Mmmm..it’s Morrisons!

May 9, 2014 at 12:47 pm 6 comments


photo-116

Morning! Put your feet, it’s a longer and photo heavy post!

My card is a clue to the theme of the post- if you’ve not read the title, hopefully the colourway will give you a big hint that it’s about the store Morrisons. For some of you, shopping might not be your idea of bliss..,maybe I’ll change your mind!

Being in receipt of emails from Britmums, there’s often offers of opportunities for reviewers. I only apply for ones that would be a good fit, so thought this promotion from Morrisons would too good to miss.

Lovely Morrisons (via Britmums) sent me £80 of vouchers. Yep, you read right. In return for that I was to visit a store, check out the facilities, freshness and food, and hold some sort of Bank Holiday event and then tell you, my lovely readers all about it. Morrisons has slashed the price of 1,200 everyday food essentials by up to 60 per cent and to help spread the word they sent some BritMums bloggers £80 worth of vouchers to spend. Shopping with someone else’s money seems almost naughty but, you should know by now that I will only post my honest opinion and not anything I’ve been asked to say.

photo 1-26So- my nearest Morrisons at Belle Vale in Liverpool isn’t that near- a 15 minute drive. But, when I realised that by shopping after the school run, it was only 5 minutes away from school, that seemed to be achievable on a regular basis. I picked up a trolley. Correction, chose a trolley and made the mistake of choosing a smaller one. After all, £80 for our brood wouldn’t go far would it?

Once in, I was surprised- really pleasantly surprised. Cards on the table?.. I never really go to Morrisons. I choose Aldi and Tesco normally. The view as I arrived inside was stunning. Fresh veg and fruit displayed so beautifully. As a girl that loves images and graphics, this immediately excited mephoto 2-22

photo 3-9

There were the most gorgeous flowers at the front too. I so nearly bought them, but knew there’d not be enough budget for the get-together!

photo 1-22

photo 5-3Now, call me sad, but I couldn’t help be amazed by the misting machine over the fresh herbs… can you see it in the photo?! There were herbs and veg I’ve not seen in other main supermarkets. I did succumb to trying white onions & swapped in fresh herbs for the recipes I’d chosen. We weren’t having fish but the fishcounter looked gorgeous.

As a mama to 5, I have to say that cooking is less and less of a delight for me. It’s catering rather than cooking, but whilst there, I changed my mind over the menu in response to what I’d seen in Morrisons. That said, it then gave me a problem. I live on my iPhone and often source recipes online. There was no decent internet connection instore (why?)- so without being able to check correct ingredients, I had to guess & hope I’d bought the right things.

 

photo 1-23

photo 4-5If you wander around the store, you’ll find I’m cheaper signs around and on the shelf tickets. They really have cut prices and as I check prices before I buy, that was a great indication I was purchasing a great deal.

As far as the whole experience goes, it made me want to come back. You still have to be savvy.. I found packs of 2 chicken breasts advertised at 3 for £10, but in another section slightly further down, the same Morrisons chicken was 3 for £5 (1 packet) or 2 packets for £7.50. That’s a £2.50 saving straight off. I know all the supermarkets do it, but I’d love them to point out the best deals.

 

photo-117This is what £88 worth looked like at the till. I was served by Ros, who was completely delightful. Chatty and helpful but camera shy once she realised I was taking pics. She was a total credit to the store & I left feeling that my shopping had been fun (rather than a drudge).

We’d planned to have two sets of friends round. One is a couple with 4 kids & the other, a couple with 2 kids. That made 17 of us and 11 of those were kids!! We went to the beach where a couple of them (& I quote) ‘nearly died in the sinking sand’ ! They had great fun messing around on the beach and worked up an appetite.photo 2-24

Even Charlotte wanted to come.. but we declined and left her behind!

photo 3-11Once home, I got busy. Thankfully, I’d been able to enjoy the walk as I’d done most of the prep before. We had the following

Sweet Potato & Chicken curry (and basmati rice) £1.08 per head

Chorizo, Sausage & Bean Casserole (and basmati rice) £0.76 per head plus naan bread, some amazing speciality breads from the bakery & homemade coleslaw at £1.08 for a large bowl.

Desserts are more my thing..photo 1-25

The ingredients for everything came out of the £88 shop. The Blackberry baked cheesecake (which was a Pioneer Woman recipe) worked out at £8.60 for 10 very sizeable portions which works out at £0.86 per portion.

Now, a word about portions.. obviously we had kids there, but my older kids are practically adults and as some adults had several helpings, I’m happy when I say ‘per head’, it is more like an adults portion.

The cupcakes were Coca-Cola & Marshmallow ones (21pence per cupcake) & I think my fave was the cheesecake.photo 2-25

 

In these ‘per portions’ prices, I have included things like a whole pot of Lazy Garlic and Tikka Masala paste. These will be used for countless other recipes, but just shows how good value it all was.

I did buy some things in store that weren’t used for the get-together, so the budget for the meal ended up being £72.95 for 17 people including drinks (£4.29 a head for everything) and that also included a ton of left over cake (enjoyed by me.. and my coffee cup(see previous post!)).

So- the big question.. has it made a Morrison’s shopper out of me?

Yes. I’m planning on going back, and that wasn’t what I was expecting to say. Our Bank Holiday get-together was fantastic, thankyou so much, Morrisons. I wanted to post a picture of us all, but it includes all my friend’s kids and I haven’t got permission. So, just imagine 2 tables (yep, we had to set another one up) full of noise, fun, spills, tons of food and fun & us all toasting Morrisons.. think of Tiny Tim in The Muppets Christmas Carol ‘Morrisons…the founder of the feast’!

Cheers Morrisons, I’ll be back!

 

Disclaimer: Although Morrisons sent me £80 of vouchers to shop instore, all opinions and content are of my own choosing!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

PaperArtsy & Virginia’s View Challenge! Silent-ish Saturday!

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jenny @ The Brick Castle  |  May 9, 2014 at 1:16 pm

    You got some amazing desserts there! They look scrummy. I can see I’ll have to visit a larger Morrisons and have a bit of fun! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. massofhair  |  May 9, 2014 at 1:55 pm

    Morrisons is a good place to shop but i have an ALDI very close to home as well as a Sainsburys, ASDA and a Tesco. I have fun deciding which one to shop at and it is usually decided by where i have been visiting. I agree for food Morrisons is a good supermarket.

    Glad you had a fantastic day with all your friends round, your portions look very generous and your food looks amazing. Can i have the recipe for the Chorizo, sausage and bean casserole please? Huge fan of spicy sausage.

    Great review 🙂 xxx

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Ros Crawford  |  May 9, 2014 at 4:15 pm

    So where did the caterpillar fit in?? You didn’t curry him! Lol!! I like Morrisons … Like the meat … and the displays … but it entices me to buy what I really didn’t come for … Love you card and I love that coffee cake!

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Virginia L.  |  May 9, 2014 at 4:53 pm

    Aw…SO happy for you and your shopping experience! They are smart to give you 80 pounds worth of gift voucher! You have such a great write-up for the experience. Now I wish I could come and shop there (all the way from Canada!!). The card and desserts looked scrumptious!

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. kateonthinice (@kateonthinice)  |  May 9, 2014 at 4:59 pm

    Sounds like you had a fun Bank Holiday and I am very distracted by your desserts. Commenting for myself and on behalf of BritMums and thanking you for taking part

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Monika  |  May 9, 2014 at 9:41 pm

    Lucky you. Love Morrison’s in Caeřnarfon, always stop there on the way to and from our caravan. West Kirby isn’t bad either. Love the card in the corporate colours! Have a lovely weekend! Hugs xxxx

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,510 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


