Eggs & Bacon Anyone?

February 3, 2015 at 1:48 pm 2 comments

bacon1Hi! Are you hungry?

I felt quite peckish after I’d created this card- even though the only time you could persuade me to partake of a cooked breakfast would be on holiday.. and even then, I’d have to be seriously hungry.

Over at Make The Day Special Stamp Store we’ve got a new Brand.. Reverse Confetti, which might be a new stamp company to some of you.

I started playing with a couple of dies- when I saw the Doin’ The Wave die, it said ‘bacon’ to me immediately

One of the brilliant things about this die, is that each wave is equal, so it means you change the order of the waves to stack them- and I’ve used them simply in the background too.

For the bacon I used white cardstock and coloured it with an unusual combination of WPlus9 OldGold ink & Plumberry Mama Elephant ink. To get the texture, I gently dabbed a nearly dry babywipe onto the ink pad and smeared the ink onto the cardstock. Because there’s a little wetness on the wipe, it’s a quick and easy way to spread ink. Once I’d got a combination I was happy with, I gently bent the bacon to give it a look of the real McCoy and then added a little Glossy Accents (for the glistening fat look!..yumm!). Before the Glossy Accents dried, I dabbed the babywipe back onto it, to stop it looking too uniform.

I was then hunting for an ‘egg’ shape and came across the Donut You Know dies set. Perfect- see the ‘icing’ and the circle?

I cut out two egg outers and 4 little circles and stacked them on each other. I used the end of a paintbrush to add the speckles onto the egg and inked the edges and completed it with a layer of Glossy Accents on the ‘yolk’.


For the wording I used another Reverse Confetti set.. Donut You KnowCute huh? I used the bottom of one of the sentiments and can’t wait to actually make a doughnut with them!
bacon2
All this doughnut/ donut talk is making me hungry!

I’ll be back after 7pm with a little look at the brand new PaperArtsy release- out today!!

On the family front I’m enjoying a new release of ‘quiet’ during the morning school run. The morning dash is always preferable to the afternoon, a) because there’s only 2 of them and b) they’re fresh and ‘fun’ (ha ha ha) because they’re not worn out after a long day at school).

I picked up a ‘Space Technology’ Top Trumps from Tesco yesterday for 50pence.

Best 50p I’ve spent in a long time!

There was relative harmony. Apart from a long running conversation involving ‘economic value’ versus ‘monetary value’ and such like, it kept them totally entertained for the entire journey. I listened to the radio in peace.

Not many morning can be described as ‘peaceful’ in any way, shape or form. Let’s see how the afternoon run goes when the big sisters are introduced to the equation?!

See you soon (after I’ve had lunch of course)

xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Dazzling Diva Challenge #60 PaperArtsy 2015 Release Week

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. conil  |  February 3, 2015 at 3:33 pm

    Though not a breakfast eater myself unless it’s after 11AM, I was immediately salivating over this card.It’s brilliant…especially how you colored that bacon. Looks yummy. Hope your lunch was satisfying and the equations weren’t too difficult for your daughter.

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Miriam Prantner  |  February 3, 2015 at 5:10 pm

    That bacon looks amazing! Good enough to eat!!!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,486 other followers

I’m designing for;

Design Teams

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Butterfly beauty- using new #paperbabestamps mdf portrait blanks and #pieridae butterfly set

Snail mail Invertage. Tunnel card type technique using #lawnfawn #gleefulgardenstamps

Need a bouquet that can't be squashed in the post? Check out the @sevenhillscrafts blog to see how to make one using the stunningly gorgeous @winnieandwalter #Addiesgarden blooms!! #bouquetcards

More Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


