Winnie & Walter Leading Lady! Week One

October 3, 2015 at 12:00 pm 27 comments

Keren_oct2015

Hello!

I know…exciting right?! In case you were wondering, being a Leading Lady for Winnie & Walter is no small thing. Shay and Julie invited me a while back to come and guest with them in October.

I am really thrilled to be bringing some Winnie & Walter inspiration over on their blog each Saturday this month. Winnie & Walter do some really unique stamps- all very high quality polymer with some lovely flowy fonts. Their dies are just brilliant and it’s the dies I’m focussing on this week.

I decided to do some projects revolving around techniques with dies. Thing is, I got a little carried away, as one card literally led to another, and another… I was using up the leftovers from the previous card and it morphed into something a little unplanned. I’ll show you one of my projects and if you’d like to check out the other.. ahemm.. 4, do pop over.

photo 1-73 copy 11

This one was a little involved- but I just used 2 amazing dies.. Cover Model; Multifaceted Cutaway (even the names are delicious!) and also In A Word; Friend Cutaway.

Here’s a quick explanation of how I made it…

Die cut the Cover Model die in acetate to use as the stencil. Dab distress inks all over the stencil (on the reverse). Spray water over it and press the inked side onto a piece of cardstock. Using some kitchen towel, dab away any excess and leave to dry.

Next, die cut the friend die from black and also from a piece of cardstock with strips of coloured cardstock on. Die cut the Cover Model and assemble all together.

For more projects and a closer look, do go over to the blog

Now, one thing that Shay & Julie are (apart from dog lovers!) is super generous- I got so excited when I saw what they’d sent me. They also have really kindly given a $30 voucher for their store. That’s worth having by anyone’s standards.

All you have to do is leave a comment on any of the 4 blog posts over the next 4 Saturdays on this blog and this week tell me what topic or theme you’d love to see covered in a set of stamps. I’ll randomly pick a winner on October 31st and post their name on my blog on Sat Nov 1st.

Please go and visit the Winnie & Walter blog and next week I’ll be exploring using some of Winnie & Walter digital files alongside stamps and dies.

Thanks so much for visiting!

xx

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Clearly Besotted Teaser Time Day 3 Clearly Besotted October Release Teaser Time Day 4

27 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Linda F  |  October 3, 2015 at 3:02 pm

    Congrats on being the W&W leading lady. Great card – fun technique. I’d really like to see some masculine styled cards for birthdays

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  • 2. DAnn C  |  October 3, 2015 at 3:16 pm

    Love how you used the negative of this to make a tag over on W&W. But my fav was that GORGEOUS heart!!! A-Ma-ZING!! Looking forward to your future posts!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • 3. DAnn C  |  October 3, 2015 at 3:18 pm

      Forgot… I’d love to see an old-fashioned paper doll set with interchangeable clothes and pets, too. And, of course, dies to match.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  • 4. Diane  |  October 3, 2015 at 3:31 pm

    To say I’m blown away by your creations over at the W&W blog would be an understatement! My mouth is still hanging open from the stitching you did on the big “HI”!!! Every one of your creations is just outstanding! Can’t wait for next Saturday 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • 5. Diane  |  October 3, 2015 at 3:33 pm

      Forgot to say (I was too distracted by your beautiful cards, ha ha!), I’d like to see some baby themed stamps!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  • 6. conil  |  October 3, 2015 at 3:35 pm

    Holy Moley…so happy you’re this month’s Leading Lady because you really know how to do W&W’s products justice. Speaking of which, look at this absolutely breath-taking card. Snuck a peak at W&W’s blog, too. After I picked myself up off the floor, just had to tell you how impressive the array of cards you’ve made are…totally, jaw-dropping and innovative. Where do you find the time.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  • 7. Virginia L.  |  October 3, 2015 at 4:08 pm

    Absolutely BEAUTIFUL!! Adore this card so much! You are the perfect Leading Lady!! Congrats on the guest design, Keren!!

    Like

    Reply
  • 8. Miriam Prantner  |  October 3, 2015 at 4:48 pm

    Congratulations on the guest spot! Really excited to see what you have to share this month, you always wow me and this card is no exception!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  • 9. mypapercraftworld  |  October 3, 2015 at 5:36 pm

    Wow, Keren … what an awesome array of cards over at W&W … creative, original and so fun! This one is stunning … there again all the others are too! Congratulations on an amazing debut as Leading Lady! Anita 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  • 10. Crimson Owl Creations  |  October 3, 2015 at 7:16 pm

    Congratulations, Karen! I’m a big fan of Winnie & Walter and I just LOVE what you’ve done with their beautiful dies! You are super creative and your work always inspires!
    Take care!
    Michele

    Like

    Reply
  • 11. cmayne  |  October 3, 2015 at 8:01 pm

    WOW! Ingenious, imaginative and inspiring! You’ve showcased ways to use W&W in ways I’d never think of, with results that are breath-taken-away amazing! I’ll definitely be casing these…too gorgeous not to!
    ~c

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  • 12. ionabunny  |  October 3, 2015 at 11:09 pm

    Hi, love all the cards you posted over at W&W. I would like to see geometric shapes with different patterns. Hugz

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  • 13. SandiPressley  |  October 4, 2015 at 2:43 am

    Wow…..you are so very creative Keren….O love the cards you have made (I saw several of them on the W & W blog today) Thanks for the chance to win….I would love to see a set that is age appropriate for teen boys featuring video games, snow boarding and skateboarding.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  • 14. Ros Crawford  |  October 4, 2015 at 11:36 am

    Many congrats!! they couldn’t have picked a better person in my opinion! Fabulous card keren!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  • 15. Helen Gullett  |  October 4, 2015 at 12:58 pm

    Congratulations, Keren! Love to see your work with Winnie and Walter. This card is very beautiful and how creative you work with die cuts. THANK YOU for the inspiration. Looking forward to the next 3 weeks!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  • 16. Michele  |  October 4, 2015 at 4:21 pm

    Keren look: POOF! yes… mind totally blown!!! Your HI card? Absolutely brilliant!!! I will most definitely enjoy this month with you in the lead!
    =] Michele

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  • 17. Manda  |  October 5, 2015 at 2:31 am

    Beautiful cards – I love the way one thing led to another (especially all the beautiful ice creams) and you ended up with so many lovely creations! I’d love to see a summery set with lots of swimmers, beachy ideas and just sunny days in general!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  • 18. TracyM #6773  |  October 5, 2015 at 7:45 am

    CONGRATULATIONS on being the Winnie & Walter Leading Lady Keren!!!
    GREAT getting to know you 🙂
    WOW – you sure have shared a WORLD of WONDERFUL with us today, ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS colours, layers & designs, SO MANY EXCITING techniques too – LOVE your cards and LOVE your STYLE!!!
    Looking forward to seeing what you create to share next week, in the meantime I have plenty of techniques to try – THANK YOU for the CREATIVE INSPIRATION 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • 19. TracyM #6773  |  October 25, 2015 at 2:58 am

      SORRY Keren, I forgot to answer your question!!!
      Given that I mostly make birthday cards, a variety of birthday greetings for both inside and the front of cards would be great, especially for teens and younger kids. “just because” cards are high on my priority list too, so a variety of cheery and fun greetings in a variety of fonts and sizes would also be great 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      • 20. kerenbaker  |  October 29, 2015 at 10:34 am

        Ha ha! I’m just the same!!

        Like

  • 21. Pai Meng  |  October 6, 2015 at 9:06 pm

    What a start! 5 fantastic cards. can’t wait to see what else you come up with this month!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  • 22. Dr Sonia S V  |  October 8, 2015 at 12:42 pm

    I love seeing beautiful dies in card making and your card is awesome…any technique you cover is stamping is welcome

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  • 23. Liz mca  |  October 17, 2015 at 1:29 pm

    This is fun! I love those Winnie and Walter word dies

    Like

    Reply
  • 24. Eva  |  October 18, 2015 at 1:24 am

    Awesome!!! Your card is fabulous and really pretty! I love it!!! Thanks for sharing techniques with dies. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  • 25. Melissa Friedrich  |  October 18, 2015 at 5:25 am

    I love this technique to use the die as stencil for this cool coloring look! I’m always looking for thank you card ideas without florals or butterflies.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  • 26. Denise Bryant  |  October 24, 2015 at 5:29 pm

    Gorgeous card!
    I love Halloween, so I’d love to see some Halloween/ fall theme!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  • 27. Beatrice Lawson  |  October 31, 2015 at 1:22 pm

    I love your cards! Cant find a way to follow you on Bloglovin but I will be visiting your blog to admire your creations often:-)
    Would love to see some teen stamps – I often have to make birthday cards and while it;s relatively easy to find stamps suitable for girls, for boys, not so much.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,500 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


