Playful Pups Get Parquet & Go Ninja! 

November 15, 2015 at 2:52 pm 13 comments

Hey. I haven’t shared this one yet and there’s another one being shared today over on Make The Day Special Stamp Store  

 I’ve been having fun with parquet..or more precisely, pretend parquet! I was looking at the Playful Pups set from Mama Elephant and I somehow had an idea for a room and then the easel card developed from there!  

I grabbed this pack of self adhesive wood sheets and trimmed out lengths and cut into tile shapes, then I just arranged them like a wooden floor  

To make the mirror, I just cut a rectangle of thin adhesive metal (plumbers tape) and stuck that onto a sheet of wood. It gives the illusion of a framed mirror without all the hassle! 

  The easel part is pretty straight forward, just a piece of cardstock, split into 3 not quite equal parts, scored and folded. Hopefully this photo makes more sense! 
 
You’re probably wondering how you’d get it into a card? Well, if you get a thin strip of acetate, fold it into a cube shape (4 sides plus a bit extra for adhering) and stick it to the back of the mirror and dog, it will actually fold flat(tish).

I’ve just used small pieces of left over paper to create the bunting. Stamp the sentiment and add on a little bell to make the dog look like he’s playing with it!

Hope you give this type of card a go, its so easy and is something a little different. Trying out a patterned wood floor was good fun too. I wish I could create a real life one on my kitchen floor!

The second card is for the current challenge which is a sketch challenge. Here’s the sketch 

 my card is using the back circle and focuses on the vertical lines of the tag…just use your imagination. 

Picture a dark scene …a scene from Mission Impossible. 

The music playing in the background is this http://youtu.be/XAYhNHhxN0A and deftly and silently ‘Ethan Woof’ and his two ninja friends swoop in to grab the Jewel. 

 Ha! 

It amused me no end. I wanted to give the illusion of laser lines too.  Just by colouring large portions of the dogs, they look like they’re disguised in black. The little dog even has his eye on the timer counting down too. 
One of my kids initially thought the poor pups were tied up. Fortunately they’re heroes! 

Do join in with the sketch challenge– there’s a voucher to be won! 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Checking in and Winners! Paperbabe Stamps New Release

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Michele F.  |  November 15, 2015 at 3:39 pm

    REally cute, Keren – LOve your parquet wood!
    =]

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. tsurutadesigns  |  November 15, 2015 at 4:02 pm

    You are just amazing.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  • 3. conil  |  November 15, 2015 at 4:43 pm

    Holy…there are not enough words in the English language (should have been bilingual). You keep doing this to me…creating amazing little vignettes with such incredible little details, I mean a parquet floor, laser beams and a digital timer. Are you kidding? What little mind I had left is splattered all over the walls of my craft area. Smoke is coming out of my ears and my mouth is hanging open like Carlsbad Caverns (this, however, is not unusual when I get to see your creations but I think my husband’s worried that it is becoming a permanent state). What all these words boil down to is your talent & imagination leaves me breathless & dumbstruck.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  • 4. karensteele0873  |  November 15, 2015 at 5:20 pm

    Fantastic projects Keren!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  • 5. Kara  |  November 15, 2015 at 5:57 pm

    so cool! love their cute black suits and that awesome floor!

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Cornelia (fun stamping)  |  November 15, 2015 at 7:24 pm

    You are one of the most brilliant card markers out there! Fabulous all over!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  • 7. Helen Gullett  |  November 15, 2015 at 9:21 pm

    They are super cute, Keren!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  • 8. Ros Crawford  |  November 16, 2015 at 1:05 pm

    You have an amazing imagination that translates superbly into stunning cards! Fabulous work Keren!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  • 9. mrs denise fletcher  |  November 16, 2015 at 5:17 pm

    Looking great Keren, l like both of these! Dx

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • 10. kerenbaker  |  November 16, 2015 at 5:28 pm

      Thanks Denise! How are you hon? x

      Like

      Reply
  • 11. Miriam Prantner  |  November 16, 2015 at 7:39 pm

    What cute cards! I really love that whole scene you created in the first one with the mirror and parquet!

    Like

    Reply
  • 12. Lisaerica  |  December 1, 2015 at 2:33 pm

    Hi Keren, Amazing! I ditto commenter #3 Conil. I love how much detail you put into your cards. Awesome, Awesome, Awesome! Can I ask where you bought that paper pack, I love the variety? Thanks for sharing and inspiring.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,487 other followers

I’m designing for;

Design Teams

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Butterfly beauty- using new #paperbabestamps mdf portrait blanks and #pieridae butterfly set

Snail mail Invertage. Tunnel card type technique using #lawnfawn #gleefulgardenstamps

Need a bouquet that can't be squashed in the post? Check out the @sevenhillscrafts blog to see how to make one using the stunningly gorgeous @winnieandwalter #Addiesgarden blooms!! #bouquetcards

More Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


