Wonderful Washi & Blog Your Heart Out!

May 15, 2014 at 10:24 am 13 comments

20140515-095021.jpg
Good morning. Is it still morning?!!
I’m showing you a project created for the Gallery Idol challenge over with Paper Crafts & Scrapbooking magazine and in the Flickr group.
Here’s the low-down.
You get the challenge ( it’s once a year).
This year it’s a card with washi tape on it.
You scratch your head hard and try to think of new and inventive ways of using washi that no one has ever thought of yet.
After some time you realise that you are unlikely to reinvent the wheel ( or the washi) and pick a technique to suit your style.
You pop over to the Flickr group to check that 50 other people haven’t all done the same as you.
You return from said Flickr group feeling depressed and inspired in equal measure at the loveliness to be found there.
You sit down with a ton of beautiful supplies.
You sit.
You think.
You sketch.
You leap up and down ( mentally, of course) at the cuteness of your sketch and then you try and realise the sketch.
You sit.
You sit some more.
You shake your head at the card, hoping it will rearrange itself into a more pleasing design.
You eventually finish.
Sit back.
Photograph it.
Place it onto the Flickr group and admire, ‘favourite’ and comment on the superb selection.
You wonder why you put yourself up for rejection ( again!!). Ha ha.
Then you decide it’s good to be creatively challenged and go on with your day!!
If you fancy the challenge- the post is here and the Flickr group ( which you need to join before uploading) is here
If you’re interested- the washi tape is holding the panels together ( well nearly- I left a little bit still connected). You wouldn’t believe how long that took me. There’s a washi decorated pink ‘happy’ behind the white die cut ( WPlus9 Happy Trio dies) and there’s an ordinary strip of striped washi grounding the sentiment.

20140515-101808.jpg

20140515-102101.jpg
On another note- I got tagged by Jill Pryor whose blog is here she’s an amazing cake artist and does some gorgeous crafts along with plenty of gluten free recipes.
It’s not a running game ( thank goodness) although a kinda virtual version of tag.
I have to answer some questions and then tag another blogger to answer them too.
Here goes ( you can put the kettle on now if you’re getting bored!!)

1.Who/What encouraged you to start blogging?
It was back in the days just before I’d started Stampin’Up!.. I’d seen a few blogs and thought it would be a great idea to share and to document what I was doing..a kind of online diary!

2.How did you choose what to blog about?
Easy. Whatever was happening at the time. I have a more unusual mix of family and craft- most tend to stick to one or the other. I felt I wanted to create a ‘real’ blog- not just one where everyone thought I had it all down-pat and sorted, but a ‘I’m normal warts-and-all’ blog. (Not that I actually do have warts, you understand!).

3.What is something most people don`t know about you?
Hmm. Tough. I tell you all so much- what is there you might not know?
I have a really fun side that rarely gets out. In my sixth form (& beyond) days one of bestest buddies Jo Ford could tell you a story or two about the most silly things we got up to… Blocking corridors playing Twister, my penchant for gnomes, trying to have a picnic in a car park, countless practical jokes!! Life is for living but in more recent years I’ve had to become more sensible but there’s always my spontaneous side trying desperately to get out!

4.What three words describe your style?
Clean and simple. (1 word or 3?) I try to be original but not all my creations are simple. I give up. Can’t do this one!

5.What do you love to do when you are not blogging?
You all know this one- bake, go out for coffees with friends, drinking in the countryside. Hang on..that’s an Anne of Green Gables quote ..’drinking it in’
NOT consuming alcohol in the countryside ( ha ha!!).
As you are aware though, what I DO when I’m not blocking and what I actually love to do are not one and the same. I work- mostly lovely work in the crafting industry for docrafts,Abakhan, and design teams for docrafts, Make The Day Special and more recently Paper Artsy. I also freelance for Crafts Beautiful, Simply Cards and Papercrafts, Creativity, Creative Stamping, Creative Cardmaking, Scrapbook Magazine and Get Stamping! And you can sometimes find me in Paper Crafts & Scrapbooking mag too. Occasionally I sleep! He he!
That’s quite enough from me. I’m tagging Amy Tsurata and Virginia Lu- there’s no pressure girlies.. Only if you want to!!
Better go, have the daily revision teas service to provide 😉 xx

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Paper Artsy Day Three! More Washi & Catered Crop!

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Katie  |  May 15, 2014 at 11:09 am

    Wow you have so many crafty things to manage. Ive spotted you in the craft magazines and will have to go back throught them all so i can point out to people that i work with some one who is famous.

    I used to send my layouts into scrapbook magazine in the hopes that i would get published. I did get some cool samples off them for getting in the readers section but thats as far as i got.

    Like

    Reply
    • 2. kerenbaker  |  May 15, 2014 at 11:11 am

      Keep trying Katie- it’s a bit of a luck thing often. Oh- and I’m so not famous..most people glance at the projects but rarely the crafter!!!

      Like

      Reply
  • 3. Ros Crawford  |  May 15, 2014 at 11:15 am

    This card will certainly NOT be rejected … It’s really terrific!!

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Clare Allen  |  May 15, 2014 at 11:34 am

    Fab card Keren. I love Washi tape and have loads but tend to use it very conventionally. You are an inspiration!
    🙂
    Clur

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. massofhair  |  May 15, 2014 at 11:47 am

    Now that is one complex CAS washi card! Is some of the washi tape from Sainsburys? Looks amazing, won’t be rejected!

    Your blog is fabulous i always look forward to your posts, warts n all.

    You are wrong about crafters not looking at who made what in magazines, well about this one lol. It is important to know whose style you like and also to see how they created their projects. Some articles have clearer details than others, also i quite often go and find their blog to see more and Pin their work if i want to remember or share.

    Love the tag it interview, your fun side definitely shines through as does your love of crafting, baking and your fab Family. Thanks for sharing:-) xxx

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Kaila511  |  May 15, 2014 at 12:57 pm

    It doesn’t matter if you win, just if you blog your heart out! But, good luck! 🙂 I have been browsing through and I love your crafts, but this one is particularly “happy.” And, I chuckled when I got to the 1 to 3 words that describe your blog. Happy blogging! Can’t wait to come back and see more designs!

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. Virginia L.  |  May 15, 2014 at 4:43 pm

    Your Washi card is beautiful! I love how you utilized the lines and colors! I was so enjoying seeing your take on the Washi challenge for Gallery Idol (you go, girl! You can do it!)…then I love reading about you and blogging….then…you passed it down to moi ( I live out loud already, so there isn’t anything to know-lol)! Thanks for thinking of me 🙂 And yes, YOU ARE FAMOUS, Keren!

    Like

    Reply
  • 8. alicecarman  |  May 15, 2014 at 8:02 pm

    That’s beautiful and what a genius way to use washi. Did you enter the Card Gallery contest? You should!

    Like

    Reply
    • 9. kerenbaker  |  May 15, 2014 at 8:03 pm

      Aww thanks Alice. Against my better nature, I have! Are you entering?!

      Like

      Reply
      • 10. alicecarman  |  May 15, 2014 at 8:04 pm

        I would, but no time. I have DT deadlines to meet and I won’t have time to put thought into making something. Maybe next year. Looking forward to seeing you rise up the ranks. Good Luck friend! BTW…whats a good chocolate biscuit brand?

        Like

      • 11. kerenbaker  |  May 15, 2014 at 8:08 pm

        What, in the UK? McVities is Ok, I quite like supermarkets own luxury brands!! Cadbury’s make some nice ones too!

        Like

      • 12. alicecarman  |  May 15, 2014 at 8:12 pm

        I think we have Cadbury in the States. I tried some from LU and they were yummy, but my supermarket doesn’t carry them anymore…boo hoo. Thanks for the info.

        Like

  • 13. Sarah Gray  |  May 15, 2014 at 8:07 pm

    Love your card for Gallery Idol….great way of incorporating washi in to your design! Your interview was lots if fun to read too 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,510 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


