Rejects & Friends!

June 5, 2014 at 9:53 am 7 comments

20140605-075905-28745727.jpg
Today I thought I’d show you a couple of rejects. It’s good to show things that don’t go quite right- this first card is proof that chucking everything on a card isn’t always the best way to go! As this is a ‘warts and all’ blog – I thought you should see some of the more ‘warty ones’ ha ha! This card has a load of Paper Artsy goodness- the paint, the leafy stencil the gorgeous butterfly ( which you’ll be seeing a whole ton next week 😉) and my own stencil which I’ve used the ‘bump technique’ with. Just a shame it doesn’t show the products to the greatest effect!
20140605-075906-28746033.jpg

This second one is less of a ‘wart’ but I sent it in and it was a reject. Bless it. Excuse the naff background- not my finest photographing hour either!

Succeeding better are some of my kids with their friendships.
Good friends are a joy to have and witness.
One of my boys has a really good buddy and they are pretty inseparable. Given half the chance they’d chat to each other every night and this summer they’re going to a camp. They were overflowing with excitement! Chatting through what activities they wanted to do together and negotiating through the list. There was even some mutual sighing about the challenges of older siblings. It did my heart good to see a positive pairing when so I often I am dealing with the fallout from less than agreeable ones!!
Along that theme I found out this week that an acquaintance we knew and haven’t seen in a while had died and no one knew. I felt so bad. No one should have to die alone and certainly should be missed.
Go check on your neighbours and text your older friends. Hug those close to you. Life is short. Make the most of today.

See you soon, when I’ve tried to Carpe Diem!! xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Flying High & Mouthwash! Peggy & Jim & Thankyou!!

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. massofhair  |  June 5, 2014 at 1:51 pm

    Fab post, beautifully written and a subject everyone should take the time to think about.

    I celebrated 25 years of friendship a couple of weeks ago. My friend was quite surprised at my call to suggest we celebrate our long and happy friendship, he is mega busy and said he would never thought of anything like this.

    We celebrate our relationships and families, we should also do the same with our friends. He has contacted his childhood friend and asked they celebrate their long connection too.

    I hope your Son has a long and happy friendship, realises how special these times are and when he gets older remembers to celebrate such wonders.

    Sorry for long comment:-) xxx

    Like

    Reply
    • 2. kerenbaker  |  June 5, 2014 at 2:22 pm

      Thanks for your comment-long or short – it’s always welcome. We often take for granted the things we cherish the most. I’m glad you have special friendships to celebrate and I think it’s a wonderful idea xx

      Like

      Reply
  • 3. craftytrog  |  June 5, 2014 at 2:37 pm

    I love your butterfly card Keren, very pretty!
    Always good to hang onto those old friends, I’m meeting up with a primary school buddy this month, to celebrate our 52nd birthdays!
    Hope your son & his friend have a wonderful time at camp.
    Alison xxx

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. beaumama  |  June 5, 2014 at 3:19 pm

    Oh my…so sorry about you acquaintance. This has happened to me, as well. I know how bad you feel. As far as the rejects go, you really need to hop across the pond and look into my rubbish bin. Now those are really rejects…yours are perfect in comparison.

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Paula W  |  June 5, 2014 at 4:46 pm

    I’m sorry to hear about your acquaintance, as you say, No one should have to die alone and certainly should be missed – very sad 😦

    Have to say the first one isn’t a favourite of mine but as to why the other one was rejected, I have no idea!

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Bev  |  June 6, 2014 at 2:24 am

    You should see the two rejects I actually posted today. Big post, two really crappy cards! Yours are definitely NOT rejects in my book. Just over 24 years ago, when I was a young wife and mother, my DH developed cancer and died. Part of the life lesson I learned from that was to tell the people whom you love, that you love them. Every day. Sometimes there is no tomorrow. Thanks for the reminder. It’s good to hear that. So sorry you lost your friend. Let me know if there is anything I can do for you.

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. Virginia L.  |  June 7, 2014 at 6:21 pm

    THUD….even your “rejects” look amazing!! I am sorry to hear that you had lost an acquaintance friend that way…thanks for the reminder!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,499 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


