A look at another day.

August 13, 2015 at 9:34 am 11 comments

Hey! I know you mostly see me post cards. But today I thought I’d share some projects I created recently for a good friend’s wedding.

She asked if I could organise the cake reception. It was only really supposed to be coordination of 300 odd cupcakes ( well they weren’t odd, but you know what I mean!)

They would only be there for an hour after the service, but I wanted to try and do something nice for them…something to brighten up the massive space in the church back hall.   

  That’s what it looked like once we’d finished with it. Isn’t it gorgeously bright. The groom’s family is Nigerian and so the wedding reflected that a little. 

See the cakes? Lots of people were baking them and I’d used this idea at another wedding previously, the idea to tie the cakes together with coloured wraps so they all looked similar.

 

Sizzix sold a wonderful cupcake wrap die. I sat with the brides lovely Auntie one evening and we cranked out over 300. I employed a bit of kid labour the next morning to finish with cutting and sticking! Not only did it pull the colour scheme together, it also signified the flavour.  

  Again, I used some Sizzix easel dies plus a Tim Holtz clip die to create the menu cards. 

The main shape is a Stampin’Up Top Note die. Yup, my table was a mess for a couple of days, I can tell you. The red cupcake wraps were funny- I used Lightning McQueen wrapping paper as it was a perfect shade for the wraps. Fortunately no one noticed as we were clever in the way we cut them!!

So – the chandeliers! 

Man- they took some circles!  This was the colour scheme- the bridesmaids all wore one of the colours. I just matched the colours as best as I could in cardstock

I initially had the idea that the bottoms of each string of circles would have a bird or shape stuck onto some white plastic garden  tags. But they looked odd and I didn’t need the weight as the cardstock weighed itself down sufficiently.   
I would not like to think how many circles I die cut and punched out. It will be into the 1000. Easily- as we punched ( me and Suzie) 100s of tiny ones out for confetti on the cake table too. 

  It was a case of measuring lengths of string, and following a colour scheme order starting with larger circles at the top and decreasing the size towards the bottom. For the base I used this..  
I was fortunate enough to have 3 Hula hoops around the house. I wrapped each one in ribbon and then tied each string to the top.

  
Yes- that’s a running machine. It came in very handy for the process. And yes, we do use it, it’s not just to hang clothes on! šŸ˜‰  

A few cakes later and I was ready for the day. We hung the ‘chandeliers’ on a clothes line suspended between two metal rafters and added some bunting. 

Unfortunately I wasn’t able to get any photos on the day- which was gutting, but the wedding was a wonderful day.  I even got a kid-free evening for me and Steve out of it. Bonus! šŸ˜‰

Hoping them much joy and happiness as they begin their married journey together. 

Hope you’ve enjoyed a little look into what else I get up to! 

What’s the best wedding you’ve been to and why? 

Keren x

   

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Hanging out with the Dogs ! Tricky Surfaces

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. karensteele0873  |  August 13, 2015 at 9:57 am

    Oh my word Keren this seems like it was a mammoth task! Punching out over a 1000 circles – phew! But so kind of you to do that for your friends and everything you did for them looked fab – I’m sure it was all very much appreciated šŸ™‚

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. tsurutadesigns  |  August 13, 2015 at 1:43 pm

    Aren’t you a super star….it looks amazing! such hard work but it totally shows and it turned out wonderfully!

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. conil  |  August 13, 2015 at 3:44 pm

    OMG. OMG. OMG. Girl, when do you sleep??? This is incredible. If you did sleep, you’d be seeing circles and cupcakes including their holders, in your dreams. I’m actually sitting her with my mouth hanging open. The results are so happy and heartfelt. How can you stand walking around with so much talent in one little body. WOW!

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. mags woodcock  |  August 13, 2015 at 5:28 pm

    These look amazing , great job. Love the sunny bright colours xx

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Bev  |  August 13, 2015 at 6:22 pm

    Looks like a lot of hard work, but well worth all the effort to brighten the start of your friends’ new life. Best wedding….hmmmm….as of late, I’d say my nephew’s wedding. My granddaughter got to dance with the bride, and she came running back to me, eyes all wide, out of breath, and gleaming. “Grandma!,” she said. “I got to dance with a princess!!!” I told my new niece, and it’s become a highlight of that very special day. Neither one of us has ever forgotten that.

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. craftytrog  |  August 13, 2015 at 6:28 pm

    Wow! Looks fabulous Keren…love those bright colours! xx

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. Bee  |  August 13, 2015 at 10:10 pm

    Wow, what a wonderful thing to do for your friends, can’t believe you made all the cupcake wraps! Loving the circle chandeliers too!

    Like

    Reply
  • 8. Miriam Prantner  |  August 14, 2015 at 2:37 am

    What a great friend you are! This was a LOT of work and it looks fantastic!

    Like

    Reply
  • 9. Roxy  |  August 14, 2015 at 2:40 am

    Wow beautiful love the colors … My what a huge job but also an honored one.. This will be in there picture book for ever. Love how the cupcake cover tie in with the flavors so clever. Lucky couple to have you on board:)

    Like

    Reply
  • 10. Jackie J  |  August 14, 2015 at 11:02 pm

    What a wonderful job you have made Keren, love the idea with the colours and flavours.. brilliant.

    Like

    Reply
  • 11. justtyra  |  August 19, 2015 at 7:06 pm

    Keren you rock!! This is awesome!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,496 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


