Hot Picks New Release

July 5, 2015 at 7:05 pm 7 comments

  
It’s an exciting day in the PaperArtsy calendar – a new release and not just a few sets either. 

Starting today, all the Hot Picks are being showcased- now PA haven’t done many of these eclectic sets recently, but have an amazing lineup that’s sure to tempt you. The rest of the week on the PaperArtsy blog sees all their other design labels strutting their stuff, so do go and see each night of this week.

Now Leandra gave us a colour scheme that might have been a challenge too far. I love brights, bold and white…

The colour scheme? Squid Ink ( a purple-y brown), French Roast ( brown), Nougat ( a cream), with a hint of Blush ( Pink) and Rose. 

No white, no bright, just subtle and understated. Goodness- I sat and stared at the beautiful stamps wondering quite how to do them justice. 

Can’t say I quite got the look I was looking for- wait until you see me unfettered 😋! If you want to see the stamp sets up close and detailed, pop over and have a nose. 

The main photo is a multi layered affair, layers of paint, stamping, and vellum them stamped binding etc. If you are a stamper you might not have done much stamping over paint. The Fresco paints are soooo smooooth that you can still get detailed clear stamping without worrying about the painty background. 

  I thought the colour scheme leant itself to the soft and subtle vellum, so added it to most of the projects. This one involved stamping on the card and onto the vellum, layering it at an angle to give a shadowed effect.

  

  This next one was fun- I wanted to link the faces together- time is a never ending stream right? 

  I simply used some connecting rings from my jewellery stash and only secured some of the clock faces so you can shake the card a little and it moves!

  This card looks quick and simple although it was anything but. The background was made with a stamp that’s got just two X’s . I got great use from my stamp positioner. The background took about 20 minutes to make! In order to make the front images come more to the foreground, I’ve added paint to the reverse of the vellum, so it blocks out the X’s – a nifty trick !!

  This last one just involved rotating one image 4 times- just get creative with your images- you need to when you’ve such a subtle and limited palette. 

  Phew! Aren’t all those images really interesting and I’ve not used all of the ones on the two stamp sets I’ve shown. Pop over and see other designers showing what they’ve done with these sets and others! 

See you next week with some unusual challenges! xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Experimenting.  One Die, Two Ways

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ruth  |  July 5, 2015 at 7:44 pm

    LOVE your samples Karen, CAS and the vintage palette are gorgeous, you’ve worked your magic! Ruth x

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. conil  |  July 5, 2015 at 8:06 pm

    Can I just say, WOW! If this is what you do with a non-favorite color palette, I really AM in trouble. There’s not a dud in the bunch. Didn’t know where to look first so simply stared at your brilliance. WOW, again!

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Astrid  |  July 5, 2015 at 9:31 pm

    Fantastic samples and how brilliant the way you used those stamps, colours and created fabulous CAS cards, stunning each one and I love how you used the vellum!

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Julie Lee  |  July 5, 2015 at 10:35 pm

    Wow, Keren, these samples are fantastic! I love how you ‘rocked’ these images and colours and made them your own. They are brilliant and utterly original! Well done you! xxx

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. joiatrr  |  July 6, 2015 at 1:06 pm

    Keren – these are all just FABULOUS but I LOVE LOVE LOVE your 18/20 creation. Being a full figured gal this stamp just brought a huge smile to my face and then to see your creation – IT IS PERFECT – completely WONDERFUL – ehehehehhe!!! All your others are just INCREDIBLE too but 18/20 is my fav!!! j.

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Ros Crawford  |  July 6, 2015 at 5:11 pm

    Brilliant!!!! Love them all and I really like how you did the clocks that you can shake!

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. Crimson Owl Creations  |  July 7, 2015 at 8:11 pm

    I love all these terrific cards! The color palette is so soft and subtle and they all look just beautiful!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,502 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


