Kim Costello & PaperBabe Stamps

June 28, 2015 at 8:19 pm 9 comments

 Hi! How are you? 

I had the utter joy of attending a class by the very artistically talented Kim Costello who has a stamp company called PaperBabe stamps. I’d not known about them until about 6 months ago but I was sent some of her face stamps for a commission- ooh and faces are HARD. 

Her stamps aren’t just about faces- but I’ve only had the face stamps. Here’s one I did a week or so ago 

  Anyhow- I travelled down to High Wycombe, setting off at 5am. Gulp

But it was so worth it. I did not believe I’d end up with anything like what Kim had created. We started off with a wooden block and covering with scraps of paper. We fixed them on with multi medium and then added a Gesso layer through a stencil.

     

Onto the templates that you can buy from PaperBabe stamps- these take all the hard work out of where to put body parts and where the parts of the face are positioned. 

As part of the day, we got the profile face stamp set 

  This set is just brilliant- and placing a particular type of mouth in a certain angle gives a different look. It’s fun trying to make the look you want.We stamped the face outline after careful measuring up with the hair. There are little placement markings that make it easy.   

Because it was all new- we had practice sheets for designs of the face and more importantly to practice the blending of the colours of the face.

This was one of the hardest things to get right. I’m not quite there with it- but it gets better with practice. The paints were lovely- as I don’t have any, I will be experimenting with my PaperArtsy Frescos. 

Here’s the face in progress.

   Now we had to add in the details. Because I’d positioned my stencilled Gesso right over her face, it couldn’t be easily stamped on, so I had to do it on some white paper and adhere it on.

 Now to the hair, which had a watered down Gesso layer first and we added details. We used these amazing oil pastels which are water soluble. Christmas list right here!! 

 Here’s a pic nearly at the end of the session. Still some details to fill in. and here are everyone’s together- all so very different and all really lovely. 

   It was a real treat and Kim taught us all really well. I so enjoyed being taught and not running the workshop!  

Do check out her shop – there’s some brilliant stamps that aren’t faces too! 

What’s the best workshop/class  you’ve been to? 

xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Rosemaling & Absences Origami Birds & Encouraging Words

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Virginia L.  |  June 28, 2015 at 8:32 pm

    Your class work is top-notch! I would find this VERY challenging! I love your result so much!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Sarah Gray  |  June 28, 2015 at 8:45 pm

    Wow, this is amazing Keren! I’m off to check out Kim’s stamps. I love the effect but it looks a bit daunting. The workshop sounds like it was a great experience 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • 3. kerenbaker  |  June 28, 2015 at 8:48 pm

      Sarah- I thought it was going to be- no way could I produce that- but the steps were broken down into manageable chunks- you’ve have gotten a similar end result ( but obviously different- because we all do things differently!) X

      Like

      Reply
  • 4. craftytrog  |  June 28, 2015 at 9:17 pm

    These are beautiful! xx

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. beaumama  |  June 28, 2015 at 11:18 pm

    Wow! These look terrific…as do the products you used.

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. tsurutadesigns  |  June 29, 2015 at 3:46 am

    WOW…so fun!

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. Florence  |  June 29, 2015 at 1:06 pm

    Wow! What fabulous makes Keren. The stamps and stencils look really interesting. tfs. Flo x

    Like

    Reply
  • 8. carolewaechtler  |  June 29, 2015 at 7:44 pm

    I’m so pleased you had a great day, I’ll be checking to see when her next class is! Off to visit her shop. Thanks for sharing Keren. C xxx

    Like

    Reply
  • 9. Paula W  |  July 4, 2015 at 3:53 pm

    Most envious – looks like it was a super class.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,491 other followers

I’m designing for;

Design Teams

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Butterfly beauty- using new #paperbabestamps mdf portrait blanks and #pieridae butterfly set

Snail mail Invertage. Tunnel card type technique using #lawnfawn #gleefulgardenstamps

Need a bouquet that can't be squashed in the post? Check out the @sevenhillscrafts blog to see how to make one using the stunningly gorgeous @winnieandwalter #Addiesgarden blooms!! #bouquetcards

More Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


