Friends or Superheroes with Super Strong Ears

June 16, 2015 at 10:31 pm 21 comments

Stay with me…the title will make sense..eventually.

First the sensical part ( is that even a word)? Simon Says Stamp has a challenge Monday and Wednesday.  

 This is for the Wednesday challenge and it’s themed ‘Friends or Superheroes’ . There’s an extra focus on Mama Elephant so I decided to put the ‘Playful Pups’ to work. 

 

On the off-chance that you’re all wondering- they’re hanging off a string that’s held in place by superbly concentrated helium contained in a balloon and the pups are trying to make their way up to the bone. 

Obviously the bone is far more tempting than the food in their bowl which is proving highly useful in grounding them all. 

I realise I have a strange brain. Even I looked at it and wondered quite how I’d imagined such a scene. 

Here’s the doggies in full  

  

If you join in the Simon Says Stamp challenge before the closing deadline of tomorrow- there’s a $50 voucher for the store on offer to a randomly picked winner. 

I showed this card to my daughter…the one whose love for animals definitely extends past the affection she has for most humankind. She stared in shock at the card.

I asked her if she could work out what was happening- because I appreciate that not all of my ideas are as obvious to others as they are to me. 

‘Are you telling me that that poor dog is holding onto the rope by his ear?  


If you look carefully, he does seem to have super strength ears. I assured her that dog was indeed fine- and if she glanced more carefully she’d in fact notice that the dexterous doggie was also gripping onto the rope with two of his claws πŸ˜‰. 

She was unimpressed by my explanation and shot me a withering glance. If it was me stuck up a rope about to fall from a height and a pooch, you can probably guess who’d be rescued first.

To be fair it’s unlikely there’d be a helium concentration nor a thick enough latex balloon strong enough to dangle me mid-air. Nor would I be likely to be wrestling with rope in order to reach a new bone. A cake perhaps, or even a new set of stamps πŸ˜‹.

I doubt my ears are strong enough to even grip a length of twine but it would make a fun party game! 

Enough silliness. Hope you enjoy another daft card. One of these days I might just make something terribly sensible ( but where would the fun be in that!).

I’m also entering this into the Mama Elephant White Space Flickr challenge!

See you soon, 

xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

For The Fellas & Toilet Roll Congrats Card & Just Talk Quicker

21 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ann  |  June 16, 2015 at 10:54 pm

    I think your card is delightfully whimsical, Karen! And who says we can’t take liberties with “reality”‘in our card making?! My husband will say the same sort of thing to me… I say–stretch the “truth” and defy gravity!! It’s FUN and adds an element of surprise, which is exactly what your card does! “Ears” to you!!

    Like

    Reply
    • 2. kerenbaker  |  June 18, 2015 at 8:50 pm

      Thankyou! Yes- I love that argument. Definitely need to take more liberties!! x

      Like

      Reply
  • 3. beaumama  |  June 16, 2015 at 11:05 pm

    Seriously…hilarious. I don’t know wher you get your ideas but when you find out could you share it with us in the blogosphere. Withering glance aside, I think it’s complete adorable.

    Like

    Reply
    • 4. kerenbaker  |  June 18, 2015 at 8:50 pm

      I have no idea really either. Maybe someone will solve that for me one day. I suspect it’s a combination of exhaustion, 5 kids and a need to create!! πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  • 5. Virginia L.  |  June 16, 2015 at 11:20 pm

    Oh my goodness. how seriously cute is this. You have rocked with these stamps, Keren! Thanks so much for playing Simon Says Stamp Wednesday β€œFriends/Super Hero” Challenge! LOVE your inspiring work!

    Like

    Reply
    • 6. kerenbaker  |  June 18, 2015 at 8:51 pm

      Hey! Thanks! I loved creating for a fun challenge! x

      Like

      Reply
  • 7. thepaperbaker  |  June 16, 2015 at 11:39 pm

    Super cute card! Love how you made the balloon go off the end of the card. Great job on your coloring too! Thank you for sharing your talents πŸ™‚

    Like

    Reply
    • 8. kerenbaker  |  June 18, 2015 at 8:52 pm

      Thanks! The truth? The card was too long to fit the balloon on! πŸ˜‰ happy accidents and all that! x

      Like

      Reply
  • 9. Miriam Prantner  |  June 16, 2015 at 11:56 pm

    Ha! I think it’s hilarious and also funny that there are such realists at your house πŸ˜‰

    Like

    Reply
    • 10. kerenbaker  |  June 18, 2015 at 8:53 pm

      I think it would be nice to have more ‘romantics’ than realists sometimes! πŸ˜‰

      Like

      Reply
  • 11. quilterlin  |  June 17, 2015 at 12:00 am

    Oh my goodness, how cute is this?! Your coloring and design are wonderful, Keren, thanks for sharing this with us at the Simon Says Stamp Wednesday challenge this week! I enjoyed your musings on this post, too, made me smile!

    Like

    Reply
    • 12. kerenbaker  |  June 18, 2015 at 8:53 pm

      Thanks Lin! I had great fun creating this one and joining in! x

      Like

      Reply
  • 13. karensteele0873  |  June 17, 2015 at 8:08 am

    Ha ha! Lol! You do make me laugh! This is such a sweet card, those pups are so cute and the one with the strong ears is a definite contender for ‘Britain’s Got Talent’ next year – what a skill! πŸ™‚

    Like

    Reply
    • 14. kerenbaker  |  June 18, 2015 at 8:54 pm

      Glad to make you smile! And yes- if only the talent actually existed!!

      Like

      Reply
  • 15. Ros Crawford  |  June 17, 2015 at 10:00 am

    Well you know I am a huge dog lover (read that any way you want) and I think your card is terrific! I only wish I had a little of you imagination …

    Like

    Reply
    • 16. kerenbaker  |  June 18, 2015 at 8:54 pm

      Ros Crawford- you have a ton of imagination- it’s just not as weird as mine! πŸ˜‹

      Like

      Reply
  • 17. Florence  |  June 17, 2015 at 11:48 am

    Adorable! x

    Like

    Reply
  • 19. Bev Kastman Buenker  |  June 17, 2015 at 4:20 pm

    Actually, I love the way your brain works! This card is just too much fun! Those ‘super’ pups are fantastic and soooo strong. It made me smile today. : )

    Like

    Reply
    • 20. kerenbaker  |  June 18, 2015 at 8:55 pm

      Ha! You’re a wonderful encourager! I need to hang around with more people like you! x

      Like

      Reply
  • 21. Roxy  |  June 19, 2015 at 6:59 am

    Keep up the fun and you ever so clever sense of humor you r such a talented woman

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,448 other followers

I’m designing for;

Design Teams

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Butterfly beauty- using new #paperbabestamps mdf portrait blanks and #pieridae butterfly set

Snail mail Invertage. Tunnel card type technique using #lawnfawn #gleefulgardenstamps

Need a bouquet that can't be squashed in the post? Check out the @sevenhillscrafts blog to see how to make one using the stunningly gorgeous @winnieandwalter #Addiesgarden blooms!! #bouquetcards

More Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


