New Stamps & Homework!

February 23, 2015 at 7:28 pm 8 comments

IMG_7554
Hi! Hope you’re ok!
So wish I could show you some of the fun stuff I’ve been making- but you’ll have to do with this!
I do enjoy finding new companies. This one certainly isn’t- Crafters Companion. I think I’d pigeon-holed them in a certain type/style and so I was intrigued when I saw these.

IMG_7560

IMG_7559
They’re lovely for layering- I’ve simply stamped, then stamped and embossed, added some faux-watercolour then splatters of ink and stamped on acetate, done some ‘rock and roll’ stamping and some more embossing.

IMG_7555
One of these is out of stock- but you can purchase them from here and it’s well worth taking a peek! They’re Unmounted and A6 size but unmounted isn’t a problem- I’ve got one of those sticky mats on a large acrylic block- it saves mounting all the stamps and you get them cheaper because they haven’t extra product on!

We’re back at school.
Boo.
This week we had a lot of homework. I say ‘we’ legitimately.
One child had 9 books. Yes, 9.
That’s not a typo.
Turns out he’d not read the previous 4 so got another 5.
We didn’t quite manage the 9 because of another bit of his homework…making a 3D model of the island he’d designed.
3D- it strikes fear into the hearts of most. I don’t like it simply because he finds it hard. I have to reign myself in- can you imagine? Being asked to create a 3D island?!
Fun!
Instead..I let him do it..save for a couple of little matchstick houses that he wanted but couldn’t quite manage. To be honest I found them tricky.
Here’s what we ended up with

IMG_7417 I was really proud of him but he wasn’t impressed and told me others models would be much better. To be fair, he’s probably right but that’s often due to tons of parental input. I just want him to be satisfied he’d done his best.
He doesn’t stay down and frustrated for long. I asked him how he’d done at school today.
This was his reply.
“I’m very very fat and I’m also very good at maths”.
( he’s not fat despite his insistence) and he did make us all laugh!

See you soon when I’ve found homes for a ridiculous amount of craft gear that I’ve got rid of out of my bursting at the seams room.
The floorboards are thanking me!! 😉

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Crafts Beautiful Roundup! PaperArtsy Miniature Art!

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. conil  |  February 23, 2015 at 8:21 pm

    Let me just say, “What a terrific card…just fantastic layering. It’s AWESOME. I think your son is a little hard on himself. Considering he did this by himself without an intrusive parent, he aced it! Good for him.

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Miriam Prantner  |  February 24, 2015 at 3:34 am

    Loving that stamping and embossing on the card, a little soft, but also a little grungy! Your sun cracks me up!

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. susanmaryking  |  February 24, 2015 at 10:34 am

    Keren where can I get these stamps from please? Clicked on ‘here’ but just got enlarged picture of your card? Sorry to bother you Hug and love Sue King xx

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Sue Brannan  |  February 24, 2015 at 12:03 pm

    Love the CaS lines of this card Keren and the colours and added extras are great, haha I just clicked on the ‘calling all Liverpool crafters’ link on this page to find it was many many moons ago, ha thought I was going to have a lovely crafty couple of hours with you! ..I have just had my first showcased card…now I know a little how you must feel every day so proud of myself..its here if you would like to take a peek http://dreamywhitenavyblue.blogspot.ae/2015/02/one-layer-love.html

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. tsurutadesigns  |  February 24, 2015 at 1:13 pm

    your card is STUNNING…I adore it.
    Your kids are awesome.

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. Ros Crawford  |  February 24, 2015 at 1:55 pm

    Love how you used those stamps … fabulous card and Well done to your son … It’s the taking part that matters!

    Like

    Reply
  • 8. Bev  |  February 24, 2015 at 7:39 pm

    I’d have passed these stamps right by…my silly brain wouldn’t have known what to do with them! Not now…LOVE what you’ve done. And you’ve captured my brain’s attention and it’s seen the possibilities. Thanks! I used to make my kids do their own work too. I’d help if needed, but never did it for them – so, good for you and the little guy! I’d tell my boys that I had done my schoolwork, and now it was their turn. I was always there, like you are, if help was needed. “..very, very fat and also good at maths…” What a hoot! Boys are so funny! Have a good week.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,499 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


