Winter Dreams & Brussel Sprouts!

November 18, 2014 at 12:44 pm 10 comments

lawn fawn

Hi! Apologies for the random previous post! It’s another post that should have been for today but will come up later in the week. Additional apologies for lack of posting. I’ve been producing a ton of stuff- except I can’t post it for a while.

Today’s my Make The Day Special day over at the stamp store. We’re doing full on Christmas and this is what I came up with using a set I’ve not used much in a while. I wanted to make a pretty much one layer card (other than the twine) and used the Critters in The Snow setTo create this card I stamped & coloured the images in first. Adding some masked deers over the first ones that I’d stamped. Then I coloured in with a Versamark embossing pen & sprinkled clear embossing powder over and heated to set.1Granted, you lose a little of the detail of the coloured images once embossed but you need to emboss it to provide the resist for the Distress inks coming up next! I next cut out a circle from a post-it note and added some repositionable glue as I knew that once I began to add ink, the motion of the applicator might flick up the non glued parts of the post-it note up.2Next, I added Squeezed Lemonade, Weathered Wood, Broken China, Peacock Feathers, Faded Jeans & Seedless Preserves (in that order), radiating outwards from the circle mask. I flicked some water onto the piece for depth and added a load of mini silver stars I’d found languishing at the bottom of a jewellery making box.

4For some bizarre reason- some of the embossing went pimply- like the poor deer has a severe case of cellulite, and the other deer was blessed with a somewhat smoother body!! If anyone knows what happened, please let me know!!

 

I am busy readying things for littliests Birthday tomorrow. Yesterday I took my eldest to hand in a CV at a place where our neighbour works and said there were jobs going. There’s a teeny Marks & Spencer unit at the train station where the potential job is. For my US & overseas friends, Marks & Spencer (or M&S as it’s known) is a higher end clothing and food store. We popped in and found these!!brssI could see tons of crafty possibilities in them ( they’ve ‘clementines’ as well) and got a little packet for Will. This morning he was asking what I’d got him for his Birthday.

Big mistake.

I thought I’d mess with him a little.

‘Brussel sprouts’ I said cheekily.

‘Pardon? what?’ he asked.

I repeated myself ‘Brussel Sprouts’.

He looked like he didn’t believe me.

‘Go and ask Suzie’, I replied, ‘she was with me when I bought them’.

I shouted to Suzie only to answer his question and not give him any more information.

He came back looking cross.

Son no.1 now decided to have a quiet word with me.

‘Mum, you didn’t really buy him sprouts did you?’.

‘Yes, I really did’, I smiled.

‘Mum, that’s not funny, you shouldn’t mess with him’.

‘But I did really buy him a packet of sprouts’.

At this point, Son no.2 is beginning a full scale melt down. I’m not sure whether he understood that the vegetable gift was not all I had purchased for him, or whether he was disgusted and he couldn’t take it. Bearing in mind this is 8am and we are about to leave for school. I decided to show Son no.1 the packet.

His contempt changed to a wicked grin. He marches straight up to Son no.2. ‘I’ve just seen them, Mum HAS bought you a packet of sprouts.’

This was the final straw for littliest. It was rapidly apparent to me that this was one prank too far for the over excited 6 year old who was a heady mix of near desolation and complete crossness and laying prostrate on the floor.

I realised I had to remedy the situation. I bought out the little bag of chocolately sproutness and presented it to the nearly-Birthday boy. It took him a few seconds to read and register and then his frustration turned to a resigned disposition.

He grinned & all was well.

Note to self. Some kids are not worth pranking at 8am and pre-Birthday.

It gave me a laugh though! 😉

Better go and tidy the kitchen in readiness for Birthday cake creating!

See you tomorrow- xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Dazzling Diva Challenge 51! Add A Little Dazzle & Neat And Tangled Blog Hop Day 3

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tsurutadesigns  |  November 18, 2014 at 1:03 pm

    LOL…okay, those Brussel Sprouts look like, real brussel sprouts. Such a fun story!

    Your card is adorable…love the masking/coloring!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. massofhair  |  November 18, 2014 at 1:57 pm

    Sorry to laugh but you have painted such a fab picture i can’t help but enjoy your prank. Turned out well and your youngest had a smile, now i’m wondering what his cake will be like, no more pranks there i presume! Thank you for the smile…

    Glorious card, gorgeous colours and am amazed at your moon it is beautiful.

    Hope you get some time to breathe:-) xxx

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. valchic  |  November 18, 2014 at 2:20 pm

    This is soo adoreable.Love this.Your shading is priceless.! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. conil  |  November 18, 2014 at 4:09 pm

    Ah the days of being young and believing in magic. That is what your lovely card invokes in me. Such a sweet sentiment to go with that amazing background. As for the brussel sprouts incident…well, just so you know, my daughter spent one whole evening at the dinner table alone because she wouldn’t eat hers. This entailed lots of sobbing, screaming and unflattering words about her mother (which created another round of discipline). Wish I had the ones you got at M&S so I could have avoided the drama. Now she loves the little green cabbages but she still remembers the night as one of her most horrible memories.

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Miriam Prantner  |  November 18, 2014 at 5:24 pm

    Those sprouts are too fun! I love that the elder Son was concerned for him too! This scene you created on the card is just so adorable! Perfect stamping and coloring and the sky looks fantastic!

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Virginia Lu  |  November 19, 2014 at 1:28 am

    First of all, I LOVE your card. Masterful masking and inking, Keren! And wow…that packet really FOOLED me! As I read on, I actually thought they were a pack of sprouts! They look SO real! Way back in the late 80s, we have Marks and Spenser here in Canada…sadly, they closed all of the shops during the 90s recession. Now I miss M & S!

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. isisimaginings  |  November 19, 2014 at 6:53 am

    You’re kinder than me, I would have kept that joke going for ages! Poor kid. 🙂 Love your card, it’s gorgeous.

    Like

    Reply
  • 8. Clare Allen  |  November 19, 2014 at 8:39 am

    Gorgeous card, great inking for the sky. I just love the colours you have used.
    Re: the sprouts …. watch out he doesn’t get you back in some way, are there any veggies you don’t like? :o)

    Like

    Reply
  • 9. Ros Crawford  |  November 19, 2014 at 2:06 pm

    Love your card and the effect your created with the distress inks … I have to admit I didn’t realise those sprouts were chocolate until I enlarged the photo … What fun! Happy birthday to your little ‘un

    Like

    Reply
  • 10. Jackie J  |  November 19, 2014 at 10:55 pm

    Oh brilliant story! I thought they were real sprouts too!! your reindeer card is gorgeous too.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,499 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


