Gallery Idol Round 3 & Lovely People!

June 2, 2014 at 6:01 pm 23 comments

10Well, who’d have thought it?! I got through- thanks to all you lovely bloggy readers who voted &/or supported me. The next challenge was…

STENCILS.

Have to admit. My heart sank a little. I’m not known for being stencilly- although the PaperArtsy crew are converting me to some stencil-love. I did want to use stencils but more in my style.

I realise you may be looking at my card and going..

Eh? What? where exactly is the stencilling?

Look closely. I’ll show you 3 clean and simple ways to use stencils without getting very messy at all!

First- use them to emboss with!photo 1a photo 2a

I created an acetate stencil in a textured metal kinda pattern using my Silhouette. Despite using what I thought would be a correct setting, the acetate is that thick, it wouldn’t cut all the way through. So, I had to laboriously cut over each indentation. Tedious wasn’t in it. Now I could have misted/pasted/inked through it, but I wanted to do something different.

Using the stencil, metal sheet and piece of foam, I ran them through the diecutting machine & it produces a cool effect. That’s what I was going to use for the ‘joystick’. Remember those?!

photo 3aIn an attempt to save time, I thought I’d create a cardstock stencil to mist an ‘explosion’ through. This is what happened…

 

6So, I had to ‘score’ acetate again with my Silhouette Cameo, cut it out with my craft knife & mist again with my red spray ink from Artiste (docrafts). This time went betterphoto 4a7I didn’t want the stencilling to take over the design- just enhance it. I’d already stamped out my sentiment which is using the Milo’s ABC’s from Lawn Fawn. photo 5aI also used the stencil as a template- cutting out a shape and painting it with gold spray.

For my space invaders, I used some dismantled parts that Steve had given me when he was getting rid of a load of ancient floppy discs. They were perfect little invaders & I almost felt sorry cutting one up for the ‘exploded’ invader at the top. I wanted to make one of them appearing to come out of the card so attached one to an acetate ‘hook’- you can see it in the picture before- then I made a slit at an angle & fed the acetate through & then secured it at the back.89 Hope you like it.. voting starts again now and you can vote here. Some of you kindly took the trouble to try and vote & the system wasn’t so straightforward for you. You can sign in with Facebook & vote that way instead if you prefer. Registration is necessary to protect the contest from vote-rigging. I’m so delighted to have got this far- thanks for all taking the time to get me to this point! x

I was working at Abakhan in Mostyn on Saturday. Exhausted wasn’t in it. My coolant system has some sort of leak in it, so even leaving to travel the hour or so distance was more complicated than usual. Add to that fact I got up at 7:30-(an hour later than is ideal) and this girl arrived at work a little ruffled.

Imagine my delight then, when Pat turned up (hi Pat!) to say hello AND had brought me 2 KitKats and 2 Earl Grey teabags (my new favourite!). It completely made my day & I sat enjoying one of them at lunchtime in the glorious sunshine (kinda wishing I wasn’t working indoors). Lovely people make the day special- so thanks so much Pat! The day passed fairly quickly & I started to drive home, and then realised I should have checked the coolant level.

I arrived at a garage, opened the bonnet & went into the car to get the big bottle of water. A man saw me in my work clothes and heels and said ‘Are you alright love?’

I smiled and said (albeit it a little smugly) ‘oh, yes, thankyou. I’m just topping up my coolant’!!

The kiddles continue to be plain old silly. We have had a job getting the littliest out of his new Spiderman onesie. Tesco had one in the sale rack for £1 & he runs around the house shooting ‘webs’ and telling us he’s the ‘amazing’ Spiderman. He’s also informed us that being a Dad is much harder than being a Mum. When asked why, he replied

‘I don’t want to be a Dad, because they have to catch burglars’.

Hoping we have no more burglars to catch in the near future! See you tomorrow xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Paula’s Blog Hop! Flying High & Mouthwash!

23 Comments Add your own

  • 1. massofhair  |  June 2, 2014 at 6:27 pm

    HUGE CONGRATS Keren, so well deserved. Love your CAS stencil style and i have got a few floppy discs hanging around which i have dismantled. Didn’t think of space invaders though.

    Off to vote! 🙂 xxx

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. massofhair  |  June 2, 2014 at 6:31 pm

    Voting not open as not able to find voting button. Will try later:-) x

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. carolewaechtler  |  June 2, 2014 at 7:02 pm

    I am so pleased you are through to the next round and you card is (again) stunning! Well done you, now go and pat yourself on the back 😉 ! C x

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. massofhair  |  June 2, 2014 at 7:18 pm

    Voted! 🙂 xxx

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Peg  |  June 2, 2014 at 7:28 pm

    Well done on getting through x

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Jaclyn Charette Miller  |  June 2, 2014 at 7:46 pm

    Love the concept and your unique use of stencils! Way to rock this challenge despite your lack of love for them. Good luck!

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. Miriam Prantner  |  June 2, 2014 at 7:56 pm

    This is so clever! Love the metallic piece, and the bursts, and I LOVE the invaders! So fun!

    Like

    Reply
  • 8. kristie larsen  |  June 2, 2014 at 8:21 pm

    Great card Keren! So fun and creative. I love it! Definitely a wining card. I love how your personality shines through each of your cards. They are great! Congrats!

    Like

    Reply
  • 9. Bev  |  June 2, 2014 at 9:01 pm

    Perfectly geared to a boy gamer! Very sweet. You, my dear lovely, have my vote! Keep rockin’ it! So proud of you. : )

    Like

    Reply
  • 10. isisimaginings  |  June 2, 2014 at 9:39 pm

    That’s a fantastic card.

    Like

    Reply
  • 11. Virginia L.  |  June 2, 2014 at 10:35 pm

    Love your creative and innovative design, Keren! It’s so cute and fun! I adore the punny sentiment, too! Good luck on this round!

    Like

    Reply
  • 12. Sabrina Alery  |  June 2, 2014 at 10:52 pm

    So fun, so clever, and unique!!

    Like

    Reply
  • 13. Jocelyn Olson  |  June 2, 2014 at 11:17 pm

    That was really brilliant to emboss with the stencil. I love the little invaders! Such a cute and clever card, Keren! Good luck!

    Like

    Reply
  • 14. justtyra  |  June 3, 2014 at 5:13 am

    Yay Keren! Love this card!!! Good Luck!

    Like

    Reply
  • 15. Lysa  |  June 3, 2014 at 6:39 am

    Your card is so fun- I love it and the sentiment is perfect for your “space invaders” LOL Good Luck to you!

    Like

    Reply
  • 16. Clare Allen  |  June 3, 2014 at 9:09 am

    Fab card Keren! You’ve got my vote. Well done on getting so far, here’s hoping you make it to the next round!
    Clare
    x

    Like

    Reply
    • 17. kerenbaker  |  June 3, 2014 at 5:16 pm

      Thanks Clare- appreciate it lots! x

      Like

      Reply
  • 18. tsurutadesigns  |  June 3, 2014 at 1:24 pm

    okay, you’re rockin’ it…this is wonderfully creative!

    Like

    Reply
  • 19. craftytrog  |  June 3, 2014 at 2:22 pm

    A very clever card Keren…used to love space invaders, lol! x

    Like

    Reply
  • 20. jilldhawkins  |  June 4, 2014 at 5:43 am

    Keren!!! Oh my gosh, just love this card of yours! The sentiment, idea and design kills me. So stinking fun. The invaders rock! A sure winner! Good luck to you! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  • 21. Ros Crawford  |  June 4, 2014 at 12:42 pm

    Congrats!! Your imagination knows no bounds … having all those children must play a big part in it I think! Terrific card and use of those handmade stencils … Did you download the latest version of Silhouette? It’s quite different I found but the cutting for some reason works better than before!

    Like

    Reply
  • 22. Bev  |  June 6, 2014 at 1:14 pm

    Hooray!!! Hooray!!!! Congratulations to you Karen, for making the TOP 10!!!!! WooHoo!!!! Gonna do a little happy dance in your honor. You must be absolutely thrilled. Way to go. Raising my coffee cup to you. Big smiles, big hugs, and sooo happy for you. : )

    Like

    Reply
    • 23. kerenbaker  |  June 6, 2014 at 7:30 pm

      Thanks so much Bev! I’m happy, if not a little stunned! I did a happy dance internally!!! X

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,500 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


