Paperbabe Stamps New Release

November 18, 2015 at 10:00 am 4 comments

pbs3Hi! How are you? Today I’ve got something different to show you. The ever-so-lovely Kim Costello (artiste extraordinaire & owner of Paperbabe Stamps) asked me if I’d join in with showcasing their new release- which is a collection of fabulous templates and some new large and small stamp sets that work hand in hand with the templates.

I’ve created a little piece of art on a large wooden block (from an unmounted stamp back when I was a demo for a stamp company). This is how I began…pbs1

I laid out the template exactly where I wanted the face and body to be. Trace around the templates and decide which parts of the face/hair/body you want to see. Next, begin to paint in face, neck body and start to stamp the details in.

pbs2

I quite like it like that- actually I kinda wished I’d stopped there. But I continued. I borrowed some lips from the other mini sets- this one, the Doll Face Mini stamp set.il_570xn-637584912_fubk

Add in some highlights using pastel pencils and Posca paint pens.

pbs4

I had another go, this time with a card and using alcohol markers. 

 
I did the face in the upper right, a partial face. I was stuck as to how to finish it. I started adding the edges of the face template in, but the face seemed to want to be larger at the top. 

So I hit upon the idea of a snow queen and just added the suggestion of a fur lined hood and started to add in tiny Snow White shapes and even a touch of glitter. I was going for the whole Narnia look!  

 Once you start using your imagination, these stamps really come to life and if you’re not comfortable with paint, then pencils or Copics are just as easy ( if not easier) to get a great look with. Next I want to try watercolours with them! 

Hope you will go and visit the Paperbabe stamps blog for a good look at how to do justice to these stamps and templates properly 😉
I’m going over there to have a look at what the Design team has come up with!

See you tomorrow x

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Playful Pups Get Parquet & Go Ninja!  Christmas Elephants

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Terri Koszler  |  November 18, 2015 at 12:10 pm

    Lovely projects Keren, I also had fun working with them, they re so versatile x

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. massofhair  |  November 18, 2015 at 6:06 pm

    Ooooh absolutely fabulous Keren! I have just ordered the mini and portrait head and torso templates, i already have some of the others which i ordered in April. Unfortunately not had chance to work with them yet but hope to get started very soon.

    Wonderful inspiration as always 🙂 xxx

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Chris  |  November 18, 2015 at 10:30 pm

    Beautiful makes Keren and such gorgeous painting and and designs, I love your Narnia version, the hood is a master stroke, Chris x

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Ros Crawford  |  November 28, 2015 at 12:08 pm

    Holy moly girl you are a genius!! These are fabulous! Love the snow queen!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,448 other followers

I’m designing for;

Design Teams

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Butterfly beauty- using new #paperbabestamps mdf portrait blanks and #pieridae butterfly set

Snail mail Invertage. Tunnel card type technique using #lawnfawn #gleefulgardenstamps

Need a bouquet that can't be squashed in the post? Check out the @sevenhillscrafts blog to see how to make one using the stunningly gorgeous @winnieandwalter #Addiesgarden blooms!! #bouquetcards

More Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


