stamps, never a good thing. But I must say you pulled this one out of the fire. Need someone to give me a bouquet like this. Also need someone to give me a brain that looks at light bulb and sees a vase. Brilliant…AGAIN. So among all your other talents, you play an instrument, as well. (*I feel soooo inadequate*). Congrats on your magazine gig. Well-deserved.

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Heather Mitchell  |  January 28, 2016 at 11:01 pm

    Another super beautiful make from you Keren. I love the muted tones of this card and the stamps are really unusual which I also love! Huge well done to you on being the cover maker of two mags this month… awesome lady! Heather x

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Virginia L.  |  January 29, 2016 at 5:01 am

    Love the light and airy look! You achieved this look with such finesse! I am glad that you are able to get the stamp accident issue resolved. I do play the piano ( yeah, we even have a grand piano). I need to play some! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. tsurutadesigns  |  January 29, 2016 at 2:19 pm

    ooooooooooohhhhhhh….lovely.

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. Jenny M  |  January 29, 2016 at 9:26 pm

    Love how you used the bulb as a vase… very trendy 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  • 8. Ruth Andrews  |  January 29, 2016 at 10:31 pm

    Oh no!!! What a tragic accident 😦 It’s always nice to hear about great customer service from stamp companies though. I love this card though – beautiful colours and the vellum in the vase really makes it look like water. Very clever!

    Like

    Reply
  • 9. Ros Crawford  |  January 31, 2016 at 12:52 pm

    Super card!! And many congrats on being a covergirl!!

    Like

    Reply
  • 10. Denise Fletcher  |  January 31, 2016 at 8:15 pm

    another cracker Keren! love the lightbulb!

    Like

    Reply
  • 11. Wendy Johnson  |  February 1, 2016 at 12:45 pm

    Sorry to hear about your mishap but it did make me laugh! I love the watercolouring. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

    Reply
  • 12. Judy Williams  |  June 18, 2016 at 8:36 pm

    Love your card Keren, great techniques!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,482 other followers

I’m designing for;

Design Teams

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Butterfly beauty- using new #paperbabestamps mdf portrait blanks and #pieridae butterfly set

Snail mail Invertage. Tunnel card type technique using #lawnfawn #gleefulgardenstamps

Need a bouquet that can't be squashed in the post? Check out the @sevenhillscrafts blog to see how to make one using the stunningly gorgeous @winnieandwalter #Addiesgarden blooms!! #bouquetcards

More Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


