Joy To The Woods & Give-away Winner!

September 9, 2014 at 10:31 am 9 comments

joy

 

Morning, you lovely bunch!

Just thought I’d share this project using the brand new set ‘Joy To The Woods’ from Lawn Fawn. 

 

You can purchase this set over at Make The Day Special Stamp Store and there’s a ton of other Lawn Fawn sets & some new arrivals from Paper Smooches, Winnie & Walter and WPlus9 (to name a few)!

To create the card I’ve made a simple background using Distress Inks & sprayed (rather unevenly) water over it, which dissipates the colours and leaves an almost snow-fall effect. I heat embossed the trees (which are rather more shiny in real life) and added some watercolour.

The snow at the bottom is obviously vellum and I love the effects you can create with this product. You could leave off the baubles and just make a wintry scene with it- I love the moody sky!

 joy2

I’m also popping this into the Simon Says Stamp blog challenge with ‘Anything goes’

IMG_4792.JPG

I’m a little late with posting the winner- please forgive me. I’ve been trying to sort out back to school and homework and catch up a little. The way I drew this was to compile a list of all comments in the order they were posted. Some people loaded several ‘entries’ into one comment which is why the number of entries is higher than the number of comments. I simply popped the numbers in the random number generator.

p

This number belongs to Jackie J! 

Please get in touch with your details Jackie!

I have some more docrafts products to give away very soon!

 

On the family front, getting back into school gear has gone ok. 

There are some new things:

Having to wait longer to get out the house whilst one child gels their hair into their new perfect look!

Having littliest actually enjoying going back to school. There’s a man in their class now and I think its a really positive step for him. No longer do we have ‘school is boring’ after a busy day at school.

Although…

we had homework already.

I am no big fan of tons of homework. For some, it stresses them out and although there’s a great work ethic in general in our house, I do think at infant level, it shouldn’t be so involved.

This week, we had spellings, times tables, putting the spelling words into a sentence for each word, food diaries and also the reading books are starting to come home.

I was nearly as depressed as he was.

We had a little fun with making up sentences to put the words in.

‘School’? 

“I hate school”. To be fair, he doesn’t- but I think the homework was driving him to that conclusion. We talked about how his new teacher might feel sad reading that so it was changed to something more positive.

Some sentences were plain silly & the last word was ‘when’.

His first version was ‘when is it the end of the world?’

Quite a thoughtful reflection,I considered. He obviously decided the sentence was too long to write & looked up at me mischeviously

“when is the end?”

We decided we had definitely come to the end of the homework & after a quick chat about question marks, we put it all in the bag and sighed.

I’m not sure whose sigh was the longest 😉

See you tomorrow with some more metal!

xx

Entry filed under: papercrafting.

Double Glitter technique & Dazzling Diva Challenge #41 Add A Little Dazzle & Demo Hiccups!

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tsurutadesigns  |  September 9, 2014 at 1:54 pm

    super fabulous tall & skinny card!
    Oh I bet school time homework is fun in your household…kids these days have so much homework, it’s crazy.

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. massofhair  |  September 9, 2014 at 2:01 pm

    LOVING your card Keren, beautiful stamp set and you have another hit on your hands!

    When is the end??? That is a wonderful generic question, an easy sentence with the possibility of such profound outcomes…

    Glad all is coming together with school and your craft making. Looking forward to more Family adventures and cards featuring metal:-) xxx

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. massofhair  |  September 9, 2014 at 2:02 pm

    Ooops forgot to say Congrats to the winner of the DoCrafts goodies! x

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Miriam Prantner  |  September 9, 2014 at 4:58 pm

    Love the gorgeous inking and water drops and love the vellum snow. I’m not looking forward to homework…..

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. conil  |  September 9, 2014 at 5:55 pm

    First of all, that card is wonderful…love the sky and the baubles. Secondly, homework is the bane of every living parent…that said, I’m sooooo glad my tykes are grown and out of school. I’m sorry you have to go through this. Thirdly, congrats to the winner.

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Jackie J  |  September 9, 2014 at 6:54 pm

    Oh my! thank you so much, I was just looking at your wonderful card thinking how lovely this new stamp set is and then I scrolled down and saw my name, what a lovely surprise.

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. Rachel Bg  |  September 9, 2014 at 11:06 pm

    Love it!

    Like

    Reply
  • 8. pinnednpenned  |  September 10, 2014 at 4:53 am

    Ohh, serene and beautiful, with some whimsy. I love this, Keren!

    Like

    Reply
  • 9. Ros Crawford  |  September 10, 2014 at 10:45 am

    Love your card … Such a cool BG … Enjoy your day!!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,510 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


