Easter with Lawn Fawn & Cleaning

April 11, 2014 at 10:55 am 9 comments

20140411-103658.jpg
So, I got playing last night. Just for fun. Doesn’t happen much. I was supposed to be working. Oops.
Having done tons of ‘other’ stuff ( more on that later), I hadn’t had chance to crack out Cole’s ABC’s dies. I wanted to try a new hanging technique- nope, not on my hubby (!) but by die cutting the sentiment, leaving the negative as a ‘shadow’ and then hanging the letters on top. It’s so new, I kinda just created it! So I guess it would come under the Lawnscaping ‘try something new’ challenge here ( he he!)

20140415-013218.jpg

20140411-104049.jpg
You can see better what I’ve done in that pic. Lining up the hanging letters was such fun ( not). I’ve actually used several sets; Happy Trails ( for the ‘happy’, and Hello Sunshine for the hearts and dashed line. I’ve popped some ‘Let’s Polka’ & ‘Hello Sunshine’ paper on there too.
I didn’t have many bunny stamps. I’ve the Mama Elephant ‘Honey Bunny’ set and I’ve plans for that next week.

With only having 3 kids at home at the mo (the other two return Saturday), life is much more relaxed. So much so that I had chance to sit and gaze out of my windows.
Dearie me.
They’re shocking.
Steve was skitting me as I cleaned them with white vinegar. The room smelled a little like a Fish and Chip shop but at least the windows are somewhat better. There’s just the rest of the house to do.
I also had a bash at the carpets. Took all day. I don’t know how people keep their houses so beautifully – I struggle to keep mine tidy never mind beautifully clean.
I’m a little worried now.
Everytime I get ahead- and tidy and lots of things organised, something tends to come a cropper.
Last time was a couple of weeks back and Steve got taken into hospital. I’m just enjoying the semi-clean feeling and wishing I had a maid and cleaner.
Ha ha.
Can you imagine.
Downton Abbey eat your heart out.
Thing is, they’d quit. With the noise, bustle and kids mess they’d hand in their notice before the week was out.
Guess it’s down to me.
I keep roping the kids in, but they make even more mess straight after!!

Here’s to happy kids and clean homes. I’m not sure I can do both! Any tips for me- I’m all ears!

See you when I’ve enjoyed my last day of calm until two suitcases of dirty washing returns! x

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Lawn Fawn & More Beaches SugarPea Designs & Barbara Braberers!

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ros Crawford  |  April 11, 2014 at 11:16 am

    Very effective doing that with the letter … such a great card!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. massofhair  |  April 11, 2014 at 12:34 pm

    Love your new technique, great idea:-)

    Enjoy it while you can… πŸ™‚ xxx

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Virginia Lu  |  April 11, 2014 at 4:47 pm

    Absolutely adorable! I love how you display the letters…truly lovely (a labor of love, for sure)! I often told the kids (when they were little):” our house may be messy, at least we are happy living in it…and it’s not a museum”. So that justified the “mess”. Maybe you have to adopt this new policy now πŸ™‚

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. isisimaginings  |  April 11, 2014 at 10:11 pm

    Keren, that is such a lovely card. The letters look so effective & I love the little hearts.

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. tsurutadesigns  |  April 12, 2014 at 2:54 pm

    What a fun card…love the twine.
    Cracks me up that you said that only having 3 kids in the household was relaxing…I have only 2 kids and I remember when they were younger…oy. BUT I guess 3 is minus 2 for you, eh? Will you help me clean my house too?

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. nancyljk  |  April 13, 2014 at 7:17 pm

    Love the technique with the Cole’s letters; beautiful card! There will be plenty of time for clean home when the kids are on their own; in the meantime enjoy your kids and their happy chaos!

    Like

    Reply
    • 7. kerenbaker  |  April 21, 2014 at 10:25 am

      Thanks Nancy- chaos is definitely the right word and you know, I’m trying to enjoy it- they’re growing up too fast. Have a lovely day yourself! Do you have a blog? x

      Like

      Reply
  • 8. Bev  |  April 13, 2014 at 8:46 pm

    Okay….so I just love this card and your new technique!! I can imagine that all of the card making universe will be giving this a whirl soon! Perfect colors, perfect design, perfect card. Tidy is good, clean toilets, sinks and food prep things are too, and don’t worry, there’ll be plenty of time to clean when the last little one has gone off to college!

    Like

    Reply
  • 9. Carol S  |  April 14, 2014 at 5:00 pm

    Such a bright, happy card, and what a great technique Keren! Fiddling with those letters sounds a lot more fun than cleaning. Just wait til you need reading glasses – the blurry vision gives you the impression that things are ok, and you don’t see the wrinkles so much either.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to this space, my little place of creative refuge away from the busy-ness of life!
I'm a wife, Mum to 6, crafter, Christian and fortunate to be doing a job that I love!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,502 other followers

I’m designing for;

Gallery Idol Top 10 2014

Flickr Photos

Paper Scraps Challenge Winner on Moxie Fab World!

Spectacle Challenge

Feeds


