Speed Craft Challenge & Further Brainless Evidence!

October 26, 2014 at 7:00 pm 22 comments

spraysHi! How are you?

I’m apologising for not posting this- not sure quite how that happened.

It’s for the Speed Craft Challenge- or, at least.it was.

The challenge was all about spraying and misting. Really- it’s hard to do this in limited time as the mist may not dry- but because I used the Prima Color Blooms, you can control the amount you spray and it doesn’t saturate the cardstock unless you want it to.

Thankfully, it means it doesn’t overwet the card and cause it to warp. Those Prima sprays are delicate colours too. I decided to use the die that matches the stamp set from Waltzingmouse Stamps as a mask to spray over and then I could stamp in the masked space.

You just need to die cut one of the leaves out of cardstock or onto a post-it note. If using cardstock, you need to add some repositionable adhesive.

Here’s the set


Because the stamps perfectly match, it’s really easy. Align the stamps and stamp the sprig over the masked space. Die cut the flowers and stamp the matching flower onto the die-cut shape.

photo
My ability to marshall my brain has gone further down the pan.
Friday night, I had an hour between picking up the kids from school and getting tea out for them ready to go to their kids club.
I’d bought some hair dye & thought I had time to do it.
I got everything out and read the instructions.
Or, so I thought.
I mixed the two elements; the bottle and the cream & smeared it onto my hair.
Before I had begun, I’d thought I was dicing with danger by wearing my fave top.
Hurry got the better of me, and I went ahead anyway.
I was dolloping it on.
I dropped some.
On the floor.
On the sink.
On my top.
I groaned. A lot. I quickly wiped it off my top, hoping against hope I’d not wrecked my top.
I saw my daughter on the way down, she echoed my thoughts- your top is ruined Mum.
Surprisingly, the top wasn’t changing colour.
I waited the prescribed time.
I went up to the bathroom, and began rinsing off, and reached for the conditioner.
Fortunately for me, I looked carefully at the bottle.
It said number 1.
I looked again.
Hadn’t I mixed No.1 & No.2 ?
Umm. That would be a no.
I looked again. That meant I’d mixed No.2 and 6 weeks worth of concentrated conditioner.
I slightly panicked. What would the chemical reaction have been?
I then was thoroughly grateful that I’d not just poured neat hydrogen peroxide solution onto my head instead of conditioner.
Phew.
The downside? My hair has unsurprisingly remained the same shade.
The upside? My hair is remarkably well conditioned.
I’m not safe left to my own devices.
First, last week was squirting Tomato Ketchup into the washing bowl instead of washing-up liquid and this week? The hair dye that didn’t!

See you soon, hopefully with more of a clue! xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Add A Little Dazzle & CAS-ual Fridays Blog Hop Day 5 Repurposed Avery Elle & Sushi!

22 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ingrid Kristina V  |  October 26, 2014 at 8:54 pm

    Lol.. Oh you made me laugh.. I once ended up with light green hair after using an incorrect colourant after bleaching my hair.. There was some reaction.. It was awful 🙂 light khaki green blond that was! Nice! At least your hair feels nice..
    Beautiful card, Keren! I really need to stock up on more dies and flower stamps, this is adorable! Xxx

    Like

    Reply
    • 2. kerenbaker  |  October 27, 2014 at 1:31 pm

      Ouch. Khaki green blonde sounds unique! I’m not quite that brave- but thankful I’m not alone in my mistakes! x

      Like

      Reply
  • 3. conil  |  October 26, 2014 at 9:08 pm

    Your card is, as usual, lovely and ingenius. Clever girl. That said, I found my mobile in the washing machine yesterday amongst several unwashed undershirts. Don’t ask. Fortunately, I’d not run that load, yet. Consider yourself lucky. At least, you still have all your hair and it’s that you are just terribly busy…with me, it may be the start of full on dimentia (just kidding…I hope).

    Like

    Reply
    • 4. kerenbaker  |  October 27, 2014 at 1:33 pm

      I’m always bothered that I’ll end up doing that. I’m definitely one to buy a waterproof phone! I’m sure you’re not heading towards dementia- hopefully just a too-full mine!!

      Like

      Reply
    • 5. kerenbaker  |  October 27, 2014 at 1:33 pm

      Make that ‘mind’!!

      Like

      Reply
  • 6. vickiscraft  |  October 26, 2014 at 9:52 pm

    Hahaha, sorry but this did make me laugh, slow down missus, you try to do too much in one day! :O I do like your card, clever you to think of using the die as a mask!

    Take care, we need to meet up! 😉 xx

    Like

    Reply
    • 7. kerenbaker  |  October 27, 2014 at 1:33 pm

      Too right. At least I can’t compete with your hand story! Once they’re back after half term give me a date!!

      Like

      Reply
  • 8. Julia Altermann  |  October 26, 2014 at 10:10 pm

    Oh my gosh, I think I will never get that beer off my screen anymore, Keren! You literally made me ROFL when I read about your hairscapades 😉 Happy to hear that your hair hasn’t taken any damage 😉

    By the way, what’s the color you used to stamp out those flowers? Not the pink one, but the apricot color? It’s lovely!

    Like

    Reply
    • 9. kerenbaker  |  October 27, 2014 at 1:34 pm

      The apricot one is the Hero Arts one-in fact, they both are. I’ll check and get back to you. Hope the beer’s cleared off the screen now!!

      Like

      Reply
  • 10. mags woodcock  |  October 26, 2014 at 10:26 pm

    Gorgeous card ,love it.Sorry but I also love the hair dye episode, I do similar things very regularly, I think it’s the pace of life we live at. take care….no really TAKE CARE !!!!.

    Like

    Reply
    • 11. kerenbaker  |  October 27, 2014 at 1:35 pm

      You are making me feel so much better Mags! I think you’re right, we are all too busy!!

      Like

      Reply
  • 12. Miriam Prantner  |  October 26, 2014 at 11:53 pm

    Love that you used the die as a mask, gorgeous card and love the movement of those flowers and the soft colors. Your stories totally make me laugh!

    Like

    Reply
    • 13. kerenbaker  |  October 27, 2014 at 1:36 pm

      Glad to be of service 😉!! x

      Like

      Reply
  • 14. Virginia L.  |  October 27, 2014 at 1:03 am

    CLEVER design! Love the idea of using die as mask! It’s such a gorgeous design, Keren! You are one mean and lean card-making machine…well, you are no machine, but you know what I mean 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • 15. kerenbaker  |  October 27, 2014 at 1:36 pm

      Ha ha! I’ll take any compliment you throw my way! x

      Like

      Reply
  • 16. massofhair  |  October 27, 2014 at 1:09 am

    I am intrigued did the top get ruined??? Sorry you are stressed out at the moment, i do hope you can find some time for you… Love you have fantastically conditioned hair lol.

    Wonderful card, great colours, fantastic ideas and loads of inspiration as always. Take care Keren 🙂 xxx

    Like

    Reply
    • 17. kerenbaker  |  October 27, 2014 at 1:37 pm

      Top was fine! Conditioned beautifully ( like my hair!!). I’m not so stressed, more busy and not enough time for everything!! xx

      Like

      Reply
  • 18. Denise Fletcher  |  October 27, 2014 at 10:06 am

    Lovely work, Keren!

    Like

    Reply
  • 20. Ros Crawford  |  October 27, 2014 at 1:10 pm

    Ha! I’ve done exactly the same thing using dye!! Teach me for not wearing my specs!! LOVE this card … Beautiful!

    Like

    Reply
    • 21. kerenbaker  |  October 27, 2014 at 1:38 pm

      Phew. It’s nice to be in a ‘hair dye disasters support group’!! Thanks x

      Like

      Reply
  • 22. Bev  |  October 27, 2014 at 6:36 pm

    Gorgeous card! And well conditioned hair is better than orange or green hair, lol! My hairdressers won’t color my hair…they claim that women pay big bucks to have white streaks like mine… I guess I’m stuck looking like a grandmother. Oh! Wait! I AM a grandmother… Have a great week.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,448 other followers

I’m designing for;

Design Teams

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Butterfly beauty- using new #paperbabestamps mdf portrait blanks and #pieridae butterfly set

Snail mail Invertage. Tunnel card type technique using #lawnfawn #gleefulgardenstamps

Need a bouquet that can't be squashed in the post? Check out the @sevenhillscrafts blog to see how to make one using the stunningly gorgeous @winnieandwalter #Addiesgarden blooms!! #bouquetcards

More Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


