More Stamping Contrasts- Die Cutting

April 25, 2015 at 2:48 pm 7 comments

  Hi! 

I promise you’ll have a break from me for a day or two! Just needed to post the last Stamping Contrast from Make The Day Special Stamp Store blog. The lovely Julia Altermann who is a real fun and talented teamie produced a gorgeous misted,layered and embossed creation here.

We were playing around with the Fresh Cut Florals set and matching dies 

  
I always like to try and do things differently- this one was a labour of love. Over 40 little leaf diecuts. I saw the leaves and immediately thought they’d be wonderful petals. 

I drew a circle onto some card and starting with the darker colours stamped each of the matching die cut pieces with ink and the matching lead vein too.

Amazing how by using non leaf colours, it’s hard to tell they were originally leaves! After bending each petal and sticking them around the pencilled circle, I added the previous layer’s colour as the colour for the next vein and just gradually added each layer of leaves. 

Once filled in I added a flower as the centre and then traced around the edges of the petals and cut out leaving a straight central piece.

I die cut the ‘happy’ twice, mimicking the flower stem as one was cut in green and used as a shadow. I then mounted it on an acetate tent base and added washi tape to accent the edges.

By using grey ( it’s even a Christmas tree tape, but you’d never know) it doesn’t detract from the flower but still gives the edges a little grounding.    

Finish with a green swirly dashed line to add movement and it’s done!

I loved this challenge – and it seems lots of the blog readers have too. If you’ve been inspired by any of the contrasts, there’s a linky and there’s even a chance of a small prize too!

Better let you enjoy your weekend!

See you next week.. xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Watercolouring Challenge with Avery Elle! Add A Little Dazzle Design Team Last Hurrah! 

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. beaumama  |  April 25, 2015 at 3:18 pm

    Are you kidding me! Talk about stretching your stamps. Totally gorgeous. Amazing dimension and texture…brilliant use of washi.

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. karensteele0873  |  April 25, 2015 at 5:34 pm

    The flower is simply stunning – there’s so much dimension!

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. roxy  |  April 25, 2015 at 6:32 pm

    Wow Karen this is incredible unique and beautiful I agree talk about stretching your stamps you are amazingly talented

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Ang  |  April 25, 2015 at 6:58 pm

    What a great use of the dies. I love it!
    thanks for sharing.
    Ang

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Ros Crawford  |  April 26, 2015 at 11:34 am

    Amazing! What more can I say…..

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Miriam Prantner  |  April 26, 2015 at 9:34 pm

    Wow! That is a lot of die cutting but well worth it! Fantastic dimension, what a gorgeous flower you created!

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. Julia Altermann (@icraftthings)  |  May 1, 2015 at 7:54 pm

    Thanks so much for teaming up with me, Keren! Thanks also for agreeing to my crazy idea to switch sets in between 🙂 you really inspired me and helped me create a better card. And my apologies for not commenting any sooner, I couldn’t really type in the past week and now I finally got my dictation software up and running 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,504 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


