Painty Tag & Cash Converters!

May 11, 2015 at 8:04 pm 12 comments

butterorangeHi! Hope you had a lovely weekend.

This weekend I was at Port Sunlight for the Happy Stampers Festival. Yes, I know it’s an unusual name, but it’s probably the best stamping show in the UK because it’s a speciality show. Amongst the exhibitors was of course Paper Artsy and I picked up a stencil designed by Mr PaperArtsy himself- see the embossing paste numbers? I’ve simply used Grunge Paste over the stencils once I’d created a painty background using Frescos in Opaque, Semi-opaque and Translucents so you could see hints of the colours beneath and gives a depth of colour rather than just one flat tone.

We all know that going to events like that can be hard on your bank balance. Well mine had warned me, in no uncertain terms, that it wouldn’t be standing many purchases. As I work in this industry and needed a whole lot of things replacing (like the mountain of cardstock I get through), I decided to be creative.

I’d already sold my Stampin’Up! old stash and thus sorted out my sons school trip. I looked around to find things I just didn’t use anymore. The kids also jumped on the ‘purging’ bandwagon. I ended up taking my old accordion. I had been bought it by my Mum and Dad over 20 years ago and whilst I enjoyed it and spent many hours playing it, I could hardly lift it and certainly, my back couldn’t cope with the substantial weight of a 120 bass!

Turns out, this type of accordion is not worth very much- but, undeterred I did some research and Cash Converters agreed to buy it.

I lugged this beast of a squeezebox in the pouring rain to the store.

A slightly amused man behind the glass screen greeted me.

Turns out, he wasn’t very keen to take it on. My daughter had offloaded her ukulele onto me, and he was more interested in that.

‘Accordions are hard to shift’ he mused. I remained silent and hoped my slightly bedraggled smile would persuade him. After some deliberating and searching on the internet to work out what he’d give me, he turned his attention to the ukulele.

‘Do you play it’ he wondered? Not the ukulele I explained. He gave me a superb price that I knew would thrill my teen and then it all got increasingly awkward.

The girl next to me had been struggling to get an item of hers returned and was slightly intrigued by my instrument and kept looking over. As did the other 2 female assistants behind the glass window.

‘Where did you get it from?’ he posed ‘Can you  play it?’

‘Yes’ I replied somewhat hesitantly.

‘Can you play it?’ said he, with an amused look on his face. ‘We have to know that it plays’.

I began to get it out of its case. It’s a little while since I played it, and began to heave the straps onto my shoulders. Inside I was dying a little. It’s hardly the coolest instrument and I had to give an impromptu performance much to the ‘delight’ of Cash Converters captive audience.

I gave the shortest rendition possible, trying to appear nonchalant whilst the whole of me turned a shade of red to rival any tomato. I ushered it away and he came to collect it from behind the screen.

‘Watch the locks, ‘ I warned ‘they can sometimes come a little undone’. He seemed surprised as he tried to lift the case. I teased ‘it’s heavy isn’t it?!’. He lumped it towards the door, grimacing slightly. ‘If that was a test of your manhood, you might have just failed’ I quipped. The girls laughed and then I remembered I’d yet to receive the money so thought I’d better keep my jokes to myself.

‘Now I need to take a photo of you’ he grinned.

‘Sorry?’

‘I have to take a picture of you in case there’s any problem as to where these goods have come from’.

‘Ah yes,’ I retorted, ‘I nicked this instrument, one of the heaviest known to man, dragged it round to this shop in the pouring rain and managed to learn to play it in record time in order to cover my tracks!’.

By this point we were all smiling. The embarrassing busking moment was forgotten (albeit not by me!). The nice lady next to me was happy as they’d managed to find her temporarily lost laptop. He finally handed the money over.

I legged it out of that shop as fast as my dripping jean clad legs could carry me.

Humiliation complete.

It is fair to say that I earned that cardstock and stamps that I bought from the craft fair. I will NOT be making another trip to that shop in a hurry, or, at least, not without a disguise!

See you when I’ve regained my self-respect! xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Recaps & Electing Playful Pups & The Other One

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. beaumama  |  May 11, 2015 at 8:15 pm

    Well, you don’t have to disguise this awesome tag. That layered color with that great stencil make it fairly sing. Have to say the story behind your purchases had me rolling on the floor laughing. Glad to hear you made it out of there with cash in hand.

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. karensteele0873  |  May 11, 2015 at 8:25 pm

    LOL!!! That’s funny Keren – though not so for you!!! Glad they took it off your hands after all that! This tag is great by the way – must get some embossing paste……

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Virginia L.  |  May 11, 2015 at 8:43 pm

    Wish I were in the shop as a wallflower….when you played the accordion πŸ™‚ You SOLD it, that’s what it counts! I love the stencil paste numbers…they look so cool with that butterfly! Thanks for the smile, Keren!

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. vickiscraft  |  May 11, 2015 at 8:50 pm

    Haha…….you are so funny and brave I might add! πŸ˜‰ xx

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Ingrid  |  May 11, 2015 at 9:28 pm

    Lol! Just what I needed.. How funny! Loved reading your post today! Thank you making me smile today!
    Your tag looks fantastic too! Great colour choices. Xx

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Monika  |  May 11, 2015 at 10:23 pm

    Hope the card stock was worth it! Would have liked to be a fly on the wall though…. πŸ˜€ Great tag by the way. Need to get some of these PaperArtsy paints. The shopping list for October’s Happy Stamper’s Festival is already getting longer by the minute …. ☺ xxx

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. massofhair  |  May 12, 2015 at 12:03 am

    You are one brave lady Keren Baker, how much did that guy enjoy making you squirm!

    Glad you made it to Port Sunlight, it definitely is THE best show in the UK, am looking forward to the October show very much.

    Your Tag is wonderful, love the pop of blue ribbon and your flutterby is fab:-) xxx

    Like

    Reply
  • 8. Roxy  |  May 12, 2015 at 12:25 am

    Wow your tag is beautiful your story made me laugh and turn red for you and the I thought wow this woman is full of all sorts of Talent:)

    Like

    Reply
  • 9. Crimson Owl Creations  |  May 12, 2015 at 1:31 am

    I really like this project! The colors are just so perfect together! Funny story too! I love hearing about life in the U.K.! Makes me want to visit!

    Like

    Reply
  • 10. Ros Crawford  |  May 12, 2015 at 11:56 am

    You so made me laugh with your story … You’ve got a lot of bottle! Bravo to you!
    Lovely tag Keren … I must visit that show sometime … I never know when it is on

    Like

    Reply
  • 11. Miriam Prantner  |  May 12, 2015 at 3:46 pm

    I love the painted background on the tag and your story is too funny…the things we do for new supplies….

    Like

    Reply
  • 12. Bev  |  May 13, 2015 at 1:33 am

    You know, your writing is publishing good. Seriously. You’d probably make enough cash to fund your papercrafting addiction (and don’t we all have that, lol?!) forever! You should give it a go! I always enjoy the posts you craft. And your tag is magnificent. Those colors are bright and bold, tempered by that sweet soft butterfly. Love it!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,447 other followers

I’m designing for;

Design Teams

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Butterfly beauty- using new #paperbabestamps mdf portrait blanks and #pieridae butterfly set

Snail mail Invertage. Tunnel card type technique using #lawnfawn #gleefulgardenstamps

Need a bouquet that can't be squashed in the post? Check out the @sevenhillscrafts blog to see how to make one using the stunningly gorgeous @winnieandwalter #Addiesgarden blooms!! #bouquetcards

More Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


