Mama Elephant & Being Embarrassing!

May 2, 2014 at 7:21 pm 9 comments

20140502-190014.jpg
It’s Friday evening and I’m grabbing 10 minutes before I start working again. It’s demo day tomorrow at Sophie’s Crafts near Oldham. I’ve more samples to get ready but thought I’d show you this card I’ve done in response to the Mama Elephant challenge here
Here’s the inspiration photo

20140502-190351.jpg
Cool huh? You can see the colours- I’ve also echoed the glass vials/bottles with the stamped acetate and made that tiny pop of brown a little brighter with the red.
What you can’t see on the card is the hidden colour here

20140502-190516.jpg
There are still a few days left to enter so join in- it’s a great challenge.
This is the set

20140502-190721.jpg – there’s tons you could create with it- it’s fab for scrapbooking too.

This week I’m surviving being embarrassing. To be fair, this is nothing new. Sometimes I take great delight in embarrassing my kids- it’s delightfully easy. Just kiss your husband in public with your kids in tow and it tends to pull them into line quite quickly as they are so utterly mortified!
Now my littliest is in some ways very loud yet also very shy.
He gets embarrassed super easily.
The last assembly I went to, he was pulling ridiculous faces and I knew he was feeling the strain of all the people watching.
His teacher pulled me over this week and said she had some exciting news.
Turns out he’s been chosen for a tiny role in their collective worship.
He’s being ‘Super Will’ ( aka an alternative to Superman).
He has two lines to practice and I’ve a little altering to do for his outfit.
So far, so good.
He was seemingly excited.
I commented that I was looking forward to seeing him.
His little face fell.
“No Mummy, please don’t come”.
“Why?” I asked, trying not to look too sad.
“Just please don’t come”.
I realised he’d feel more shy with me there.
So, what’s a mamma to do.
Miss seeing him ( knowing that he’ll potentially have wanted me there afterwards), or go- and he may act a little daft because he’s self conscious.
Dilemma.
The answer? Not sure.
Send his Dad?
Go in disguise?
I’ve a black wig I used the last time I went to a fancy dress party as ‘Trinity’ from the Matrix.
I can imagine if I wore it being forcibly removed as no-one would recognise me and think I was a dodgy visitor sporting a rough haired black bob.
Do I hide, and peek in from the back?

Well, if you’ve any wisdom, I’d love to hear it!
Better go and do some inking and cutting.

See you after I’ve planned my bank holiday get together! x

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Getting Painty & Heroes! More Wanderlust & Wandering!

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Holly Saveur  |  May 2, 2014 at 7:28 pm

    Stunning card …so cool!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. jgrayb  |  May 2, 2014 at 7:33 pm

    Really like this card Very stylish and clean -looking!

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. vickiscraft  |  May 2, 2014 at 8:42 pm

    Great card (as always) love your ideas! Oh and you most certainly do go to the assembly and if you have to peek in from the back then so be it (don’t dare miss him.) xx 😉

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. massofhair  |  May 2, 2014 at 10:12 pm

    Beautiful CAS card, love your interpretation of the colours Keren.

    You should both go to see your Son no arguments from anyone. Important for you all on many levels.

    Enjoy your demo day & BH weekend:-) xxx

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Ros Crawford  |  May 3, 2014 at 11:49 am

    Your creative imagination is boundless … This is one amazing and superb card!! How could anyone top that??? As for your dilemma … tough one … Could you perhaps hide at the back??

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Virginia L.  |  May 4, 2014 at 4:55 am

    First of all, I adore the design so much. You have captured the inspiration photo so amazingly detailed! Love your thoughtful and artsy use of the ME stamps! And if I were you, I would go and hide…because the Mommy in me will not want to miss this moment. I might just listen outside (if possible)! And then after the performance, you can proudly tell him how much you enjoyed the performance 🙂 No?

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. isisimaginings  |  May 4, 2014 at 5:03 pm

    Your card is gorgeous, the colours are fab.

    Like

    Reply
  • 8. Miriam Prantner  |  May 5, 2014 at 8:09 pm

    I love this card! Fantastic height and love the movement and how you did the sentiment, so cool!

    Like

    Reply
  • 9. lisa arana  |  May 6, 2014 at 3:44 pm

    what a coooooool looking card!!!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,496 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


