Getting To Know Me: A Creative Blog Hop!

October 8, 2014 at 10:34 pm 7 comments

A few weeks ago Kathryn from PinnednPenned emailed me asking if I’d join in with this creative blog hop. It’s a hop with a difference- rather than simply ‘here’s  my card, and  onto the next person’, there are a set of questions to be answered and you introduce the next designer.

So, rather than talk about me, I’m happily talking about Kathryn instead.

I don’t know quite how we came across each other, but she’s been a supporter of my blog and leaves such fab comments. Her blog is more than just projects however.She’s a wordsmith, and as someone who adores words, I love the poetry and interesting insights into all sorts of parts of life, music and art to be found on her blog

.But, the art?

Well, one thing I love about her projects, nay, two, is her attention to detail and her patterns. Underneath, I’m going to show you some of my favourite projects and look out for so many of her details. She not only embellishes the front, but often the inside and sometimes the back too. She can layer without cluttering and I take my hat off to the way she can use and combine patterned paper. (I get scared when I don’t have enough white on my card!!)

 pp3pp2pp7pp8pp1
See why I love her designs?
This will be a wordy, lengthy post, so if you need a loo-break, dash off now and on your way back grab a pot of tea and something sweet to keep you awake whilst you read 😉

Here come the questions:

1.What creative projects are you currently working on?
Well, it’s an interesting mix. I have magazine commissions ranging from an unusual one involving some experimentation, to new year projects, toppers and then I’ve some metal based projects, stampy ones plus plenty of write-ups to keep me from getting bored (yeah, right!). Here’s a peek of one I’ve recently finished
photo
2. What inspires your designs?
This question above all others is what I’m asked more than others as I’m out and about. The answer sometimes leaves people looking a little quizzical.
I am inspired by nearly everything. I guess I’m a very visual person- I am really affected by things that I see. A simple wander around shops can leave me completely inspired. If I was to show you my camera roll on my phone, you’d see some bizarre snaps like food packaging or a shop sign or an outside view. I see someones skirt, a book cover or an advert and fall in love with the placement of elements or the designs or texture.
I am a real detail person, I love adding unexpected elements and love trying out something different or new. 3D elements on a project make me smile. What appears to be a straightforward design has often had lots of thought into it.(or, my brain has been on go-slow and I just couldn’t get anything to come together!!).
3.What method / process (if applicable) do you apply to each of your creative projects, and how long does each project take to complete?
Hmm. so difficult. Because I create lots of projects with a manufacturer or retailer in mind, I have to showcase the product or image and make sure other elements don’t fight for dominance. So my method depends on what I’m actually doing. I am a sketcher for work projects. I find that sketching makes for better end results although invariably what I have in my head is rarely what it ends up like and more often than not, the original sketch looks better than the finished result!
I do move elements around- I’ll often faff around with gems or small items. I do begin with images and build my design around that rather than start with a sentiment. Occasionally I’ll work from a sketch too.
Sometimes I give up. I’ll leave it, sleep on it (well obviously not actually on the card/layout) and begin again with fresh eyes!
Length of project? It varies enormously. If I’ve a sketch to work from then it could be 30mins to an hour. For something more complex I could be tucked away in my craft space for somewhat longer.
4. If you had to describe your ‘signature’ style, what would it be?
I find this hard to articulate. I’m happiest with clean and simple and graphic. But this year has seen me exploring my artistic side (thanks to PaperArtsy), my cute side (I’ve quite enjoyed this ‘u’turn) and I wonder if I’m a bit of a chameleon- trying to adapt to whatever I find myself using! I am enjoying learning and exploring new products and techniques, so maybe my ‘style’ hasn’t quite matured yet!
5. What are 3 crafting products/tools you can’t live without?
How do you limit it to three?
I’m a stamper- so it would have to be stamps, and ink and if I had to craft on a desert island, it would probably be my XPress die-cutting machine (although, if there were electricity, my Silhouette Cameo might creep onto the island of paradise too). It would need noting ,that if I were on a desert island by myself with all that peace and quiet and no-one else, it would result in me catching up the lost sleep from the past 18 years 😉
So, who am I linking to next?
I’ve two lovely crafters. I’ve chosen them because they’re so different but I admire both of them. In no particular order, they’re Tyra Bebington & Lucy Abrams
Tyra from Just Tyra was someone who I found via WordPress reader & we’ve had some fun online chats. She has written really brilliant design courses (that I must get around to reviewing..oops!) and I love her sense of fun and bright and trendy designs. She, like Kathryn, is brilliant at juxtaposing patterns and has a real handle on colour whilst still keeping clean lines and freshness. Here’s some of my favourites!
t1 t2 t3 t4 t5 t6

Aren’t they beautiful- and her photography is so good too!
Next up is the fab Lucy Abrams at Lucy’s Cards.

Lucy is different in style- and as a fellow Brit, I thought I’d balance up the US international girlies with her! I was thinking of an English girlie and she sprang straight to mind!

She creates beautiful, elegant and clean cards. The cards look uncluttered but if you look closely, you can spot for example little stitching elements giving texture and dimension. She is clever in the way she creates her backgrounds and is another maestro with pattern. There’s a theme here- I love papers and yet don’t use them hardly. Note to self, use these three girls as inspiration and teachers for me to do some homework with !

Back to Lucy; she often uses pastel palettes and yet her cards are bright! She uses minimal elements to pack a large punch. Here’s some of my faves of hers!l1 l2 l3 l4 l6l5Wow! What an amazing lineup of inspiration. The girls should be posting around the 13th of October- although, if like me they’ve been swamped with life in general, they’ll be late (by a day or two..ahemm!).

Thanks Kathryn for asking me to join in and I hope you’ve enjoyed something a little different! x

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Add A Little Dazzle Diva Challenge #46 PaperArtsy Guest Post

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sarah Gray  |  October 8, 2014 at 11:14 pm

    I loved reading this blog post, Keren – it’s always great to learn a bit more about your creative process and you are so creative! Your projects are fun, quirky and CAS and I am always amazed at how you balance texture and dimension with that lovely white space :). Thanks as well for showcasing the work of Kathryn and Tyra – their designs look fab and I am already a fan of the awesome Lucy!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Miriam Prantner  |  October 9, 2014 at 12:22 am

    How fun to hear more about you and your process!

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. massofhair  |  October 9, 2014 at 1:26 am

    You know i am already a huge Fan of your beautiful work Keren, great start to your post & definitely different!

    You are surrounded every day by life, nature and share experiences with your children, you are lucky to have so many muses… Thank you for sharing a little bit more of you, am off to see more from the two ladies you have passed on the baton to.

    Always looking forward to your next post, they are fun and fabulous 🙂 xxx

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Virginia Lu  |  October 9, 2014 at 1:59 am

    You write this so beautifully. Love reading about you and what makes you tick!! Well done, Keren!

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. ros Crawford  |  October 9, 2014 at 12:48 pm

    Sorry I’ve missed a lot lately … I backtracked and as always I’m blown away by your creativity … I am in awe of your fussy cutting, your million and one ways to use ‘stuff’ and I loved reading this post … I’m not familiar with some of the ladies you highlighted but seeing those creations I’m definitely going to hop over to their blogs… Must catch up soon … big hugs!

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. conil  |  October 9, 2014 at 4:38 pm

    Talk about a wordsmith. I think you can confidently apply that title to yourself, Just sayin’. In any case, this was a joy to read, kind of like looking at your porjects.

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. justtyra  |  October 10, 2014 at 12:30 am

    Aww Keren! – Hugs to you!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,510 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


