Wanderlust (again!) & Shoehorning!

June 17, 2014 at 1:08 pm 6 comments

20140617-111353-40433391.jpg
Morning!!
I’m up on the Make The Day Special blog today with one of my (still!) fave sets…Wanderlust

20140617-111848-40728602.jpg
It’s still not losing its appeal and there are a couple of sets left..go and grab one!
As I’ve been making more complex time consuming cards recently, it was a joy to knock one out quickly. I’d already got the map portion stamped out and hanging around on my desk, so that’s where the starting point for my card came from.

I’m doing a lot of ‘shoehorning’. Putting things into places they don’t really go.
Squeezing a type of commission into the products/colours/style I possess.
Even getting some of the kids to do things/eat things seem like a full-on shoehorning process too.
Thankful that mostly they’re compliant and are not demanding of too much.
I seriously think parents should be sent on negotiating courses rather than school teaching the kids ‘how to use persuasive language in an argument’ and then writing about it.
They encourage the kids to attempt to be persuasive and get their parents to do something that they’d previously not agreed to.
Yup.
That’s helpful.
As if my kids aren’t going to masters of that through their teens without encouraging it earlier and earlier.
Maybe I should join the UN and learn some greater skills.
My kids can keep trying to shoehorn me into their ‘wants’ and needs as much as they like.
Littliest is quite a master.
We were at the shop- just me and him. A lovely time to savour.
I’d promised him he could pick any icecream from the shop ( knowing that it would be ok as it’s all relatively good value).
He honed in on THE most expensive. I tried reasoning that the pack of 14 which was 50 pence more would be better than the pack of 2!!
He offered to buy it.
“It’s ok Mum, I’ll buy it and then you don’t have to spend your money”.
I decided to say yes for a change ( so much of my life consists of ‘no’).
“Go on then, just this once- we’ll get the other pack to share with everyone else”.
It seemed a good plan. At least he could carry this which was in preference to the melon which he’d already dropped on the floor, it’d rolled away, split and myriads of tears ensued.
As we got to the till, conscience obviously got the better of him
“Mum, I don’t want you to spend all your money, I’ll buy it so you don’t run out of money”.
Bless. I let him off. Ā£2 is little spent for such a delightful half an hour with him.
He enjoyed the Rolo egg ice-cream, but not as much as he imagined he would. He decided that the cheaper ice creams would have been a better choice.
Sigh.
Sometimes it’s lovely having kids šŸ˜‰ xx

See you when I’ve reclaimed the kitchen- one of the teens is baking…again!! x

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Paper Smooches & Thankyou Lovely People! Clearly Besotted & Completely Obsessed!

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. massofhair  |  June 17, 2014 at 2:27 pm

    Love the colours you have used, reminds me of a smartphone screen with Maps App open, brilliant idea.

    Hostage negotiator could be another course, teaches patience and to get best results for the safety of everyone. Your youngest sounds adorable šŸ™‚ xxx

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. beaumama  |  June 17, 2014 at 4:11 pm

    Always am impressed with your cards, so well designed and executed. I love them just as much as your running commentary on life.. Brings back all sorts of memories. Negotiating appears to be something children learn in the womb. When my children were young, it seemed I was always playing “Let’s Make A Deal”. Now that their older with children of their own…well, let’s just say, I sit back and smile.

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Virginia L.  |  June 17, 2014 at 5:40 pm

    Love love this cool card! I adore the colors and rounded edges šŸ™‚

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Virginia L.  |  June 17, 2014 at 5:45 pm

    It sure is nice to have kids around…They sure are irresistible!

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. tsurutadesigns  |  June 18, 2014 at 3:15 am

    such a fabulous card…so fun.
    Kids, you gotta love them.

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Ros Crawford  |  June 18, 2014 at 12:02 pm

    I can see why this is one of your favs … Your cards are always fabulous and you use this set so very well!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,482 other followers

I’m designing for;

Design Teams

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Butterfly beauty- using new #paperbabestamps mdf portrait blanks and #pieridae butterfly set

Snail mail Invertage. Tunnel card type technique using #lawnfawn #gleefulgardenstamps

Need a bouquet that can't be squashed in the post? Check out the @sevenhillscrafts blog to see how to make one using the stunningly gorgeous @winnieandwalter #Addiesgarden blooms!! #bouquetcards

More Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


