Add A Little Dazzle & Demo Hiccups!

September 10, 2014 at 4:00 pm 8 comments

10615626_10202741020067956_2970213835502430844_n IMG_4806.JPG

Afternoon everyone!

I’ve another metal craft sheet project. This one more classic than anything. We had the beautiful picture to be inspired by. Rather than be inspired a little more abstractly, I just went with the coloured leaves. These are the beautiful colours

golden glimmer

outrageously orange1

If you fancy joining in, why don’t you create a project using the photo as inspiration! You don’t have to use metal sheet but if you win, you get a $15 prize for the Add A Little Dazzle Boutique. Just enter using the linky tool here. You can add a link from Flickr or your blog, but please just use Dazzling Diva Challenge #42 as a tag or title.

 

It’s extraordinary, how your best laid plans often go completely awry. Take Saturday.

I had a demo at a new-to-me garden centre called Bookside Garden Centre. I was up about 6:30am (I know..and on a Saturday morning too!)

You should see how long it takes me to pack the car with all the lovely goodies. Anyhow, I’d left extra time to get there- you never know when you’re you’ll hit a traffic jam? Right?

I was pootling around the M60- which is a massive ring road around the outskirts of Manchester, knowing I had to turn onto a junction 1 which according to the Sat Nav was about 3.6 miles away.

I passed a turn off for Junction 1 but as the Sat Nav was telling me I was still over 3.5 miles away, I knew there must be a different road I needed to turn off.

Wrong.

It was about 10 minutes later. The Sat Nav bloke had been uncharacteristically quiet and I glanced down to see how far away the turn off was.

3.5 miles.

I panicked a little.

I pressed the phone over and again. No response.

It was marginally less responsive than my teen girls every Saturday morning!

Bearing in mind, I’m trying to control the car at speed and desperately looking for somewhere to turn off so I could get the phone Sat Nav to work!

Eventually I managed to shut the app down and restart it. Fortunately I was only about 15 minutes out of my way by the time it ‘recalculated’ so I was able to get there 10 minutes before I needed to have arrived.

I was somewhat flustered – but of course gave the appearance that I was absolutely fine (us gals can do that sometimes!).

The day was slow and steady and I was near a little miniature railway which brought lots of kids to the place. Less endearing was the kiddy ride stationed directly outside the shop which was ‘singing’ on a regular basis.

I could just about drown that out..it was when the parents sung along with it :-O

Well, better go- more food to make!

See you when I’ve disappeared under a mountain of potatoes! xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Joy To The Woods & Give-away Winner! Speed Crafters Challenge 2!

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jackie J  |  September 10, 2014 at 11:07 pm

    Beautiful card, your metal leaves are gorgeous, sounds like you had a tough Saturday morning but I have to say your journey made an entertaining read x

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Donna Tune  |  September 11, 2014 at 12:21 am

    like your leaves

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. katmsn  |  September 11, 2014 at 5:07 am

    It’s a beautiful card. I’m wondering how you put a card like that in an envelope? Beautiful leaves, but still curious how a card like that goes in an envelope. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • 4. kerenbaker  |  September 11, 2014 at 7:24 am

      Hi! Great question! Find a card and envelope that fit together already and then cut down your card base. I’d add in a thin little paper sleeve tucked just over the top bit to help protect it. If it was going a long way through the post I might put in it a padded envelope or little box! Does that make sense?! x

      Like

      Reply
  • 5. tsurutadesigns  |  September 11, 2014 at 11:56 am

    gorgeous leaves.
    I’m so directionally impaired that I’m always getting lost.

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Julia Altermann  |  September 11, 2014 at 7:14 pm

    Holy smokes, Keren! Wonderful card. Of course, my eyes are just growing big and round with all that shimmer, but your design with the circle at the top is stunning as well!

    Happy to hear you found your way eventually … I have also stopped trusting “The Voice” in the car. Last time I had a rental, I got lost 7 (!!!) times, during rush hour on Monday morning, trying to drop off the car. The Voice told me to take turns about 150m too early … I can’t remember even having made that many U-turns 😉

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. Diana Nguyen  |  September 12, 2014 at 5:40 pm

    It’s gorgeous! Love the clean and simple look; the circle is “over the top” clever! lol!

    Like

    Reply
  • 8. massofhair  |  September 13, 2014 at 12:23 am

    Oooh really loving the olympic circle and leaves, such great colours.

    I cannot stand Sat Navs, they drive me mad with all their chunnering, freezing and awkward silent moments it’s no wonder motorists are getting more stressed out! I quite enjoy getting lost occasionally & maps, real paper maps/A-Z’s are so lovely to work out your journey before you leave. Rant over lol!

    Wouldn’t go back there sounds a nightmare! 🙂 xxx

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,506 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


