Early Advent Calendar & Express Yourself!

October 14, 2014 at 2:11 pm 10 comments

photo 4I need to get organised- strange though it might seem.. advent calendars need to be the first thing you craft as December 1st just creeps up on us so quickly. I thought I’d have a go at one as I needed to ‘use up’ a perfectly good brand new frame that annoyingly had become broken whilst waiting to be filled. It had lain down by the side of my desk for long enough and then my inner ‘health and safety person’ broke out and decided it was actually quite irresponsible having a broken frame near where I keep bending up to pick up stray buttons etc.

So- I didn’t paint it, just added some Snow Days patterned paper behind the mount and tied 3 lengths of glitter green twine (Lawn Fawn) around the frame and tied at the back.photo 1
I then created 24 individual tags that I stamped with a variety of Lawn Fawn stamp sets- if you want to see a few of them, look here as it will show you the sets and you can press the link to the correct part of the shop at Make The Day Special Stamp Store and order them. Speaking of them, if you hurry over, the new release from WPlus 9 has just hit the shelves, so do be quick, you know how quickly that stuff flies out 😉
photo 2 photo 3
You can see how I tried to use coordinating colours of Copics and Promarkers to tie in with the Snow Days patterned paper (Lawn Fawn) again. The next photo shows you the slightly glittered pegs; I just added some iridescent glitter to brighten them up a little. For the presents,(should you wish to make this home décor piece more than just a countdown), you could write lovely affirming sentiments on the back , or point to where that days treat is hidden away. An everyday treasure hunt sounds good to me. And, once the tags (which are a set from Mama Elephant) are being taken off from the frame, it reveals the super-cute snow scene, so you’re not left with a bare frame!photo 5
Life this week has been busy with a sick bug (remaining with only one person fortunately). I’ve had 2 boys off sick ( the other was looking pretty peaky so stayed off for a day). My littliest appeared to have been given the world. He actually jumped up and down with excitement at the prospect of staying off school for 2 days. The words ‘well he has to stay off for 48 hours; school rules’ were told regularly to me and in particular from littlie once he’d worked out what it referred to.

He was jubilant and ran around doing fist pumps in the air (by the end of the day at least once he’d stopped being sick). His ability to express himself has been noted, especially by his reading teacher. She has been commenting how expressive his reading is becoming. Another dramatic child I wondered?

It was fully confirmed to me the other day, that he may have similar traits to the bigger sisters when he strode into the kitchen and announced (in no uncertain terms)

‘I am the most annoyed I have ever been in my whole life (bold and italics, most certainly his).

Had his world fallen apart?

No.

Was there an annoying sibling causing his apparent distress?

Nope.

His dog had not very well in the championship challenge.

And when I say dog, I refer to the virtual kind that he plays with on his hand held device.

Well that’s ok then I thought. Not obviously uttering this out loud. Having 3 teens (well nearly and the others quite clearly and strongly bringing that rear) I am learning (through bad experiences) to keep most of my thoughts well and truly contained inside my head.

I’m so very glad there is not a running LED display of words that I think, as I think them above my head.

That wouldn’t do.

For my safety as a parent, there are many many times where it does perfectly pay NOT to express yourself!!

Are you able to keep schtum often, or does it all ‘tumble out’?!

See you after potentially another very ‘quiet’ afternoon 😉

xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Add A Little Dazzle & Fancy Pants Hop! Add A Little Dazzle & Fancy Pants Day 3

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Miriam Prantner  |  October 14, 2014 at 3:37 pm

    This is adorable! LOVE how you backed the entire piece with that cute LF paper, and the tags are just so sweet, what a lot of time and effort, but totally worth it!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. conil  |  October 14, 2014 at 5:25 pm

    This advent calendar is darling…clever girl. And done so early…wish I were that ambitious. Very impressive. As for kiddos…no, did not keep mum about what I was thinking. With four, yes four (what was I thinking) female teenagers in the house, it was necessary that we all become dramatic but keep our “melt-downs” rotational. (My poor beleaguered husband.) Now, I’m so grateful for peace and sanity in the house…and that they’re all still alive. There were times when I didn’t think that was possible.

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. mags woodcock  |  October 14, 2014 at 7:43 pm

    What a gorgeous project, I have a spare frame kicking about so will have to have a go.I have no kids so can not comment on keeping”mum”(pun intended)…..

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. carolewaechtler  |  October 16, 2014 at 4:06 pm

    Absolutely gorgeous Keren, a great work of heart which will look fabulous in your home! As for keeping “mum” mine are grown up and I still have too, on occasions, it’s a job at times, I can tell you ;)! C x

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Virginia L.  |  October 17, 2014 at 4:05 pm

    This is quite an amazing project, Keren! Your attentions to details really make the LF stamps shine! Hope your guys are on the mend. my family members have recently been stricken with really bad colds as well–not fun! It must be so fun to hang out with your littlest guy….I love a wordy and expressive child 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Jenny M  |  October 17, 2014 at 8:09 pm

    I admire your advent frame Keren, love how you kept to a few colours too :0) James has been spoilt with the treat of chocolate at advent …he’d be looking behind each tag..Lol :0)

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. massofhair  |  October 27, 2014 at 1:45 am

    Sorry am so late commenting! Awesome Advent Calendar, good to see you are getting some things done early. Love the crispness and the bright colours you have used 🙂 xxx

    Like

    Reply
  • 8. alicecarman  |  October 30, 2014 at 3:29 pm

    I love this calendar!!!!

    Like

    Reply
  • 9. gwendapper  |  October 31, 2014 at 7:12 pm

    Just so you know, I was super inspired by this! Thought you would like to see what I made: http://www.daisydo.com/2014/10/31/oooh-lawn-fawns-snow-day/

    Like

    Reply
  • 10. Rossi Writes  |  December 5, 2014 at 11:04 am

    This is really beautiful! We bought our advent calendar, but I wish I was this talented so as to be able to make one myself. Best wishes from Italy 🙂 http://www.rossiwrites.com

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,500 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


