Colouring & Washing!

September 23, 2014 at 10:00 am 4 comments

colouring1

Hi there!  Hope you’re ok. This week over at Make The Day Special, we’re having a colouring theme (or ‘coloring’ for you non Brits!). Now I’m not an experienced colourer and I have been trying a little to practice. There are tons of great tutorials online but due to the fact I’m time-poor, I’ve not accessed them. I’ve simply played with the different alcohol pens I’ve got. I’ve collected a small range and I’ve use Copic Originals, Copic Ciaos, Promarkers and some cheapy ones from a book store. I’ve used this set from Sugar Pea Designs

I have tried to use a few simple techniques- like using the blender pen around the edges of the clouds- dotted to ‘move’ away some of the colour. It isn’t as is often thought, an ‘eraser’ pen but it will ‘push’ or move colour which is great for neatening edges of adding ‘white’ to areas. I also used my trusty white gel pen to add lots of little extra details. I wanted to add a little difference to the design which is why I die-cut a circle from the scene and then raised the outer edge with a double edge of 3D foam.
colouring2
To be honest, I didn’t even think about the other meaning of the phrase.. for me and some of my friends with multiple kids, dirty laundry is everywhere.
No matter how organised you get, you can’t escape it.
The towels breed..I’m sure of it.
The bedding takes up a couple of loads.
The clothes.
Oh.
The dirty clothes.
Teenagers should give their mums a peg when they hit 12.
Trust me. You don’t want to inhale whilst loading the washing machine sometimes.
Breathe in at your peril!
I would dearly love to have it all put away..but there’s always’ folded’, ‘awaiting the tumble dryer’, ‘dirty’ or ‘just waiting’ piles of clothes around the house.
My washing machine is a blessing.
Sometimes when it all gets a bit much, I’m reminded of a book I read years ago that reminded me instead of getting fed up that your husband is leaving their dirty socks on the floor, you should be really thankful that you have someone to pick socks up for.
Some days, I have to really think very hard about that one!

See you tomorrow, with a autumnal offering with Add a Little Dazzle!
xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Docrafts Roundup! Add A Little Dazzle Dazzling Divas Challenge #44 & Believe in Better!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ros Crawford  |  September 23, 2014 at 11:08 am

    This is fabulous!! I’m a useless colourer (is that even a word?)

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. massofhair  |  September 23, 2014 at 11:34 am

    I’m a useless colourer too! I have Promarkers, don’t seem to get on with them; then tried Kaiser Craft Kaiserfusion Pens, find these better but don’t use any of them often as you need the speciality card stock to get perfect results…

    I adore your dirty washing card on many levels lol, beautiful images and stunning colouring, well done you!

    You are a fantastic Mum Keren and when your children grow up they will tell you so, your Husbands socks should be put in the wash basket, he is old enough to know better lol.

    Enjoy your Tuesday:-) xxx

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Miriam Prantner  |  September 23, 2014 at 3:00 pm

    I love this, love the kind of optical illusion of some things in the back and some in the front and some in both. It’s such a sweet set too!

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. conil  |  September 23, 2014 at 3:55 pm

    I believe the coloring is lovely and I that this card is a genuine hoot. Laundry was my bane when my kids were younger as well…and your right, it does breed. Plus, in house full of girls, one towel wouldn’t do. One for the hair, one for the body and one to stand on (don’t ask,I never understood it either.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,448 other followers

I’m designing for;

Design Teams

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Butterfly beauty- using new #paperbabestamps mdf portrait blanks and #pieridae butterfly set

Snail mail Invertage. Tunnel card type technique using #lawnfawn #gleefulgardenstamps

Need a bouquet that can't be squashed in the post? Check out the @sevenhillscrafts blog to see how to make one using the stunningly gorgeous @winnieandwalter #Addiesgarden blooms!! #bouquetcards

More Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


